1 minute ago, Devil In Disguise said:

In case you missed it Nank got off the chain & the rest was history. Fullerton can be banished to the VFL now at least.

Nank, IMO, had bugger all to do with it.

Solely to do with our own easing off.

6 minutes ago, Flowergirl said:

šŸ’Æ. Sometimes I wonder whether some demonlanders actually like MFC.

I’m happy we won.

But that last quarter was at best, concerning and at worst, pathetic.

Considering our very poor record in Final quarters this season as well as being 2nd last on the ladder I would have thought it would have somewhat redeeming if we put our foot on their throats in the last quarter.

And to those who have issue with us easing up in the last qtr and cruising to a win, what do you say about the example being set to Lindsay, Windsor, Tholstrup and Langford by senior players putting the que in the rack?

Ā 

I'm very surprised an Yze coached team kicked the ball on Max's head all night.

TBH, I couldn't make out what Richmond were trying to do at all. They had no real game style other than pressure that I could determine, and then a long down the line game. It was very Melbourne 2022-2023 but without the experience or the stars across the ground.

They've lost a lot of experience and are very young, but jeepers, if I was a Richmond fan, I'd be very worried about Yze.

As for the rest of the game, we're really starting to get the hang of the switch and uncontested game. In the third, we had 5 or 6 guys setting up for the switch. It was like they were really getting the system, and the keepings off and switching angles was devastating.

The pressure in the third was outstanding too and we were a lot cleaner around the footy. No one exemplified this more than Clarry in that quarter.

Hugely disappointing ending, but we put the cue in the rack and at this point, I just want us to keep winning. Percentage for the next few weeks is almost irrelevant. We need to start chaining together wins.

That's two on the trot and next week it's either JVR or Campbell into the team to take Fullarton's place.

Max was BOG, Bowey brilliant, Salem good, Rivers, Sparrow, Trac, Spargo, Chandler and Viney (without the ball) were the standouts.

Edited by Adam The God

14 minutes ago, Supreme_Demon said:

I would rather have Tom Campbell playing in the ruck with Max Gawn.

But 2 wins in a row is pleasing.

Xavier Lindsay is definitely as cool as a cucumber.

Jake Bowey was impressive. He might even be leading our Best & Fairest?

Agree. Worth a look when TC is fit. Will make us slower but I’m not sure Fullertons greater foot speed is going to prove beneficial.

TC will definitely hold his own in the ruck. Might clunk a mark up forward and a presents a decent chance to hurt someone

Just now, titan_uranus said:

Isn't this overplaying things a bit given the respective breaks, and noting that they are playing a bunch of kids and we're playing a comparatively older/more seasoned team?

No, I don't think so.

We won after all. And apparently our pressure rating in the third quarter was 237. That's nuts.

After that we were never going to lose that game in the last quarter.

How many games have we all seen where a team where has the game wrapped up with 20 minutes on the clock only to give up easy goals late

As a punter who often backs the over 39 Line ne for value I can tell you it happens ALOT - for me most recently the port hawks game (I backed port for the win and over 39)

Could we have gone up a gear in the last if needed - I think so.

Did we need to?

That's another discussion - but as frustrating as it was I understand why we might have put the cue in the rack.

Taking Gawn off was the right thing to doing my opinion.

And besides but for some inaccuracy and poor decisions we would have equalled their score in the last.

And whilst I take your point about young players its not as if we didn't have our fair share of first and second year players too (four).

Years gone by, Dees up 7 goals in the last…why didn’t we put Max on ice?

Dees up by 7 goals tonight…Goody is arrogant for resting Max. Gold !!!

Edited by Dee Zephyr

32 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Who were all those posters who wrote off Salem?

Are they still around?

He is so important to our back 6 and controlled the game tonight

Here āœ‹šŸ™‚

Had a good game.
Played with some urgency.

9 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

I'm very surprised an Yze coached team kicked the ball on Max's head all night.

TBH, I couldn't make out what Richmond were trying to do at all. They had no real game style other than pressure that I could determine, and then a long down the line game. It was very Melbourne 2022-2023 but without the experience or the stars across the ground.

They've lost a lot of experience and are very young, but jeepers, if I was a Richmond fan, I'd be very worried about Yze.

As for the rest of the game, we're really starting to get the hang of the switch and uncontested game. In the third, we had 5 or 6 guys setting up for the switch. It was like they were really getting the system, and the keepings off and switching angles was devastating.

The pressure in the third was outstanding too and we were a lot cleaner around the footy. No one exemplified this more than Clarry in that quarter.

Hugely disappointing ending, but we put the cue in the rack and at this point, I just want us to keep winning. Percentage for the next few weeks is almost irrelevant. We need to start chaining together wins.

That's two on the trot and next week it's either JVR or Campbell into the team to take Fullarton's place.

Max was BOG, Bowey brilliant, Salem good, Rivers, Sparrow, Trac, Spargo and Viney (without the ball) were the standouts.

Spot on ATG.

Though I thought the tigers did a good job negating our efforts to run and carry and go thru the corridor- albeit they were very negative.

On percentage, how many people complaining about us not adding 4 or 5% think we are a realistic chance of making finals?

18 minutes ago, DubDee said:

of course.

Have you heard of resting players when the game is won off a 5 day break?

As I have already ask you, does resting players justify the those remaining on the ground to 1. Put the que in the rack and 2. Butcher the ball and hitting their opponents on the chest with 25m kicks?

Also, what example does it set Lindsay, Langford, Windsor, Tholstrup ?

BTW, Richmond had less of a break than we did.

What we served up in the last quarter was no better than that in our 4 straight losses this year and numerous losses late last year.

Ā 

The need to protect Gawn from excessive workload can’t be underestimated. This isn’t 2021 where we had the luxury of Luke Jackson who could take over in the ruck and we lost not much, and he’s not getting any younger. The fact that Fullarton struggled only really emphasises the need to take these opportunities to rest Max when we can.

I reckon it needs to be said, Richmond absolutely had our measure in that first half. Watching their wins against Carlton and GCS, that was Richmond’s best half this year BY FAR and we were playing really good footy. They pressured us more than any of the games I’ve seen.

North/ESS/GCS/GEE… we played some of the worst footy I’ve seen for probably 10 years. Couldn’t hit 2 meter handballs, couldn’t hit targets by foot, couldn’t tackle, constant long bombs etc. etc. etc. woeful football.

First 3 quarters tonight were really good. Last quarter wasn’t great for sure (and it’s a problem we need to address) but we got the win when it easily could’ve been a loss.

5 minutes ago, binman said:

Spot on ATG.

Though I thought the tigers did a good job negating our efforts to run and carry and go thru the corridor- albeit they were very negative.

On percentage, how many people complaining about us not adding 4 or 5% think we are a realistic chance of making finals?

We are a solid bottom six team at best. Stunning how we blew up an era.

Couldn't really enjoy the win due to the disgusting last 10 minutes and to be honest most of the first half.

Seriously, some of our kicks missed targets by 20 metres. Handballing not much better.

We're not making finals guys, lets just hope we get a couple more games like last week, because tonight was mostly diabolical.

9 minutes ago, binman said:

Spot on ATG.

Get on a roll, who knows, but I'm less concerned with percentage than I am with game style.

1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Arrogant coaching by Goodwin for taking Gawn off.

Awful finish and now only few positives to come out after what was heading towards a really strong win.

Meh.

he said in the preseason many times gawn would be taken care of and rested throughout the season more then before

9 minutes ago, Abyssal said:

As I have already ask you, does resting players justify the those remaining on the ground to 1. Put the que in the rack and 2. Butcher the ball and hitting their opponents on the chest with 25m kicks?

Also, what example does it set Lindsay, Langford, Windsor, Tholstrup ?

BTW, Richmond had less of a break than we did.

What we served up in the last quarter was no better than that in our 4 straight losses this year and numerous losses late last year.

Sure the last Q was disappointing

Does it dominate the night and cloud the fact we are trying to turn around a 0-5 season? I would say not

The goal is to win games right now.

We took the foot off the pedal when we had the game won. We can work on that.

On the other hand - when the game was there to be won, we smashed them in the 3rd

My god never again Fullarton... 🤮🤮

He's like a two meter feather

Doent like contact, gets left behind in marking contests, beaten by a young pup

Arrogant coaching by Goodwin for taking Gawn off.

Awful finish and now only few positives to come out after what was heading towards a really strong win.

Meh.

Gawn quoted after the game - said he hoped Goody wouldn’t want to put him back on.

Arrogant is a terrible take

1 hour ago, picket fence said:

Clarry 13 contested possesions MOST for the game! Um Fullarton should NEVER EVER play an AFL game again! Shocking

I wanted to give him a month in the side but he's a Shaq 2.0, he just doesn't have it in him.

He just doesn't affect enough contests against younger backmen than him.

There is a big void in our F50, JVR kicked 5.2 in the magoos so you would think he makes the trip to WA.

Edited by YesitwasaWin4theAges

2 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Gawn quoted after the game - said he hoped Goody wouldn’t want to put him back on.

Arrogant is a terrible take

Dazzle shoots from the hip and when he does, he unfortunately misses more often than not.

'Get on a roll, who knows, but I'm less concerned with percentage than I am with game style.'

Yep, and get games into Windsor, Kolt, Lindsay, Langford and Mcvee - individually and as a collective.

That's the future right there.

Best game I've seen Sparrow play imo. Bowey has turned into an absolute jet. Petracca is just going. Oliver has fallen off a cliff.

1 minute ago, Chook said:

Best game I've seen Sparrow play imo. Bowey has turned into an absolute jet. Petracca is just going. Oliver has fallen off a cliff.

IMG_9312.jpeg

Ā 
1 minute ago, Chook said:

Agree. Best consecutive games I've seen Sparrow play. Strong marking on the lead last week and crunching tackles this week.

(thought Oliver was good in the 3rd)

1 hour ago, Webber said:

Top 5 worst games of AFL footy I’ve ever seen. From a Dees perspective, we’re very very ordinary of course, but without the best ruckman the game’s ever seen, I think we might be the worst team in the league. At the moment. Things can improve no doubt. And they will. Hopefully. 71,000 at the G, and they all should feel robbed.

I thought we played okay in the first half. Good pressure, but ordinary ball use, too much long bombing.

In the third, we were superb. I was told we registered something like 230 pressure points for the quarter, which I believe would make it our best quarter for the season.

We then controlled the first 15 minutes of the last and then rested Max.

Anyway, each to their own mate.