1115503_1_0204-learnings-inaword_standard.jpg

12 minutes ago, WheeloRatings said:

There is something significantly wrong with our stoppages. What was once a weapon and 1 wood is incredibly below expected levels. Slaughtered in Clearances again and CP again.

Who is to blame here? Is it Max? Is he not getting first look and hence result in us getting absolutely cooked out of the middle?

Our D50 turnovers are also pathetic.

Edited by GS_1905

1 hour ago, Red But Mostly Blue said:

Anyone have any positives to share ??

Please?🙏

I've spent more pleasant hours in a dental hygienist's chair.

On the tram home I've thought of three positives...

1. As we've already traded away our first round pick, no journalists (caro etc) can start accuse us of tanking. So we don't have to listen to that.

2. This one is more of a hope. Soon it will be so bad that the club will be forced to replace Minus Badloss

3. Another positive...When we eventually hit rock bottom we can only get better from there.

4 minutes ago, MrFreeze said:

Bailey Smith will run rings around us next week

Yep. Also, Holmes and Dempsey are work horses and that isn’t even including the likes of Miers + Close and Atkins, both are defensive beasts who are hardly mugs as well. Oh, and Dangerfield and Blicavs who float in and out of the midfield these days so they remain fresh in spite of getting on with age.

We’re stuffed with our lazy midfield.

Edited by VNightCityLegend

I seriously didn't think I'd be saying season over in round 3, but here we are.

Based on the last two weeks we are a real shot at a winless season and picking up the spoon.

If McQualter hadn't succeeded in making our midfield the worst in the comp, then clearly Jones is trying his best to continue the mantel, i've never seen a midfield group so impotent and bereft of any ideas or gameplan.

I've been critical of goody before but more often than not i've given him the benefit of the doubt. I can no longer in good conscience accept that he is the man to lead us.

So let's get this straight, we spent 12 years in the wilderness, competed for 1 year, back to the doldrums for another 2 before 3 years of being a good side and its back to the bottom again. So thats 4 years out of the last 18 that we've been competitive.

Feels like we're in for another neeld era stretch, gonna be a long season and I've got a bad feeling with Tassie coming we could be in for another 5-10+ years of irrelevance.

19 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

https___media.kitchenwarehouse.com.au_kitchenwarehouse_image_upload_c_fill,g_face,w_1250_f_auto_t_PDP_2000x2000_Supplier%20Images%20_2000px_OXO-Good-Grips-Wooden-Spoon-Medium_1_2000px.jpeg

I've thought of a fourth positive:

1. This special edition wooden spoon engraved with "Simon's signoff" will be useful to Petracca when he's cooking on Instagram for his Collingwood team mates next year. He can make lots of money selling limited edition replicas

40 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

Wish I could help. It's hard to swallow this type of performance. Last week was clearly no abberation

My tax return was a lot better than anticipated.

Why? Ate your treating membership fees as donations?? Haha (I’m thinking about it!) - there’s no performance return here, just handing money over.

Currently I would argue we are the single most pedestrian team in the comp when we don't have the footy.

You could also argue we are the worst with footy in our hands.

It's actually embarrassing to see where we are at as a club right now so soon after a flag.

13 minutes ago, Hellfire Dub said:

I've spent more pleasant hours in a dental hygienist's chair.

On the tram home I've thought of three positives...

1. As we've already traded away our first round pick, no journalists (caro etc) can start accuse us of tanking. So we don't have to listen to that.

2. This one is more of a hope. Soon it will be so bad that the club will be forced to replace Minus Badloss

3. Another positive...When we eventually hit rock bottom we can only get better from there.

Haha #3 is actually pretty good, looking forward to the bottom so then you know you can look up. Very wise!!!!

2 minutes ago, Hellaintabadplacetobe said:

Currently I would argue we are the single most pedestrian team in the comp when we don't have the footy.

Comfortably.

Missing ANB terribly, but that doesn't account for just how bad we are when the opposition have it.

16 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

1115503_1_0204-learnings-inaword_standard.jpg

F U K the learnings B 😜😜😜😜

Edited by DemonOX

Goody mentioned a little while ago it is good to get the band back together. Well, these last 2 weeks the band of Gawn, Clarry, Trac and Viney have been given down right hidings by young, fit, strong and FAST mids . Emphasize FAST as today Rowell just ran away from Clarry that many times I couldn't keep up the count. Unfortunately, they all HAVE BEEN champions of this club but on recent form it appears the competition is moving away from them, and they are just shadows of their old self's. Throw in many VFL players that haven't the necessary skills and it looks like we are in for heaps of pain for the rest of this season. Sure, losing Lindsay and not having Windsor and Picket doesn't help but they will not win us games by themselves. We need everyone to contribute and start finding our own players by hand and foot. Dropping heaps of players albeit warranted is not the answer as looking at Casey today there is not a lot to come in and be good AFL players.

I made a few bold predictions in the Game Day thread. They were all wrong!!! Except one: that Matty Rowell needed to be minded. He wasn't. He ran free clocking up 13 clearances, 36 possessons, 7 tackles etc etc etc.

Why oh why did we not put someone on him. It was depressing watching him just waltz out of the centre with no one near him setting up play down the corridor.

FGS if this humble fan who knows little about football can identify Rowell as the danger man why could our coaches not!

The only good thing about he game is it was easy to get a seat on the train and arrived home in daylight! Well, Langdon and Langford deserve special mentions.

1 hour ago, bing181 said:

I'd question that, there are too many variables. Starting inside the club, and how much the FD and Board would hold Goodwin responsible. Also, there's the longer term to be considered: there's an argument that it's never good to bring in a new coach with a team that's bottoming out. Better the old coach stay on until things stabilise and then make the change, e.g. Clarkson/Mitchell at Hawthorn. What Yze is going through at Richmond isn't good for anyone, he came in at least one season too early.

But I don't think it'll come to that, in spite of plenty of evidence to the contrary. I think that once we get more players back and the team stabilised and used to a new way of playing, things will start to look up later in the season. I could be wrong ...

He's already gone, it's just a matter of when

We have been good with this list, mentally something wrong, with Kozzie back next week pretty sure it will be different but Goodwin has got to go

Edited by Dave1711

22 minutes ago, Hellfire Dub said:

positive...When we eventually hit rock l . bottom

Um ... what have you been watching? 😏

I cannot remember a game where I have not felt 1 minute of enthusiasm or excitement in our execution. Too few great passages of play and a skill level not acceptable at AFL level.

Lets be honest, running around with 4 first year players is an inducation that we don't have the cattle ( 5 if you include Jefferson last week. Is there a team with finals aspiration that bloods so many newbies. They have stable teams where they slowly add new blood to an existing structure. 2 from a VFL club and 2 first year players has not worked.

The skill level today was deplorable. Is the transition to a new style of game showing that our players don't have the skill to execute it especially under pressure. We have been poor for the last 2 weeks.

The run and yards gained by Noble and Rioli and others wasn't matched by us who are locked in a chip, chip possession game which is so slow. We are so slow and the years are catching up with Max & Viney. Our clearance work is shocking when it was once our weapon. Out tackled and unable to make one stick or pin the arms so they couldn't get of a handball. Nearly every goal we got was replied to at the next center bounce.

I only hope that Windsor, Picket, McVee,Lever and Jefferson get back quick (and Lindsay isn't too serious) because their replacement are out of their depth or not up to AFL standard's. The midfiekd coaches have a huge mountain to climb to get things back on track. At no stage did we manage to lock down and stop the ball getting out the back and cleared.

After the eagles dockers game tomorrow, we’ll be second last, and I honestly can’t see how that will change, aside from one rung lower…

5 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

I made a few bold predictions in the Game Day thread. They were all wrong!!! Except one: that Matty Rowell needed to be minded. He wasn't. He ran free clocking up 13 clearances, 36 possessons, 7 tackles etc etc etc.

Why oh why did we not put someone on him. It was depressing watching him just waltz out of the centre with no one near him setting up play down the corridor.

FGS if this humble fan who knows little about football can identify Rowell as the danger man why could our coaches not!

The only good thing about he game is it was easy to get a seat on the train and arrived home in daylight! Well, Langdon and Langford deserve special mentions.

Thought Bowey was good too mate, otherwise completely agree.

Rowell waltzed it out of stoppage.

Our midfield set up is a complete mess.

So for at least the first half our half back movement was hardly rapid but actually pretty solid. But every time we got it to midfield one of our horrendous mids would either bomb it, stop for no reason or do a meaningless sideways handball back in to traffic.

The only guy playing with freedom was Langford. He’s hardly a great kick but he makes easy natural decisions and actual looks who he is kicking too. When he got the ball I had confidence he’d give a forward a chance. With anyone else - pure yuck.

Gawn, Viney, Oliver, Tracc and Sparrow only know one way and they’re now so scared to bomb it long they aren’t even doing that when we’ve got numbers goal side.

Maybe they’ll start to get the hang of it soon but until they get the balance right between the game plan and just natural smart footy they’ll be nowhere and we’ll have constant turnovers.

Has anyone been brave enough to listen to Goodwin's press conf.

Had to pour🍷before tuning in ...

Btw, I am very angry which is not something I experience too often in any part of life.

Edited by Lucifers Hero

The coach is just rubbish, he’s wasted the best list we’ve had for 60 years, 1 flag should have been 3-4, Clarkson or Dimma would have got 3-4 flags but no, we’ve got Goodwin, and they knew he was rubbish but they wouldn’t get rid of him