46 minutes ago, BDA said:

So May and Maxy delivered some forthright feedback to each other. so what

seriously. Is everyone that soft nowadays that they can't handle players having a go at each other on the footy field.

Two bloody senior players who give as good as they get. It’s not like May was having a go at Lindsay or Langford for gods sake.

Grown competitive men. A non issue.

It’s the same ol’ same ol’ isnt it.

Now forget the umpires, they are an easy out and an uncontrollable entity.

What we can control is Fritta playing on twice without looking, one led to a turn over and a goal, the other a point instead of a sure goal.

Disco kicking long to an out number when he had 3 teammates within 10 meters and 1 filth player. Turn over, goal.

Kozzie trying a don’t argue in tight spaces, then putting the ball on the ground, 50 meter penalty, goal.

The usual blasting forward to contests in our f50 (usually outnumbered).

However had how many interceptions by the end? We didn’t try and negate him, just kicked it at him.

When we had all the momentum in the second qtr we still managed to kick 2.4 to 4.0, classic Melbourne.

How many missed tackles did we have? How often did Sidebottom run away and through our players?

We have only ourselves to blame as per usual, but feel free to hate the umps if it makes you feel better.

1 hour ago, The end is nigh said:

I hope May gets dropped. Going Gawn after the siren for his missed kick. That’s not the love Melbourne plays with. Bring back TMac.

I turned to my old man when Max went for it and said I'm not unhappy he went for it. He had to.

May is a firey character, but he should know better. With 30 seconds on the clock, you have to take a risk.

I suspect May would like to have his time back. I've no problem with Max doing what he did. Rationally, nor should any other Demon.

On the couch is showing our stuff ups in the final moments.

My god I didn't realise how bad tracs hand pass was or Oliver butchering the out on the bounds.

As Jordan Lewis said we had no composure.

6 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

What we can control is Fritta playing on twice without looking, one led to a turn over and a goal, the other a point instead of a sure goal.

Disco kicking long to an out number when he had 3 teammates within 10 meters and 1 filth player. Turn over, goal.

Kozzie trying a don’t argue in tight spaces, then putting the ball on the ground, 50 meter penalty, goal.

However had how many interceptions by the end? We didn’t try and negate him, just kicked it at him.

When we had all the momentum in the second qtr we still managed to kick 2.4 to 4.0, classic Melbourne.

How many missed tackles did we have? How often did Sidebottom run away and through our players?

We have only ourselves to blame as per usual, but feel free to hate the umps if it makes you feel better.

Probably a very sound evaluation

10 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Two bloody senior players who give as good as they get. It’s not like May was having a go at Lindsay or Langford for gods sake.

Grown competitive men. A non issue.

What's May thinking though? "Max, we had 30 seconds left, you should have finessed it up the line to the contest?"

1 hour ago, jane02 said:

I might add my Collingwood husband just asked what’s for dinner. I gave him the death stare and said ‘get it yourself’

Beef Wellington? 😂😂😂

It's not the reason we lost but FFS can we get rid of the bounce! In a game that's decided by 1 point we've lost a minute off the clock throughout the game because of 'Tradition,'

14 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Maybe if he was played as a key forward he'd have an opportunity to kick a goal. I'd love to see him get as many opportunities as Petty has had over the last 3 years.

I actually think he only got a game because Johnson was suspended. With his current form we would be better off playing Tmac in the roll.

3 minutes ago, fr_ap said:

Post of the year

15 minutes ago, old dee said:

Will he be missed? I doubt it! We have not won a game for the year with him in the team.

So who is our next power fwd??? Club either refuses or haven’t been able to attract any decent fwd for last 3 seasons, when is our next Neitz who retired in 08 or Schwartz retired in 02!

Just now, Demonsone said:

So who is our next power fwd??? Club either refuses or haven’t been able to attract any decent fwd for last 3 seasons, when is our next Neitz who retired in 08 or Schwartz retired in 02!

since sideshow bob broke down in 2022 we have tried for:

• larkey

• lynch

• allen

• waterman

they don't grow on trees

May used to pull that [censored] on Frost and McDonald constantly. Was pulled into line in 2021 when it was actually about being proper teammates. Gawn knew he made the error, he's lost more of these games than anyone, he didn't need May to do that. May had a great game, but stop defending his character.

Like everyone else on here I'm bemoaning the decision making and skill errors our most senior guys make at crucial times in a game.

Perhaps it was just me but I thought that the pre-game stuff with ND seemed just a little more poignant than usual.

5 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

What's May thinking though? "Max, we had 30 seconds left, you should have finessed it up the line to the contest?"

I think that like all of us, he wasn’t thinking he was just upset! He played his guts out and watched us lose by a stinking point.

If we are full of adrenaline post game, and I’m telling Pies fans that they forgot their brain cells at Centrelink, then I can only imagine what is going thru the mind of players who just killed themselves for 2 hours and watched their season end.

1 hour ago, illbarto said:

Does he like Beef Wellington?

1 hour ago, jane02 said:

I might add my Collingwood husband just asked what’s for dinner. I gave him the death stare and said ‘get it yourself’

Maybe one of the officiating umpires today could come over and serve it to him on a platter, just like they did for the Pies today. Even the Pies supporters around us today were embarrassed when Daicos got the fake push in the back late in the game. He kicked a point, and how much did they win by?

19 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

Spot on mate

16 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

Your summary is pretty close, but can you honestly say that we got a fair shake today, The frees were crucial and constant and I ain't blind.

Those blokes in yellow know when and where they are giving them, and they are specifically engineered at crucial run on stages.

4 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Like everyone else on here I'm bemoaning the decision making and skill errors our most senior guys make at crucial times in a game.

Perhaps it was just me but I thought that the pre-game stuff with ND seemed just a little more poignant than usual.

Last year I think we thought it would be neales swan song & today had extra meaning to it because this year he is the Australian of the year. I think many today assume he won't be here in another 12 months. But he is just amazing.

And his son pushing him around the G for a lap then both teams line up for that guard of honour was so emotional.

I actually think it bought calmness around the crowd & I actually had to think oh yeah there's a footy game on.

34 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Yes but don't just sook about it, call out specific incidents. Like the free against Melksham just before halftime. Like the deliberate against Sparrow vs similar from oppo (Quaynor?) Like the scragging against Oliver/Petracca all day.

Highlight the specific incidents to raise discussion, just sooking about poor umpiring won't get you anywhere.

I'm sure if all bets were off in a room the coaches could come up.with a pretty full.book of umpiring '[censored]'

That said... the redirect would be the overhandedness of the AFL. It's their fault. The umpiring is compromised but they're the ones blowing the whistle.

They too need to rebel.

Rules need to be better thought through. Umpiring needs to be full time professional.

It's not that bloody hard to sort out

1 minute ago, Demonsone said:

So who is our next power fwd??? Club either refuses or haven’t been able to attract any decent fwd for ,,last 3 seasons, when is our next Neitz who retired in 08 or Schwartz reti

5 minutes ago, Demonsone said:

He isn't at the club yet. We have tried drafting kids. We have tried bring in second time players from other clubs, we even tried to find a diamond in the rough at Werribee. We have even tried turn back men into forwards

It ain't easy. You have to keep turning over players till you snag a good KPF. We don't even need a champion just a good reliable player who who performs week in week out. We have to give Jefferson some games in a row to see if he can be that player. I doubt it but we won't know unless he plays at the top level.

5 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

I was listening to the Dee Radio SEN broadcast with Ox, Nathan Brown and Daniel Ward. Hugely entertaining, really changed my level of enjoyment of the game. Their commentary mirrored the views on here re umpiring.

Nathan was loudly urging the players to win it for the coach at the start of the last qtr, I had the same feeling.

4 minutes ago, Willmoy1947 said:

Your summary is pretty close, but can you honestly say that we got a fair shake today, The frees were crucial and constant and I ain't blind.

Those blokes in yellow know when and where they are giving them, and they are specifically engineered at crucial run on stages.

I don't subscribe to the corrupt umpire thing, do I think they make horrible calls, sure but we get them too. But they are an uncontrollable in a game that's full or controllable instances.

And we have made way too many bad decisions in the game to say they are the reason.

1 hour ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

We had a key tall he just plays with no physicality whatsoever. Petty has to be the most frustrating player on our list, so many times today he just had to make a contest and with the slightest body from Moore he just gave up competing. Also missed a sitter in the 1st half which proved costly.

40 minutes ago, Go Lordie said:

Anyone who wants to be understood. Otherwise, #$%@!=÷$%&

If you couldn't understand then it's your intelligence in question.