Posted
7 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

these three adjectives sum up my concern with jefferson - good, nice, ok

that describes his performances thus far to a tee - he does everything...fine

too many of his performances thus far have been vanilla in the extreme

i really hope that he can show more this season, as his contested work is so poor that he needs to develop more strings to his bow in order to command a spot in the mfc side

to compare him to weideman is unfair as the weed was in the mfc side in his debut year and proved to be too-good-for-vfl-not-good-enough-for-afl across two afl clubs

if el jefe doesn't make it with the mfc i doubt he'll get another go at another club

Found it quite reassuring to hear Tom Hawkins say it took him 5 years to find his feet . He would have been a bigger sized player earlier but still took him 5 years …

Posted
18 minutes ago, Deestar9 said:

Found it quite reassuring to hear Tom Hawkins say it took him 5 years to find his feet . He would have been a bigger sized player earlier but still took him 5 years …

I think the thing with Jefferson is when he came in he was very skinny, so he was always going to take a lot of time. I think he has shown good signs, but he really needs to dominate at VFL level this year. He will play a handful of AFL games as well I would think and then he needs another massive preseason to add more muscle again heading into 2026.

Posted
7 minutes ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

Haven’t seen anything yet. Where did you hear that?

Would never say after what GW cops but it’s pretty accurate (let’s see) Culley 4..Mentha a couple & Jeffo at least 1 ? 

Posted
35 minutes ago, Deestar9 said:

Hawkins was a massive physical unit from day one. The old creep Sam Newman got him on the footy show to do muscle-model poses before he was even officially drafted. After 5 seasons he had just 100 goals from 80 games. To his credit, though, that period was the making of him in the sense that he kept working at the team things (his score involvements, goal assists and that kind of thing) to make himself useful, and when he finally clicked as a power forward in his own right it was those things which made him an outstanding match-winner rather than just a good target forward.

Another one would be Josh Kennedy, whose 4th year was about on par with Van Rooyen's second year and only after that become the metronome of reliable goal-kicking and contested marking at the heart of a club.

Come to think of it, even the incredibly talented Charlie Curnow, due to injury and development progress,, only managed 80 goals from 60 games in his first 5 seasons.

So even amongst the very pinnacle of forwards who came with AFL-ready bodies there are solid examples of needing time.

My expectations for Jefferson aren't to be a world-beater, just that he become a competitive, relatively lightly-built tall forward. I don't expect him to ever become the major target but if he can be the Gunston to Van Rooyen's Roughhead we're in good territory.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Jefferson is named as an emergency for tomorrow's game in Perth so I doubt he contributed to the scoring at Casey today

Not necessarily. If he’s an emergency then he could have been played sparingly at Casey and flown over after the game. 

Where are the Perth Demon fans stalking the incoming flights from Melbourne updating us on arrivals there?

Posted
17 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said:

Not necessarily. If he’s an emergency then he could have been played sparingly at Casey and flown over after the game. 

Where are the Perth Demon fans stalking the incoming flights from Melbourne updating us on arrivals there?

There was a Virgin (AFLs flight partner) flight from Melbourne to Perth that left just before 6pm (Melbourne time) and will arrive in Perth at 7:10pm (Perth Time). 

Posted

Unbelievable that 6 hours after a VFL practice match, with listed AFL players on both sides, we only know the scores.

Posted
14 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Unbelievable that 6 hours after a VFL practice match, with listed AFL players on both sides, we only know the scores.

Stretches it out for longer

Posted (edited)
17 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Had a quick conversation with Wheels at a Petrol Station just out of Cranbourne and he said that "Casey will be very good this year" and both Roy George and Mentha played very well. Campbell played in the ruck and he also played well. Just sayin!!

Forgot also Spargo played for limited minutes and played well and also pulled up well.

Edited by Longsufferingnomore
  • Thanks 6
Posted
26 minutes ago, Demonland said:

There was a Virgin (AFLs flight partner) flight from Melbourne to Perth that left just before 6pm (Melbourne time) and will arrive in Perth at 7:10pm (Perth Time). 

That means the player arrives at 10.10 pm (body clock time) after playing some game time and rushing to the airport from Casey to catch that flight.  

Arrives at a Perth hotel about 11.00pm (body clock time) or if going to Mandurah arrives there about midnight - hardly good prep to play tomorrow (even off the bench) in 32 degree heat. 

The return trip from Mandurah to their home will take about 7-8 hours. 

I reckon we should play with 7 off the bench rather put a player thru that for a prac match.

Posted
1 hour ago, Longsufferingnomore said:

Had a quick conversation with Wheels at a Petrol Station just out of Cranbourne and he said that "Casey will be very good this year" and both Roy George and Mentha played very well. Campbell played in the ruck and he also played well. Just sayin!!

Forgot also Spargo played for limited minutes and played well and also pulled up well.

I can confirm all those statements. Due to a posting hitch my match report went awol.

Posted

Easier to get the bloody Epstein flight logs than the Casey match report, are the FBI supressing M*** J********* 6 goal haul....

• Haha 6
Posted
Just now, adonski said:

Easier to get the bloody Epstein flight logs than the Casey match report, are the FBI supressing M*** J********* 6 goal haul....

Epsteins list

Bog

matt j.z

Posted
1 minute ago, Rooooooooooo said:

Please I need to know the stats

Fair go! Who do you think I am champion data?  

Let think back to what I wrote that disappeared into the internet black hole, I did post it 8 hrs ago so lets see how I go.

• Shocked 3
Posted
6 hours ago, KC from Casey said:

Casey Demons 15.14.104 defeated Sandringham 6.6.42

That’s the final score and all I can give you at the moment. Remember, it’s just a practice match so let’s not get carried away.

We Are The Champions Win GIF by Queen

Posted
7 minutes ago, DeeVoted said:

Fair go! Who do you think I am champion data?  

Let think back to what I wrote that disappeared into the internet black hole, I did post it 8 hrs ago so lets see how I go.

Did you go watch DeeV?

Posted

I made the trek to snake county, but I had to leave at 1/2 time. So here is what I remember from my original post.

Picket Fence may want to look away now. (unless someone can confirm he kicked 6) Remember up it's only til 1/2 time.

Casey was 20 points in front, It was a even contest up until that point. Casey were slowing getting the upper hand.

What I did like was Casey was looking for a team mate in a better position, with handballs to a running player.

Our Mids were very good. Campbell looked in good in the ruck and around the ground.  (If only he was 4 yrs younger)

I am not sure how good Sandy are, they are usually hard to beat, being my old stomping ground and playing in a GF at Beach oval (juniors) I kinda have a soft spot for them.

Spargs was killing it til 1/2 time.

Jefferson took a strong overhead mark on the 50 mtr mark, on a lead. Missed slightly to the left. (point)

From what I seem from last year, he still has thin arms and needs to bulk up around the shoulders. From there he didn't have much impact. He had a few more chances to mark in a pack and couldn't hold the marks.

I will add I hoped we would recruit him, but he needs to step up or he'll be struggling.

Culley kicked a good goal from a set shot just on the 50 mtr mark. 

Henderson kicked a good goal, under pressure, got through some heavy traffic, and from 40 mtrs it never looked like missing.

Roy "boy" George surprised me, I had only seen him on TV, but he is a solid unit. He laid some good tackles to lock the ball in the forward line. (One to watch for sure)

Sestan was playing well, he has improved and needs to keep improving.

Mentha was solid down back, from I was since read he continued to play well.

TMAC made a fatal skill error, in the 1st qtr. He had a team mate in the clear, missed him by foot by about 10 mtrs, Sandy

swooped and kicked a goal. After that TMAC held his own down back.

From the short time I had, it's looks like Casey will be a lot better this year. I did miss a few plays cause I had to revert to the team sheet for who was who.  I did predict a 8 goal win if they didn't rest players or start to shift players to different positions. I thought that at the time because Casey started to share the ball around and Sandy were struggling to match them.  

• Thanks 7