View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

1 minute ago, Adam The God said:

Ooooh, I like it. Kelly to Melbourne and Caulfield sorted. Reckon our club might have sorted that one itself, but who knows.

Maybe some special sauce perks like Goodwin and brayshaws salaries secretly popping outside of the soft cap and salary cap as well to smooth it over even further

37 minutes ago, Superunknown said:

I’m interested in examples of us taking them on

1. Seeking to have Brayshaw's salary removed from our cap. 2. The Mac Andrew debacle 3. The whole tanking saga was a stitch up. I could name another dozen.

If Buckley does indeed decide to take the Tassie gig, he'll forever be bashed by the likes of Cornes and other media personalities for giving up a real shot of success as he coaches a bunch of kids to 3-5 years of bottom two finishes before eventually being moved on just like every other foundation coach. It'll be an absolute disaster for him.

Just now, Sideshow Bob said:
1 hour ago, Engorged Onion said:

Step one: preliminary meetings with Buckley in early 2025.
Step two: politely turf Goodwin.
Step three: instead of fighting off Carlton or Essendon, we actually get ahead of the AFL itself to line up Buckley.

And then—because the AFL can’t help but meddle—they’re forced to offer up Caulfield as a home base, or other collateral or incentives, plus “mysteriously” help us land a fantastic coach (who, spoiler alert, isn’t even Buckley).

That’s not just doing a Steven Bradbury. That’s Steven Bradbury winning the Olympic gold, then being handed a lifetime supply of ice skates, and a Netflix doco deal by the IOC.

Maybe, just maybe… we actually know what we’re doing after all. 😆

here

(for those that are too young ,or forgot...)

Yeah nah.

Bradbury was favourite for the Gold 4 years earlier and a similar crash gave it elsewhere. Apollo the favourite this time and all the other main skaters were wearing skates made by Bradbury. He was a gun and fully deserved his medal. Have been deadset against the overarching 'Bradbury theme' since the start. Battler that won due to everyone else crashing. The bloke was already a legend in the sport well before that moment and finally got his due after luck going against him previously.

/rant over carry on

Edited by Sideshow Bob

6 hours ago, 640MD said:

With these comments about how fantastic some of the other candidates are or presented. At least it’s a payback of sorts to them for having the guts to interview. No loss of credibility next time. If Buckley is the chosen one.

We have no coach but have moved on 7 players, it’s going to be shape up or piiss off.

And definitely a new look team. Go Dees

i distinctly remember reading that Mark Neeld's powerpoint presentation was amazing.

4 hours ago, Random Task said:

Kind of a bad look for Skipworth imo. Outside looking in it appears he didn't impress and bailed early knowing he won't get the job. Had he stuck around for an interview I'm sure a public presser would have complimented all candidates but now I'll, rightly or wrongly, view him as the weakest candidate of this crop of aspiring coaches.

I play golf weekly with a person who works in the sports management industry and is a coterie member at Carlton (and he is also my boss although in something completely different). There is a major thing going on with people knowing internally what might happen and the external 'public' optics. If someone comes out and says I put my hand up for job x while hearing via the inner circle of management teams that someone has likely been earmarked for the role then there is no career upside for putting their hand up. Whereas by coming out and saying you cant or are not interested in role x, everyone wins.

As an example if Horse had said 'yeah maybe im interested' and then Nathan Buckley comes in as prince charming all that does is suggest that Buckley was a better candidate than Horse. If however Horse is 50/50 and asks his manager what people in the industry are saying of his chances and they say Buckley is the leader by a fair bit he will just say 'i cant coach now, good bye' and all is well.

Edited by Norm Smith's Curse

2 hours ago, At the break of Gawn said:

If Buckley does indeed decide to take the Tassie gig, he'll forever be bashed by the likes of Cornes and other media personalities for giving up a real shot of success as he coaches a bunch of kids to 3-5 years of bottom two finishes before eventually being moved on just like every other foundation coach. It'll be an absolute disaster for him.

Buckley will only coach if he thinks there is a chance of a flag - remember he hasn’t won one yet and that is the driver. I’d say he’d be on a pretty cushy media pay packet so wouldn’t be motivated by that.

Tassie are not winning a flag let alone making finals in the first decade no matter how hard the AFL compromise the system.

2 hours ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Cool!

Gee, I sure hope we make an announcement soon. All this speculation and theorising is getting on my nerves. I was excited when we got Roos. But other times I've been like "so he's the new coach? Okay. Let's see how he goes in six month's time. Now, what's on TV?"

We can do nothing anyway. But I'm hoping our board is competent enough to make the best choice. (whether that's an above average coach who almost won a GF and may now be a brilliant coach or an assistant coach who may now be a brilliant coach.)

8 hours ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:
  1. Seeking to have Brayshaw's salary removed from our cap. 2. The Mac Andrew debacle 3. The whole tanking saga was a stitch up. I could name another dozen.

“Taking them on”, though, implies really taking them on and not raising one’s hand in askance for town hall to be nice.

I’m not being snarky, I’m genuinely interested in how we really took it to them, perhaps like McGuire or Kennett may have?

4 hours ago, GS_1905 said:

Buckley will only coach if he thinks there is a chance of a flag - remember he hasn’t won one yet and that is the driver. I’d say he’d be on a pretty cushy media pay packet so wouldn’t be motivated by that.

Tassie are not winning a flag let alone making finals in the first decade no matter how hard the AFL compromise the system.

GWS made finals in year 5 and probably should have beaten the Dogs in the prelim. Why can't Tassie even just scrape into the finals over twice as long?

5 hours ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

i distinctly remember reading that Mark Neeld's powerpoint presentation was amazing.

Carlton would have been so excited getting a coach who won two flags. But in five year Pagan couldn't even get Carlton above 11th and mostly they averaged 4 or so wins a year. Later they get Malthouse - a premier coach with TWO clubs - and I'm sure again the club we're excited. Two years were a disaster and in his other they played finals only because Essendon were banned/relegated from the finals. It's not quite a raffle but a new coach can never guarantee success ( and of course Neeld may have been atrocious doing senior coach stuff and / or the players or infrastructure may have made success like trying to grow roses in concrete.)

6 hours ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

Think that was Dean Bailey

8 hours ago, At the break of Gawn said:

No he won’t.

The bashing would be reserved for us, about how we’re such a basket case that even the Tassie job, with all the uncertainty that comes with it, was more attractive than ours.

Nobody in the media’s going to bash anyone for choosing not to coach little old Melbourne.

22 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

Think that was Dean Bailey

And Hardwick's laptop played up, ruining his presentation.

Buckley at Tassie!! Give me and him a break. A foundation club takes years to get right and Buckley would have years of pain. The Dees allow him to stay with family in Melbourne and a shot at his premiership glory that has evaded him so far. The AFL should not be interfering in our “process” or trying to somehow conflict Buckley with an imaginary club coaching role.

1 hour ago, Superunknown said:

“Taking them on”, though, implies really taking them on and not raising one’s hand in askance for town hall to be nice.

I’m not being snarky, I’m genuinely interested in how we really took it to them, perhaps like McGuire or Kennett may have?

Probably back in the Gutnick days.

2 hours ago, Go Ds said:

GWS made finals in year 5 and probably should have beaten the Dogs in the prelim. Why can't Tassie even just scrape into the finals over twice as long?

GWS were given the most extensive draft and recruiting concessions in AFL history. As much love as there is with the public for a Tassie team, I can't see that same level of concessions being made available to the Devils.

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter

18 minutes ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

GWS were given the most extensive draft and recruiting concessions in AFL history. As much love as there is with the public for a Tassie team, I can't see that same level of concessions being made available to the Devils.

the medja are convinced that it's going to be MORE generous

51 minutes ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

I honestly haven't checked. Have the AFL stated which draft picks Tasmania will get?

3 hours ago, Superunknown said:

All I can say is thank goodness Triple Chins and Chairman Gef were never involved with us.

Melbourne’s recent history may be tinged with incompetence, but at least it has mostly been dignified. We’ve generally worked within the rule of law, behaved like good citizens, and carried ourselves with some measure of restraint — even when the VFL/AFL was doing its worst.

That’s the difference: we might lose games, we might lose players, but we didn’t lose our dignity by turning the club into a circus of tantrums, curses, and headline-chasing outrage.

1 hour ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

For every GWS you get a GC.

Is Tasmania going to be a GWS or a GC? 🤔 Flip of the coin.

25 minutes ago, Go Ds said:

I honestly haven't checked. Have the AFL stated which draft picks Tasmania will get?

In 2027 they are getting the following picks:

1. Pick 1

2. Pick 2

3. Pick 3

4. Pick 4

5. Pick 5

6. Pick 6

7. Pick 7

8. Pick 8

9. Pick 9

10. Pick 10

11. Pick 11

12. Pick 12

13. Pick 13

14. Pick 14

15. Pick 15

16. Pick 16

17. Pick 17

18. Pick 18

19. Pick 19

20. Pick 20

21. Pick 21

22. Pick 22

23. Pick 23

24. Pick 24

25. Pick 25

26. Pick 26

27. Pick 27

28. Pick 28

29. Pick 29

30. Pick 30

31. Pick 31

32. Pick 32

33. Pick 33

34. Pick 34

35. Pick 35

36. Pick 36

37. Pick 37

38. Pick 38

39. Pick 39

40. Pick 40

41. Pick 41

42. Pick 42

43. Pick 43

44. Pick 44

45. Pick 45

46. Pick 46

47. Pick 47

48. Pick 48

49. Pick 49

50. Pick 50

51. Pick 51

52. Pick 52

53. Pick 53

54. Pick 54

55. Pick 55

56. Pick 56

57. Pick 57

58. Pick 58

59. Pick 59

60. Pick 60

61. Pick 61

62. Pick 62

63. Pick 63

64. Pick 64

65. Pick 65

66. Pick 66

67. Pick 67

68. Pick 68

69. Pick 69

70. Pick 70

71. Pick 71

72. Pick 72

73. Pick 73

74. Pick 74

75. Pick 75

76. Pick 76

15 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

1. Pick 1

2. Pick 2

3. Pick 3

4. Pick 4

5. Pick 5

6. Pick 6

7. Pick 7

8. Pick 8

9. Pick 9

10. Pick 10

11. Pick 11

12. Pick 12

13. Pick 13

14. Pick 14

15. Pick 15

16. Pick 16

17. Pick 17

18. Pick 18

19. Pick 19

20. Pick 20

21. Pick 21

22. Pick 22

23. Pick 23

24. Pick 24

25. Pick 25

26. Pick 26

27. Pick 27

28. Pick 28

29. Pick 29

30. Pick 30

31. Pick 31

32. Pick 32

33. Pick 33

34. Pick 34

35. Pick 35

36. Pick 36

37. Pick 37

38. Pick 38

39. Pick 39

40. Pick 40

41. Pick 41

42. Pick 42

43. Pick 43

44. Pick 44

45. Pick 45

46. Pick 46

47. Pick 47

48. Pick 48

49. Pick 49

50. Pick 50

51. Pick 51

52. Pick 52

53. Pick 53

54. Pick 54

55. Pick 55

56. Pick 56

57. Pick 57

58. Pick 58

59. Pick 59

60. Pick 60

61. Pick 61

62. Pick 62

63. Pick 63

64. Pick 64

65. Pick 65

66. Pick 66

67. Pick 67

68. Pick 68

69. Pick 69

70. Pick 70

71. Pick 71

72. Pick 72

73. Pick 73

74. Pick 74

75. Pick 75

76. Pick 76

26 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

1. Pick 1

2. Pick 2

3. Pick 3

4. Pick 4

5. Pick 5

6. Pick 6

7. Pick 7

8. Pick 8

9. Pick 9

10. Pick 10

11. Pick 11

12. Pick 12

13. Pick 13

14. Pick 14

15. Pick 15

16. Pick 16

17. Pick 17

18. Pick 18

19. Pick 19

20. Pick 20

21. Pick 21

22. Pick 22

23. Pick 23

24. Pick 24

25. Pick 25

26. Pick 26

27. Pick 27

28. Pick 28

29. Pick 29

30. Pick 30

31. Pick 31

32. Pick 32

33. Pick 33

34. Pick 34

35. Pick 35

36. Pick 36

37. Pick 37

38. Pick 38

39. Pick 39

40. Pick 40

41. Pick 41

42. Pick 42

43. Pick 43

44. Pick 44

45. Pick 45

46. Pick 46

47. Pick 47

48. Pick 48

49. Pick 49

50. Pick 50

51. Pick 51

52. Pick 52

53. Pick 53

54. Pick 54

55. Pick 55

56. Pick 56

57. Pick 57

58. Pick 58

59. Pick 59

60. Pick 60

61. Pick 61

62. Pick 62

63. Pick 63

64. Pick 64

65. Pick 65

66. Pick 66

67. Pick 67

68. Pick 68

69. Pick 69

70. Pick 70

71. Pick 71

72. Pick 72

73. Pick 73

74. Pick 74

75. Pick 75

76. Pick 76

So that's the day that everyone gets their picks nicked?

3 hours ago, Dee Boys said:

No he won’t.

The bashing would be reserved for us, about how we’re such a basket case that even the Tassie job, with all the uncertainty that comes with it, was more attractive than ours.

Nobody in the media’s going to bash anyone for choosing not to coach little old Melbourne.

Assume Tassie will get some soft cap concessions, maybe being able to build his own team from scratch AND the extra pay an incentive for Bucks to be a little on the fence right now.