View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Posted

I can’t believe with the decision to sack a Premiership Coach that a Board (even Melbourne’s) would take such a huge decision without input from either a senior player (Max no way) or GM Football. Richardson would have heard the “noise” that major change was coming . It will come out in time because leaks always happen at Melbourne but if this is the case this reeks of Dean Bailey / Cameron Schwab ie we got the wrong man. Watch this space

4 minutes ago, The Trunk said:

I can’t believe with the decision to sack a Premiership Coach that a Board (even Melbourne’s) would take such a huge decision without input from either a senior player (Max no way) or GM Football. Richardson would have heard the “noise” that major change was coming . It will come out in time because leaks always happen at Melbourne but if this is the case this reeks of Dean Bailey / Cameron Schwab ie we got the wrong man. Watch this space

Missing the mark with this one mate.

3 minutes ago, The Trunk said:

Firstly you have no idea who they consulted, including senior players. You're naïve if you think all the senior players were 100% behind Goody. Some were likely wanting change, especially those whose time is running out. And even those who didn't want change, may have still had issues with the coach. It's not that shocking.

Secondly this is nothing like the Schwab and Bailey situation, because Schwab was CEO, and he was universally hated by every player for his involvement in the FD. We already got rid of our CEO last year for a similar issue.

16 minutes ago, The Trunk said:

For Christ's sake.

the head coach is gone, and a number of assistant coaching appointments have not worked out. that's on Richo

i reckon soft cap considerations might keep him in the job for now but longer term we need a new head of footy

I've been saying for a while we need a new Head of Football. Richardson is part of the problem and should go.

Interesting to note in Goodys final address. He thanked Peter Jackson, Josh Mahoney and Todd Viney for resurrecting the club. Not a word about Richo. Personally find Richardson a decent guy, but at the end of day he oversaw all the coaching group.

4 minutes ago, BKKBooga said:

I've been saying for a while we need a new Head of Football. Richardson is part of the problem and should go.

Interesting to note in Goodys final address. He thanked Peter Jackson, Josh Mahoney and Todd Viney for resurrecting the club. Not a word about Richo. Personally find Richardson a decent guy, but at the end of day he oversaw all the coaching group.

Also strange considering Richardson attended Goodwins wedding last year.

I mean, Richardson did start after the Peter Jackson and Josh Mahoney era?

It was interesting to hear Josh Mahoney acknowledged by SG along with Peter Jackson and Todd Viney in setting the ground work for our premiership. Obviously have no idea but from what I do know, he seemed to not get enough recognition after we did win the flag.

Would love to see what would have happened had Josh Mahoney got the CEO role rather than Pert.

Just now, deelusions from afar said:

It was interesting to hear Josh Mahoney acknowledged by SG along with Peter Jackson and Todd Viney in setting the ground work for our premiership. Obviously have no idea but from what I do know, he seemed to not get enough recognition after we did win the flag.

Would love to see what would have happened had Josh Mahoney got the CEO role rather than Pert.

An enormous blunder by an arrogant then president to ignore Jackson's endorsement of Mahoney for the CEO role and chase a big name in Pert, who was sacked for meddling in FD issues.

We needed to keep as many people who worked under Jackson at the club, because Jackson really did fix a rotting apple when he came on board.

On Mahoney though, he has left two organisations quite quickly. I was for him coming back 12 mo ths ago, but there could be some red flags there now.

7 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

An enormous blunder by an arrogant then president to ignore Jackson's endorsement of Mahoney for the CEO role and chase a big name in Pert, who was sacked for meddling in FD issues.

We needed to keep as many people who worked under Jackson at the club, because Jackson really did fix a rotting apple when he came on board.

You talking about the CEO who sits on the list management committee who discussed list management discissions??

God help Carlton then if Graham Wright isnt allowed to have a say on list decisions???

Richo was a great development coach who was hired under the old footy cap to director of coaching.

He fell in to the head of footy role when Covid took the cash out of the footy department.

I think he’s probably still a valuable contributor in a hands on role but he’s never struck me as a great strategic mind suited to the GM role.

How many smart moves have we made?

Our contracts seem to have big cap escalators. We haven’t traded anyone of quality in. Haven’t sold high on anyone out. Haven’t made any smart draft moves (the Lindsay pick last year is now shaping as a total dumb move). Assistant coach hires?

It’s pretty easy to say we need a new strategic voice to complement Richo. Especially with a non football CEO.

2 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Richo was a great development coach who was hired under the old footy cap to director of coaching.

He fell in to the head of footy role when Covid took the cash out of the footy department.

I think he’s probably still a valuable contributor in a hands on role but he’s never struck me as a great strategic mind suited to the GM role.

Our contracts seem to have big cap escalators. We haven’t traded anyone of quality in. Haven’t sold high on anyone out. Haven’t made any smart draft moves (the Lindsay pick last year is now shaping as a total dumb move). Assistant coach hires?

It’s pretty easy to say we need a new strategic voice to complement Richo. Especially with a non football CEO.

I think your getting Richo role and that of the list manager mixed up. Sure he has a say but I dont think you can put trades and contracts on him

and how is Lindsay a dumb move???

2 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

the Lindsay pick last year is now shaping as a total dumb move

I don't know if that's right. Last year's draft was very strong and this year's is not only weak but further diluted with the large number of father sons and academy players.

Yes it would be nice to have a first round pick this year... but I don't think we would get a better player than Lindsay? Despite an injury interrupted pre-season has played most games and been a solid contributor - good kick, calm under pressure, outside player that has shown ability and toughness to play inside in the future.

12 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

why is that ? he looks a great pick up. right now we are 7th last so with academies Essendon wont even get a top 10 pick. And that in a draft considered to be weak.

7 minutes ago, BangBnagBang said:

I think your getting Richo role and that of the list manager mixed up. Sure he has a say but I dont think you can put trades and contracts on him

He’s the GM, whilst the list manager evaluates, scouts the talent, works on the contracts the overall list strategy should come from the GM and coach together.

24 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Disagree entirely. It was a genius move.

Look, I get that this is a discussion forum however I think there is no good to be had around blind speculation around this sort of topic.

12 minutes ago, deelusions from afar said:

Yes it would be nice to have a first round pick this year... but I don't think we would get a better player than Lindsay? Despite an injury interrupted pre-season has played most games and been a solid contributor - good kick, calm under pressure, outside player that has shown ability and toughness to play inside in the future.

Lindsay’s fine, he should be a long term very good contributor.

Odds are we finish 14th, worse case scenario after academies should be pick 8-10 and a similar player to Xavier.

For that we gave up picks 28, 40, 54 and 65 in last years draft. The last 2 don’t mean much, but the first 2 were really useful picks in a deep draft. The kind of picks we need so our list doesn’t have 25 afl level players and a dozen list cloggers.

1 hour ago, BKKBooga said:

Agreed he is a major part of the problems Alan Richardson.

All the leaks from the club are from him, just reading the tea leaves and it all leads to him.

Clean your Locker Alan new coach ain't going to want you.

Edited by YesitwasaWin4theAges

34 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Agreed he is a major part of the problems Alan Richardson.

All the leaks from the club are from him, just reading the tea leaves and it all leads to him.

Clean your Locker Alan new coach ain't going to want you.

Unless you actually know, I don't think you should be posting this type of thing

1 hour ago, DeeSpencer said:

Why does the Lindsay pick seem like a dumb move, please?

3 minutes ago, Willmoy1947 said:

Why does the Lindsay pick seem like a dumb move, please?

See the earlier reply. But it comes down to giving up 2 second rounders in a deep draft to get a nice player but not a difference maker a year early.