On 07/04/2025 at 04:30, monoccular said:

Didn’t deter SG from playing Spargo without a game for a year. 🤬🤬

I just don't get why people post things that are demonstrably untrue and not difficult to check:

"Spargo recently made his long-awaited return, facing Sandringham in a VFL practice match."

https://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/1729810/charlie-spargo-the-road-to-recovery

• Author
  On 07/04/2025 at 08:34, Queanbeyan Demon said:

What are we doing training at Aldi? Surely that's the root cause of our problems then.

Have you seen the rabid Aldi shoppers when doors open on a Saturday or Wednesday??!! It’s every man for himself, kill or be killed. Elbows flying around indiscriminately, it’s the quick and the dead.

On 07/04/2025 at 04:02, GS_1905 said:

Surely he plays a game at Casey first? It would be irresponsible to subject him to the firsts.

I really dislike this for any player, I think a single run at least in the 2nds to get touch going is a good thing. It seems if you're talented you can some straight in.

On 07/04/2025 at 08:02, dazzledavey36 said:

Anyone got Gary Hardeman's number?? Oh hang on I think I still have it😊

Can someone tell Fritta to keep his hands steady when lining up and jogging in for a setshot.

On 07/04/2025 at 08:29, Flowergirl said:

There is a bye this week in VFL. So no-one is going to get any practice.

I keep saying it FRIGGEN BASKET CASE COMPETITION and all AFL Clubs need to stand up and DEMAND a stand alone Ressies

On 07/04/2025 at 09:07, Ghostwriter said:

Have you seen the rabid Aldi shoppers when doors open on a Saturday or Wednesday??!! It’s every man for himself, kill or be killed. Elbows flying around indiscriminately, it’s the quick and the dead.

Yeah, I snared 3 60 inch T.Vs for my kids doing just that, bumped, jostled, shirt fronted anyone that got in the way, and snarled at anyone wanting to have a go, my son, bringing up the trolley thought it hillarious!😁

On 07/04/2025 at 07:08, Flowergirl said:

Omg. I am getting sick of reading everyone complain about the soccer practice.

There's an old adage... Practice as you play , Play as you practice. You can probably see the problem.

On 07/04/2025 at 08:34, Queanbeyan Demon said:

What are we doing training at Aldi? Surely that's the root cause of our problems then.

Yep, I can see the articles now; "Tracc was heard to say "I arrived planning to have two hours training but left with a dartboard, beekeeping gloves and a tuba""

On 07/04/2025 at 11:09, beelzebub said:

There's an old adage... Practice as you play , Play as you practice. You can probably see the problem.

The soccer training happens for literally half an hour at these sessions. They do other training you don't see where there are no soccer balls. How many times does GW have to say it?

It's not the soccer that's costing them games. It's the entire coaching and training plan.

• Author

I really don’t think that adage is meant in a literal sense.

On 07/04/2025 at 11:36, Queanbeyan Demon said:

. . . said the captain of the First 11 that didn't win a game for the season cos this bowlers were letting them go from 18 yards in the nets on Thursdays.

That's a weird analogy. Honestly at times that would be good practice for the batters. The other thing is come Matchday EVERY delivery is from the same distance. Whereas with kicks there's all sorts of variation.

On 07/04/2025 at 07:10, Ghostwriter said:

Main session is at Casey on Thursday. They fly out on Friday morning and there’ll be a captain’s run on Friday arvo:

Friday, April 11
3:00pm - 4:15pm
️ Signatures following the session
📍 West Adelaide Football Club, Hisense Stadium, 57 Milner Rd, Richmond SA 5033 
🏃‍♂️ Session type: Pre-Game Captain's Run

Thanks.

Are you going to the games in Adelaide?

• Author
  On 07/04/2025 at 12:36, Dingo said:

Thanks.

Are you going to the games in Adelaide?

No, I’m not. ☹️ I went to Gather Round the first two years but this year the airfare and accommodation price rises are through the roof, so much higher than the previous two years, therefore it’s out of reach for me and many others in the DA.

I’m so disappointed with not being able to go that I’ve emailed Andrew Dillon telling him he’s effectively taking the live footy experience away from the everyday people. I don’t expect a reply but writing it was quite therapeutic.

Edited by Ghostwriter

"Monday (two days post game day) we’ll do a light run around session where we test everyone’s heart rate to see how their fatigue is going.

Then we do a skill-based session in preparation for our main training session that week. This might include some light touch drills, a kicking circuit, a handball game or some weeks we might play soccer or American football. The purpose of the session is to get the body moving."

David Zaharakis.

On 07/04/2025 at 11:12, Flowergirl said:

The soccer training happens for literally half an hour at these sessions. They do other training you don't see where there are no soccer balls. How many times does GW have to say it?

It's not the soccer that's costing them games. It's the entire coaching and training plan.

True, but they could probably use the extra half an hour and work on kicking and handball skills !!

For crying out loud, please don’t mention the soccer ball as it seems to give some more reason to complain.

Lie next time and say they were playing croquet, see how that’s received.

On 07/04/2025 at 05:46, Ghostwriter said:

I did tell Tracc we love him. He clearly thought I said I love you because he answered I love you too. 😅

my niece (14 going on 24) keeps talking about melb. And one player gets mentioned every time. He was here in Warrnambool training at a nearby ground with ?? And my niece only found out later. She was devastated that she missed him in the flesh. And then proceeded to say he was married.

So next time you see him Greta sends love and best wishes. Twisting their arm 8 years ago worked . So hi from Warrnambool tracca !!

On 07/04/2025 at 13:23, Ghostwriter said:

No, I’m not. ☹️ I went to Gather Round the first two years but this year the airfare and accommodation price rises are through the roof, so much higher than the previous two years, therefore it’s out of reach for me and many others in the DA.

I’m so disappointed with not being able to go that I’ve emailed Andrew Dillon telling him he’s effectively taking the live footy experience away from the everyday people. I don’t expect a reply but writing it was quite therapeutic.

Mate of mine goes with his 4 kids. They drive over and camp in a beautiful spot about an hour's drive from the city. Saves them a bundle.

Are you observers seriously saying we do soccer practice at our training sessions amidst our worst slump in form for a long long time? Then I have to say Goodwin is an [censored]. Plain and simple. Not as a derogatory term but as an old fashioned [censored]. It’s old definition was a someone who does not think things through, is stubborn and unable to adapt to a change in circumstances.

On 07/04/2025 at 16:42, bing181 said:

"Monday (two days post game day) we’ll do a light run around session where we test everyone’s heart rate to see how their fatigue is going.

Then we do a skill-based session in preparation for our main training session that week. This might include some light touch drills, a kicking circuit, a handball game or some weeks we might play soccer or American football. The purpose of the session is to get the body moving."

David Zaharakis.

Working a treat

On 07/04/2025 at 09:07, Ghostwriter said:

Are you suggesting the club ditch the soccer and send the team to Aldi for some body contact work?

On 07/04/2025 at 23:51, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Are you suggesting the club ditch the soccer and send the team to Aldi for some body contact work?

Training at Aldi ? different, good