Posted

Great job Harvey. A bright spot on a dark day

Must've been a compelling week of development between round 2 and round 3 for him. Still can't over his sub debut and being dropped shortly after.

Rising Star in his first full game The Bison is showing us all just what we hoped he would. Bravo Harvey Langford.

Isn’t it unusual for a nominee in a team that lost?

Congrats to the young man.

afl.com.au
No image preview

AFL Rising Star: Harvey Langford stars in Round 3

Check out the Rising Star for AFL’s Round 3, Harvey Langford

Gonna be a star. Thanks JT, you've nailed another ripper. And well done, Langers.

Edited by Adam The God

Congratulations Harvey and well deserved. Will give you a hell of a lot of belief going forward. Nice to have some positive news with our young guns. A rising star award and Xavier’s injury not as bad as it could have been. Hopefully this is the start of better things to come.

Wins hard ball and has a sweet left foot kick. Kids a winner.

47 minutes ago, adonski said:

Must've been a compelling week of development between round 2 and round 3 for him. Still can't over his sub debut and being dropped shortly after.

The mind boggles.

57 minutes ago, adonski said:

Really? I mean maybe starting as sub in hindsight now that we've seen him play more but he did very little to impact when he came on a sub in that first game.

So off the back of that first game instead of another try as sub they send him down the Casey where he played a full game in the midfield and starred which prepared him really well and gave him confidence to come in a play a big role in the midfield this week.

Thought it was great management from the club to build Harvey up to the game he had on the weekend.

Edited by Young Blood

Thrilled for our young star.

1 hour ago, Young Blood said:

Really? I mean maybe starting as sub in hindsight now that we've seen him play more but he did very little to impact when he came on a sub in that first game.

So off the back of that first game instead of another try as sub they send him down the Casey where he played a full game in the midfield and starred which prepared him really well and gave him confidence to come in a play a big role in the midfield this week.

Thought it was great management from the club to build Harvey up to the game he had on the weekend.

Pretty tough ask to sit in the cold and watch for 3/4 and then have an impact?

2 hours ago, Random Task said:
afl.com.au
No image preview

AFL Rising Star: Harvey Langford stars in Round 3

Check out the Rising Star for AFL’s Round 3, Harvey Langford

The 2 things that stand out watching these highlights are his skills under pressure and that he might be Joey Montagna's favourite player before the year is out.

Edited by Jjrogan

1 hour ago, BW511 said:

Pretty tough ask to sit in the cold and watch for 3/4 and then have an impact?

haha sorry I had to laugh at the idea of an AFL footballer not having much impact because he had to sit in the cold. Reminds me of under 10's footy back in the day.

But if you said as a 19 yr old in his first game to come in and have an immediate impact in his first AFL game in just one quarter then I completely agree with you! Him not performing was understandable and wasn't my point.

Still think it was the right choice after only a quarter of football to go send him down to Casey and get a full game as lead midfielder where he could really get his confidence going.

Just now, Young Blood said:

haha sorry I had to laugh at the idea of an AFL footballer not having much impact because he had to sit in the cold. Reminds me of under 10's footy back in the day.

But if you said as a 19 yr old in his first game to come in and have an immediate impact in his first AFL game in just one quarter then I completely agree with you! Him not performing was understandable and wasn't my point.

Still think it was the right choice after only a quarter of football to go send him down to Casey and get a full game as lead midfielder where he could really get his confidence going.

What was true in Under 10’s is still true now, it is not conducive to performance to be sitting around waiting, particularly when it’s cold

2 hours ago, Young Blood said:

Goody would have debuted Clarry as sub if he had his chance again

Love our Jordan Dawson clone

18 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

Love our Jordan Dawson clone

Blue collar Bont

3 hours ago, Random Task said:

I actually find this hilarious how Trac said Langford went away to work on the defensive side of his game when Trac's defensive efforts on the weekend were absolutely putrid.

Superb entre'. Looking forward to seeing his progress & journey from here.

Good luck Langers and stick it right up em mate.

3 hours ago, Young Blood said:

Ditto on that. And kudos to the way the kid handled it. Showed he has some solid mental fortitude as well which should come in very handy.

5 hours ago, Demon Disciple said:

The mind boggles.

More poor decisions by SG.