View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

2 hours ago, Melonmonster said:

Mate, 33 picks have gone by and no philipou there must be reason for this right?

Maybe he’s Philipoo…?

If Matthews stayed on the same trajectory that he was on prior to his PCL, I wonder what pick he would’ve gone for. Anyone have any idea?

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

Operation 'Get Bear' in full effect. He looks like a ripper though.

What was the injury from this year, guessing it wasn't growth spurt related....

Edited by BigBadBustling

My biggest quibble is I'll be calling him Matthew Thomas or Thomas Matthews - whichever one is wrong - for months! Hurry up and get a nickname.....

EDIT: Tomato is clever but it's too mundane. Maybe Sauce, Hazmat or, how about, Apostle?

Edited by Go Ds

Going on the injury reports, could be a while before we see him.

9 minutes ago, Go Ds said:

My biggest quibble is I'll be calling him Matthew Thomas or Thomas Matthews - whichever one is wrong - for months! Hurry up and get a nickname.....

Easily fixed, just go with the shortened version; Tom Matt.

1 minute ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Oh!

Tom Mate Oh!

But not a spud Potato!

Edited by Hellfire Dub

10 minutes ago, Go Ds said:

are you my dad @Go Ds im just greatful we didnt end up with a sparrow and a farrow to go with our langford and lagdon

1 minute ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Which could be misremembered as Matt Tom? Admittedly this is a first-world problem. I'm sure Hawthorn fans weren't calling the future star Matthew Lee once he started making his mark.

4 minutes ago, Turner said:

are you my dad @Go Ds im just greatful we didnt end up with a sparrow and a farrow to go with our langford and lagdon

Well the paternity report said no and in all honesty my memory is not too shabby. Though at times I have to think whether we have a Sparrow or a Swallow.

1 minute ago, demosaw said:

TM - Trademark

Or Dental - short for Transcendental Meditation. Also if he becomes a star 'Tommy-Leigh ' would be amusing.

21 minutes ago, Go Ds said:

Settled, we shall call young Tom 'Dyson'

Gippsland Power preview 2025

“Thomas Matthews has had a fantastic preseason. Obviously he missed out on the Vic Country hub selection but had a really good finish to the 2024 season. He’s a really dangerous small forward. Not getting into that Vic Country hub last year has probably spurred him on a little bit more. He’s super fit and ready to go. He’ll likely look to spend some time in the centre bounces as well. He’s done everything he possibly can to have a really good start to the season”.

Unfortunately his PCL injury killed off his 2025. A bold move by JT !! I’d say obviously the ex Gippsland coach (now Casey Demons coach) Rhett McLennan had a say in promoting Matthews into draft selection.

Plays like Gary Moorcroft

3 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

His nickname is ‘cherry’. Thomas Matthews > Tom Matt > Tom-Matt-O > Tomato > Cherry.

1 minute ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Plays like Gary Moorcroft

Cherry > Cher > Garry > Gazza.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSw-yigvubhvxip92ml_n7

Edited by John Demonic

46 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

His nickname is ‘cherry’. Thomas Matthews > Tom Matt > Tom-Matt-O > Tomato > Cherry.

I was just gonna go with Atom, theyre small and zip around or something dont they, science wasnt my strong suit.

Tom Matt --> Matt Tom --> Atom

or thirsty

coz hes got two first names so theyll just call him firsty and then that just morphs into thirsty

same way thilthorpe is filthy

Tomato ain't bad, but I reckon I'm going with Leigh or Lethal.

If he wins us half as many premierships as his namesake, I'll be satisfied.

5 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Screenshot_20251120_213128_Chrome.jpg

Nice of BH to nip over and loan him his scarf for the pic.

7 hours ago, Go Ds said:

EDIT: Tomato is clever but it's too mundane. Maybe Sauce, Hazmat or, how about, Apostle?

Yeah well going by his highlights I'd like to pitch the nickname "PYRO" Coz he sets the game ALIGHT!!! Or "SPARKY" Coz he is ELECTRIC

THOMAS ''PYRO'' MATTHEWS

THOMAS "SPARKY" MATTHEWS

Anyone else onboard ?

So it all reveals itself in the end………..Bailey Humphrey doesn’t nominate the Dees in the 2025 trade period as he does not want us to part with trade capital that we would later need to use on Thomas Matthews. His plan is to undermine the GC in the 2026 season and net the Dees a high first round pick and then become a Dee himself in the 2026 trade period.

Conspiracy theories abound.

Dees will push to get Bailey Humphrey by offering 2026 MFC 1st round + GCS 1st round draft picks. Perhaps back from Suns … Humphrey and Suns 2027 2nd round pick

1 hour ago, picket fence said:

Yeah well going by his highlights I'd like to pitch the nickname "PYRO" Coz he sets the game ALIGHT!!! Or "SPARKY" Coz he is ELECTRIC

THOMAS ''PYRO'' MATTHEWS

THOMAS "SPARKY" MATTHEWS

Anyone else onboard ?

I like it Picket, glad you are on board. I thought you would have been backing up a truck load of manure to dump at the MCG, AAMI Park, Gosch’s, Casey and Caulfield because we didn’t draft a midfielder.

10 hours ago, GS_1905 said:

As in 2025? What did he miss this season with them if he is just having surgery now

Yep - see @spirit of norm smith's post. It surprised me, as he did it in the first game, though then went on to play three(?) more. He kept referring to it as 'a meniscus'. Would there have been a pre-surgery period for swelling to go down? And a long period after, of load off?