View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

I'm just hoping it's one of those elaborate setups. Tell 5 different people 5 different things and see who spills first to the media 😂

15 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

Remember when Guerra said that Clarry and Trac were in Melbournes best team... good times.

Like it was yesterday

6 minutes ago, Trident22 said:

Oh..Laurie in the midfield…we will be right then. A bloke that has zero credits at AFL level. Too small. Not fast. Great. Lucky we have him

Ok then. Direct your ire at the club mate, not me. Oliver is now too slow and only has elite hands to be in the midfield in AFL. We have to move on from that. You can boo the young player that replaces him if you want.

So who is the touted top 3 players in next years draft? Cos I reckon we will have pick one the way this is going 😆

Might follow them next year instead 😋

Now if we can just offload Kozzi and Gawn as well, I’ll start to get excited about next year

Let's just say we lose both Trac and Oliver, which now looks to be the most likely outcome.

Fine - I imagine the decision (at least insofar as it applies to Oliver, as Trac has told us he wants to go...) is for our own good.

But, wow, I mean if we just pause for a second. We lose our two pillars of generational talent. Still in good years. Plus May and McVee (not our doing, fine). In one year.

That's really... umm, bad. We don't have to cattle to replace those 2 guys. One, we'll make do. Both?? We don't have anyone special screaming out to come to us. St Kilda are getting everyone with their bottomless money pit. It's not as if we lose those guys and we're linked with a KPF, key back and a mid, for example. Just Flanders (maybe) and Mihochek (he's ok but what's the point if in full rebuild?).

And that's fine, again, you say we have some good kids, and we play them. Yeah, we do, but NOT THAT MANY. And (worse, yet) then you have the cyclical effect of these kids, say Langford for example, who will want to win games, rather than just be stuck rebuilding in a rabble of a club notorious for endless rebuilds and doldrums. How do you think they will feel about it?? Max does not have many years left. Ditto Viney at top level (despite his contract, sigh). They won't want to lose every week. I can see one of the current (and seemingly evergreen) crop of contenders grabbing them from us.

If we lose Langford and/or X in 2 years. How do we all feel about the 'burn it down' sentiment? Still raw and exciting?

Dunno about you, but I don't want to revisit the doldrum days getting pantsed by everyone every week.

It took FOREVER to turn it around in 2021, and just 4 SHORT years later, it's fire sales and 'play the kids'??

WTH???!!!

Nobody does implosion like the Dees, I will give us that.

Sigh.

Edited by Red But Mostly Blue

3 hours ago, Ted Lasso said:

if King says to him, if you stay you'll be in the VFL maybe it does prompt him to have a look.

I hope he stays regardless.

This would be Madness ...playing VFL?? NAR NO WAYY

21 minutes ago, joeboy said:

Our opening bounce set up for the first game next season is going to look markedly different from this year’s, bearing in mind that JV certainly isn’t a walk up start either, based on last year’s output

We might be a chance to hit a target coming out of the middle.

Just now, DubDee said:

Now if we can just offload Kozzi and Gawn as well, I’ll start to get excited about next year

Bailey Laurie's voodoo doll working overtime this off season

Conspiracy theory one:

• what if we were just trying to work out which players were leaking?

• would we allow this to get out if we genuinely wanted to trade Clarry unless we already presumed he had little trade value?

To all the 2021 players - thanks for the premiership will never forget it and another one is never guaranteed. But hoping that this means we have two speedy replacements in the mix already as I distinctly remember people lauding Neeld's hard edge at that time as well...

29 minutes ago, Lord Travis said:

How is the club leaking this badly and this quickly?? Amateur hour here. Such a disappointment!

who do yoiu think ? Clarry is one the phone minutes after. Do you think its coaches?

All this Oliver stuff, I’ve completely forgotten about Trac who’d be playing kick to kick with Dimma right now

Clarry out paying 700k for a top10 pick in ala bowes and pick 7

trac out top 10 pick and later first rounder next year

go to WCE and say heres 2x top tens this year tell them those duursma's hate being interstate youre wasting your time taking them he'll leave in two years like X did and Yasmin. draft Willem (has the casey links)

OR they think Duff-Tytler has LJ type potential and he's our man

we know Lamb only shops at the top of the order

i think this is what theyre thinking

This is unexpected but I hope pre-planned. If the plan is to get Clarry out of the middle, then one has to assume next year is a staring midfield of Langford, Windsor, Lindsay, Viney, Rivers. Its very very young but the balance is better than what we have had.

One has to assume that Clarry hasnt been doing all that he could to improve his chances? What is happening with him on top of what we know? Has he lost his drive?

9 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Really? I'm the opposite.

Petracca has currency. He wants to leave, his teammates are sick of him and if he leaves we’re duly compensated with draft picks and with his wage going off our books.

Oliver has no currency. He’s still popular with teammates and wants to stay at the club. Despite not earning his huge wage the last couple of years, he’s now in a great place off-field and was showing signs towards the end of last season that he’s getting back to his best. And even at 85% capacity, he’s still our best midfielder. If he leaves we won’t be duly compensated, in fact we’ll have to pay for him to play elsewhere.

That’s bonkers.

48 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

If he goes the end of Demonland and support of the club for me. Is king trying to bottom us out totally??

9 minutes ago, demoniac said:

Clarry's challenge is reach the brutal running levels required of an AFL mid. Possible Dees don't think he can check that box at the level required.

More the kicking skills required, same as trac. Many including me lamented seeing Oliver trac and Viney lining up in the centre square time after time given they all lack kicking skills and high level footy IQ that the best midfields have. King knows what is needed in the midfield to be successful and those 3 ain't it.

4 minutes ago, Red But Mostly Blue said:

Let's just say we lose both Trac and Oliver, which now looks to be the most likely outcome.

Gotta love off season

If Trac and Clarry are gone, I really hope on the other side of it is a new era where all this can come to an end. The media gossip, the leaks, players supposedly on the way out and then back in again - all the dirty laundry, every season.

It's gotta go. Has to be a line in the sand this time.

8 minutes ago, Harves said:

Gonna miss claz if we trade him. Hope we can work it out but looking doubtful.

Reading between the lines King has repeatedly said he’s building the culture of the club with a clean slate. So I’m guessing it’s clearing out the bad eggs etc

Your avatar is and should be the clubs priority.

We've got a young core coming through that need proper leaders at the club and bad influences who have been allowed to get away with anything and everything over the past few years are being moved on. Build around that group add more talent and away we go.

The thing that doesn’t line up for me is if Oliver isn’t in the 22 under King who is replacing him, I don’t think Sparrow is ahead of him, Rivers didn’t inspire when given the chance this year either. Langford would eventually but he will just be entering his 2nd year. So regardless of if he says or goes it feels like a step backwards at least in the short term and if trac goes as well that leaves 2 slots open

Relax, everything is back to normal now, our season starts at Trade week again...

4 minutes ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

Oliver tweeted a photo of himself in a Casey Demons jersey.

Anyone with socials can find and post it here?

Straight from the horse's mouth!

IMG-20251002-WA0007.jpg