22 minutes ago, In Harmes Way said:

This is exactly how Richmond were in 2017 (and they won the flag) - the one tall in the forward line option with Riewoldt (who isn't that tall), but needed a team playing quick footy and applying forward pressure as you suggest.

Yep, I've always liked this model mate. I'm happy to play two talls as well, but I really don't like the three tall forwards. It places too much forward pressure on too few, and encourages long bombing to talls that draw the ball.

I'd rather play two talls and have one as a genuine second ruck who can hit the scoreboard (JVR hopefully), much like Collingwood with Cox in 2023.

1 hour ago, Go the Biff said:

Melksham ?

Yep, like for like.

He's a lucky boy Fritta, take your chance young man!

only want 2 changes Judd and may in disco and howes out

1 minute ago, ghost who walks said:

only want 2 changes Judd and may in disco and howes out

Melk won't play with that infection surely?

7 minutes ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Melk won't play with that infection surely?

in fritta

58 minutes ago, Lil_red_fire_engine said:

Whilst I agree he did not set the world on fire I am surprised by how many prefer Fullerton ommitted. Our forward line functioned and we did not lose impact when second rucks were in. He leads at the ball carrier and he moves. Rarely did our forwards get in each others way in the air. There is also something about building confidence for him and the team by minimizing changes of a quality team performance. Unless players are not fit (Melksham potential) or are making way for best 18 returns like May and McVee then we should be minimising change as much as possible.

Agree with this. While Fullarton wasn't prolific last Saturday, I liked what I saw. He is a big unit and has finally got his crack at it. I really want to see him back up and get more confidence. I believe, if he gets some consistency, he could be a real asset.

Edited by I'va Worn Smith

Another big thanks to Ghostwriter, Harvey Wallbanger, Turner and Fritta and all posters and special comments, a beautiful day for the Captains Run. We are really looking forward to seeing the boys run out tomorrow night, we’ve got the whole team(9) coming tomorrow night. It is a wonderful and moving occasion.

It will be interesting to see Fullarton again. He didn't get in the way in the forward line last week because he was rarely there. He only played 60% game time with much of that in the ruck. His rucking was against Oscar Mac so that really wasn't a serious test.

I'm struggling to see so many positives in a six possession six hit out game and I worry about Max having to do so much rucking. But he was part of the winning team so deserves his second go. Really the choice between Tom and Tom isn't going to define the game.

Let's not forget that the Casey game is being played tomorrow morning so we need some big man strength there to counter Noah Balta.

5 minutes ago, Deeman said:

Let's not forget that the Casey game is being played tomorrow morning so we need some big man strength there to counter Noah Balta.

Well, let’s hope it’s not Fullerton. If you’re going to bring the guy in for a well deserved debut, you don’t just send him back the next week… he needs a real run at it.

Fullarton didn’t get outmarked and was able to get the ball to ground. It’s a lot better than JVR was doing. Stays for now.

1 hour ago, Adam The God said:

Yep, I've always liked this model mate. I'm happy to play two talls as well, but I really don't like the three tall forwards. It places too much forward pressure on too few, and encourages long bombing to talls that draw the ball.
I'd rather play two talls and have one as a genuine second ruck who can hit the scoreboard (JVR hopefully), much like Collingwood with Cox in 2023.

Well, if three talls encourage long bombing, it means poor coaching and gameplan. Then you can't blame the players, or they are not doing what they are supposed to, which would it be?

41 minutes ago, Deeman said:

I don't think Balta's playing in the VFL tomorrow.

Thanks to the track watchers for the updates much appreciated

23 minutes ago, Young Angus said:

Fullarton was decent I thought and keen to see him again...give the guy a chance!

He’s a 26 year old who’s played 20 AFL games and kicked 6 goals.

The most goals he’s ever kicked in a game is 1.

The most marks he’s ever taken in a game is 5.

And the most hitouts he’s ever had in a game is 8.

I want all our players to be the best player in the competition but he’s had chances! Give me even an out of form JVR or Fritsch over a bloke who’s clearly not up to the level any day of the week.

Would love to end up with egg on my face but there’s just absolutely zero evidence to support the fact he’ll make it as a serviceable AFL player, and plenty to the contrary.

11 minutes ago, Dee Boys said:

I want all our players to be the best player in the competition but he’s had chances! Give me even an out of form JVR or Fritsch over a bloke who’s clearly not up to the level any day of the week.

Would love to end up with egg on my face but there’s just absolutely zero evidence to support the fact he’ll make it as a serviceable AFL player, and plenty to the contrary.

First game of the season with no Roo or Fritta and first game of the season with Fullarton and we win…

It’s the Fullarton effect…

Haha just playing

The morning was beautiful (sunny, no wind, mild) and the players, most with an easy smile and a lightness about them.

No Lever, Hore working with a trainer, Turner rehabbing under supervision.

Last year they had Gus (volunteer), give a speech about veterans, this year's build up had no overt special ANZAC call to the players.

No structure, no warm-ups, mostly goal kicking after low ball gets (two small groups). All players from AFL and those MFC playing for Casey, intermingled.

May looking a little ginger, though got into his boots, did a few small runs. I think he is right to go.

Melksham, spent his time over the other side of the Paddock, resting on the boundary line and talking to Nathan. Still a maybe, I reckon.

Howes spent his time with the Casey selected players.

Fritta did what he did last week, kicking balls with Clarry, he was with the main group as he came out of AAMI.

Fullarton out with the main group, mainly goal kicking, but with little interactions with others.

Johnson arrived at Gosch's walking in the company of all our coaches.

Judd looks ready to go, came out of AAMI with the main group of AFL.

These sessions are social, difficult to get a read on things.

I wonder if the whole team would make it onto Gosch's if it was a cold, wet, winters day. I am a believer that they could make better use of their gathering, by working on intentions and skills. Half of them seem to like the socials, half seem lost.

Thirty minutes and they drift off towards AAMI.

Edited by Kev

27 minutes ago, Demongirl35 said:

First game of the season with no Roo or Fritta and first game of the season with Fullarton and we win…

It’s the Fullarton effect…

Haha just playing

Haha look if we win every week with him in the side I’m happy for him to play forever 😂

Don't get me wrong I can't wait for JVR to find some form and come back and be a legend...hopefully sooner rather than later. He is the future along with Jeffo.

2 hours ago, DeeZone said:

Another big thanks to Ghostwriter, Harvey Wallbanger, Turner and Fritta and all posters and special comments, a beautiful day for the Captains Run. We are really looking forward to seeing the boys run out tomorrow night, we’ve got the whole team(9) coming tomorrow night. It is a wonderful and moving occasion.

Agreed, it is a wonderful and moving occasion. So much so my wife is coming along as well, she's on the record as saying she's happy to come just to watch the pre-match ceremony and then go home (but she'll grudgingly stay for the game).

2 hours ago, Slartibartfast said:

I'm struggling to see so many positives in a six possession six hit out game and I worry about Max having to do so much rucking. But he was part of the winning team so deserves his second go. Really the choice between Tom and Tom isn't going to define the game.

Goody said about eleventeen times in his post match presser that he was really proud of what we did when we didn't have the ball. Maybe Tom's game exemplified this (?) whilst not reflected in the stats sheet.

1 hour ago, Dee Boys said:

I think you'll find that a number of those games were on limited time, for one reason and another. The averages, therefore, are not the whole picture.

4 hours ago, Demon Dynasty said:

Yep. Campbell should be under serious consideration if Max is facing two big boy decent rucks. Last week vs Omac... Fullo is fine.

This week the Tiges only have Nan as a serious ruck so should be fine to go round again with Fullo.

Samson Ryan is a confirmed out for Richmond

Max will be up against Nankervis one v one