The Jackson FIX 3,512 Posted February 24 Posted February 24 I don’t think a dedicated thread exists (pls merge if so) but felt like a dedicated thread for ppl interested makes more sense than talking about betting in random threads where there are people who just don’t want to talk about betting. Just decided to build a season multi anchored to Harvey Langford winning Rising Star only to realise he was crunched from $16 to $9 (now 2nd favourite) after the North sim. Ouch. 1 1 Quote
Damo 3,466 Posted February 24 Posted February 24 Hawks $3.60 to miss the top 8. Dees $7.50 to Make the top 4. I wish i could be objective... Ill stick with Demons to make top 8. Its Come down a little, still $2.80, so much better value than Dogs $2.20 and Crows $2.50. 2 1 Quote
rjay 25,424 Posted February 24 Posted February 24 I would prefer we didn't have a thread on betting at all... ...but, I guess that's just me. 7 3 1 1 Quote
The Jackson FIX 3,512 Posted February 24 Author Posted February 24 1 minute ago, rjay said: I would prefer we didn't have a thread on betting at all... ...but, I guess that's just me. I respect that not everybody loves betting but it isn’t illegal and is a pastime of many on Demonland. Hence why I thought a separate thread made sense. Perhaps just don’t visit the thread? 6 1 Quote
rjay 25,424 Posted February 24 Posted February 24 (edited) 12 minutes ago, The Jackson FIX said: I respect that not everybody loves betting but it isn’t illegal and is a pastime of many on Demonland. Hence why I thought a separate thread made sense. Perhaps just don’t visit the thread? When I saw the thread title I thought we were going to be discussing the idea of getting rid of betting in the AFL. The sooner it happens the better. Edited February 24 by rjay 8 1 1 Quote
640MD 3,568 Posted February 24 Posted February 24 47 minutes ago, The Jackson FIX said: Just decided to build a season multi anchored to Harvey Langford winning Rising Star only to realise he was crunched from $16 to $9 (now 2nd favourite) after the North sim. Ouch. I tried to do just that before the jagga smith injury. tried with Oliver winning Brownlow and us in the tool 8. i think I have 3 bets on, they took the money but bn I really don’t know what is my bets. Except I think if either one has a very good year and I think both will One of my bets will mature, very nicely for $5 investment my apps did not work how I thought they would. Go Dee’s Clayton and Harvey. Yes !! 2 Quote
DubDee 26,675 Posted February 24 Posted February 24 Thanks for setting this up J-Fix Dees are excellent value this year due to our poor year last year. $8 to make top 4 is tasty Im on Us to make top 8 plus Trac Brownlow. paying $75 3 Quote
BigFez 1,491 Posted February 24 Posted February 24 I was pretty surprised on how long we were to make the 8, considering last year we weren't all that far away despite the injuries to many of our stars. I'll be getting on that for sure. Oliver for Brownlow is an interesting one. Even in his dominant AFLCA winning seasons he didn't win, he was still a number of votes behind the eventual winner. Not sure if they umpires love him enough to get him over the likes of Bont, Neale, Daicos, Cripps etc. The umps will give those blokes 3 votes just for showing up sometimes. I reckon Tracc is the better bet for Brownlow personally, the umps seem to like him. 4 Quote
Neil Crompton 5,852 Posted February 24 Posted February 24 4 minutes ago, BigFez said: I was pretty surprised on how long we were to make the 8, considering last year we weren't all that far away despite the injuries to many of our stars. I'll be getting on that for sure. Oliver for Brownlow is an interesting one. Even in his dominant AFLCA winning seasons he didn't win, he was still a number of votes behind the eventual winner. Not sure if they umpires love him enough to get him over the likes of Bont, Neale, Daicos, Cripps etc. The umps will give those blokes 3 votes just for showing up sometimes. I reckon Tracc is the better bet for Brownlow personally, the umps seem to like him. Agree on Oliver - he is his own worst enemy with the umpires unfortunately. 1 Quote
Little Goffy 14,963 Posted February 24 Posted February 24 Could we at least move this to the 'other topics' category so it doesn't keep getting bumped to the top of the main page? 3 1 Quote
DubDee 26,675 Posted February 24 Posted February 24 Are us punters getting kicked off the main page? We are discussing the Demons so don’t don’t see why We can include a few disclaimers about bet responsibility etc if it helps Quote
Dee Boys 934 Posted February 24 Posted February 24 Christ, if you’re not interested in the thread just don’t open it 🙄 1 Quote
sue 9,277 Posted February 24 Posted February 24 20 minutes ago, Dee Boys said: Christ, if you’re not interested in the thread just don’t open it 🙄 It would help keep readers away who are not interested in betting themselves, but who do have views of AFL gambling, if the title of the thread was clearer. Quote
Go Ds 335 Posted February 24 Posted February 24 1 hour ago, rjay said: When I saw the thread title I thought we were going to be discussing the idea of getting rid of betting in the AFL. The sooner it happens the better. As someone who started betting almost 40 years ago I kind of disagree. That said I don't want to encourage others to bet AND there is way, way, way too much betting advertising (and betting 'infomercials') on TV. Way too much! 3 Quote
binman 44,824 Posted February 24 Posted February 24 2 hours ago, rjay said: When I saw the thread title I thought we were going to be discussing the idea of getting rid of betting in the AFL. The sooner it happens the better. No way of getting rid of betting on AFL - unless all sports betting is banned, which ain't gonna happen. And even if it did a million illegal off shore betting sites would fill the void (you can bet on Victoria Soccer League games on such sites such is their ubiquity). But i 1000% agree the promotion and advertising of betting should have severe limits placed on it - eg never during games, never embedded in footy shows, only after 9pm etc etc. And the AFL, clubs and all sporting clubs should be forced to stop taking any gambling related advertising revenue and/or sponsorships. All that said, whilst i fully acknowledge the deleterious impactbof sports betting I really enjoy punting on the footy. And a thread on demonland for like minded people is not a bad idea, particularly if people such as myself don't put punting related posts in other threads. 4 1 Quote
Go Ds 335 Posted February 24 Posted February 24 2 hours ago, The Jackson FIX said: I don’t think a dedicated thread exists (pls merge if so) but felt like a dedicated thread for ppl interested makes more sense than talking about betting in random threads where there are people who just don’t want to talk about betting. Just decided to build a season multi anchored to Harvey Langford winning Rising Star only to realise he was crunched from $16 to $9 (now 2nd favourite) after the North sim. Ouch. Markets often overreact. I hope not but if Harvey's first or second real game is ordinary he will drift ....maybe more than he should. Also I agree with changing the title. Maybe to "Good AFL bets this year"? Quote
Go Ds 335 Posted February 25 Posted February 25 2 minutes ago, binman said: No way of getting rid of betting on AFL - unless all sports betting is banned, which ain't gonna happen. And even if it did a million illegal off shore betting sites would fill the void (you can bet on Victoria Soccer League games on such sites such is their ubiquity). But i 1000% agree the promotion and advertising of betting should have severe limits placed on it - eg never during games, never embedded in footy shows, only after 9pm etc etc. And the AFL, clubs and all sporting clubs should be forced to stop taking any gambling related advertising revenue and/or sponsorships. All that said, whilst i fully acknowledge the deleterious impactbof sports betting I really enjoy punting on the footy. And a thread on demonland for like minded people is not a bad idea, particularly if people such as myself don't put punting related posts in other threads. My thoughts exactly. Are clubs still making a small fortune with the ***** pokies? They seem to especially suck the money out of the pockets of the fiscally challenged, which is disturbing. BTW did I see that a new Demonland podcast has landed? I look forward to listening to it. Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,552 Posted February 25 Posted February 25 1 hour ago, BigFez said: Oliver for Brownlow is an interesting one. Even in his dominant AFLCA winning seasons he didn't win, he was still a number of votes behind the eventual winner. Not sure if they umpires love him enough to get him over the likes of Bont, Neale, Daicos, Cripps etc. The umps will give those blokes 3 votes just for showing up sometimes. I reckon Tracc is the better bet for Brownlow personally, the umps seem to like him. 100% agree. Trac had a sneaky great year in 2024 before he got injured and was on track for 28-30 votes. 1 Quote
rjay 25,424 Posted February 25 Posted February 25 31 minutes ago, binman said: No way of getting rid of betting on AFL - unless all sports betting is banned, which ain't gonna happen. And even if it did a million illegal off shore betting sites would fill the void (you can bet on Victoria Soccer League games on such sites such is their ubiquity). But i 1000% agree the promotion and advertising of betting should have severe limits placed on it - eg never during games, never embedded in footy shows, only after 9pm etc etc. And the AFL, clubs and all sporting clubs should be forced to stop taking any gambling related advertising revenue and/or sponsorships. All that said, whilst i fully acknowledge the deleterious impactbof sports betting I really enjoy punting on the footy. And a thread on demonland for like minded people is not a bad idea, particularly if people such as myself don't put punting related posts in other threads. I really meant advertising 'bin'...I'm not a believer in banning things. Drug and alcohol being prime examples of it doesn't work,... 3 Quote
binman 44,824 Posted February 25 Posted February 25 (edited) 27 minutes ago, rjay said: I really meant advertising 'bin'...I'm not a believer in banning things. Drug and alcohol being prime examples of it doesn't work,... We're on the same page there Rjay - in 30 years people will look back in horror at the wall-to-wall sports betting advertising and how embedded it's become in footy the way we look back at Big tobacco sponsoring Australian Cricket (not to mention touring cars, footy etc etc) and cigarettes being advertised all over the place (in my mind's eye i still see Benson's and Hedges gold livery when i think back to cricket in the 70s - no coincidence that until i gave up smoking when i was 30 my go to was Benson and Hedges Extra Mild) Edited February 25 by binman 1 Quote
The Jackson FIX 3,512 Posted February 25 Author Posted February 25 3 hours ago, rjay said: When I saw the thread title I thought we were going to be discussing the idea of getting rid of betting in the AFL. The sooner it happens the better. I don’t disagree re. the advertising 1 Quote
ManDee 7,395 Posted February 25 Posted February 25 1 hour ago, Dee Boys said: Christ, if you’re not interested in the thread just don’t open it 🙄 I click on next unread topic. This thread keeps popping up, therefore I can't avoid it. I think it should be in the general topics area. Another option would be if we could block a topic. Quote
rjay 25,424 Posted February 25 Posted February 25 (edited) 1 hour ago, Dee Boys said: Christ, if you’re not interested in the thread just don’t open it 🙄 3 hours ago, rjay said: When I saw the thread title I thought we were going to be discussing the idea of getting rid of betting in the AFL. The sooner it happens the better. ...and that post re guitar lessons is funnier than you think. Edited February 25 by rjay Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,137 Posted February 25 Posted February 25 I'm a bit dubious about a thread on the topic of betting which was started by someone with "FIX" in their name. 1 2 Quote
The Jackson FIX 3,512 Posted February 25 Author Posted February 25 1 hour ago, ManDee said: I click on next unread topic. This thread keeps popping up, therefore I can't avoid it. I think it should be in the general topics area. Another option would be if we could block a topic. Haha what do you mean you can’t avoid it?! Just don’t click on it 🤣 Quote