Matt Demon 1,597 Posted February 7 Posted February 7 In terms of injuries we're looking pretty good. Trac, Chin, McAdam & Fullarton are all due back to full training over the next couple of weeks and all of them have been able to run so they haven't lost their fitness base. Not sure about Lever as he trained fully last week and now running laps again. Windsor may have just had a day off, he trained fully last week and was fine. The ones that definitely won't make round one are Tholstrup, Kentfield and Spargo. Question marks on Lever & Melksham. 5 1 Quote
RedLegs23 1,139 Posted February 7 Posted February 7 22 minutes ago, Tolstoys Nudge said: How’s the tackle from Harvey.. sheeeeeesh!!! & that too. My boy Lego just looks the type. Got the feel he’s gonna be a beauty this kid. He brings a different spirit to the group… Like a fair dinkum one. 🧱 3 1 Quote
Roger Mellie 4,205 Posted February 7 Posted February 7 (edited) Great read @Gator - thoroughly enjoyable. A couple of questions: How was Langdon at the CB's. Do you think he was just a fill in or may spend a bit of time there during the season? Where and how did Sparrow play? Good to hear Howes played well. I assume he played as a tall, given three tall forwards in the blue team. Who was he on, if you happened to notice? Thanks Edited February 7 by Roger Mellie Typo 3 1 Quote
Gator 18,053 Posted February 7 Posted February 7 18 minutes ago, Roger Mellie said: Great read @Gator - thoroughly enjoyable. A couple of questions: How was Langdon at the CB's. Do you think he was just a fill in or may spend a bit of time there during the season? Where and how did Sparrow play? Good to hear Howes played well. I assume he played as a tall, given three tall forwards in the blue team. Who was he on, if you happened to notice? Thanks Langdon was terrific in an all purpose midfield role (mid/wing/half-forward). I can't remember more than one CBA clearance, but he may have had more and attended quite a few. He, Billings, Rivers, Salem, Bowey, and Oliver (after a slow start), got a heap of it. But so did Viney, McVee, Sharp and Howes. They spread it around and most of team Blue got plenty of touches. Sparrow played mainly forward. I did see him attend a CBA, but he wouldn't have had many. He kicked a nice long distance goal much to the delight of his Blue teammates. I didn't think he did a lot, but he did some typical Sparrow things without getting a heap of it. But you do miss stuff watching at Casey. Howes played as the third tall on Yze. Yze kicked a nice goal from just outside 50 after a Howes infringement. But Howes was good, especially early on. 4 4 Quote
Gator 18,053 Posted February 7 Posted February 7 Jon Ralph has a training report online which I've read. From supposed reports from ''track watchers'' he lauds Aidan Johnson's performance and says he's pushing for round one. Johnson was very quiet. He also states that Mentha kicked 3 goals. He kicked one, but he did some nice things. The White team only kicked 5 goals. George kicked 2, Mentha 1, Yze 1 and Culley 1. 7 3 6 3 1 Quote
Roost it far 10,138 Posted February 7 Posted February 7 10 minutes ago, Gator said: Jon Ralph has a training report online which I've read. From supposed reports from ''track watchers'' he lauds Aidan Johnson's performance and says he's pushing for round one. Johnson was very quiet. He also states that Mentha kicked 3 goals. He kicked one, but he did some nice things. The White team only kicked 5 goals. George kicked 2, Mentha 1, Yze 1 and Culley 1. 🤦♂️ 2 Quote
WERRIDEE 5,638 Posted February 7 Posted February 7 10 hours ago, whatwhat say what said: guesses at squads: blue (likely rd 1?): 1. may 2. van rooyen 3. salem 4. mcvee 7. viney 10. turner 11. gawn 13. oliver 14. billings 15. langdon 17. bowey 19. lindsay 20. langford 21. jefferson 22. howes 24. rivers 30. sharp 31. fritsch 32. sparrow 35. petty (20 players spotted) white: 16. laurie 25. mcdonald 26. adams 27. hore 29. campbell 36 pickett 39. mentha 40. woewodin 41. brown 42. johnson 45 moniz-wakefield + roy george + jai culley (13 players spotted) injured / didn't spot: 5. petracca 6. windsor 8. lever 9. spargo 12. tholstrup 18. melksham 23. mcadam 28. verrall 33. fullarton 37. chandler 38. sestan 44. kentfield (12 not spotted) i'd guess at rd 1 based on players expected to be returning from injury... B: McVee - May - Lever HB: Windsor - Petty - Salem C: Langdon - Petracca - Billings HF: Sparrow - Fritsch - Sharp F: van Rooyen - Jefferson - Chandler Foll: Gawn - Oliver - Viney I/c: Langford - Rivers - Sharp - Turner Sub: Lindsay My guess for the North game is the team in blue will all be in the team. Pickett and a few others in the white may get a go as well. B: McVee, May, Howes HB: Salem, Petty, Bowey C: Sharp, Rivers, Langdon HF: Billings, van Rooyen, Sparrow F: Fritsch, Jefferson, Turner FOLL: Gawn, Oliver, Viney IC: Langford, Lindsay, Pickett, Laurie, Windsor? 1 Quote
58er 6,872 Posted February 7 Posted February 7 7 hours ago, Matt Demon said: In terms of injuries we're looking pretty good. Trac, Chin, McAdam & Fullarton are all due back to full training over the next couple of weeks and all of them have been able to run so they haven't lost their fitness base. Not sure about Lever as he trained fully last week and now running laps again. Windsor may have just had a day off, he trained fully last week and was fine. The ones that definitely won't make round one are Tholstrup, Kentfield and Spargo. Question marks on Lever & Melksham. Of the first four you have returning? I gave only one if those in my Round 1 tram TRAC. IMO Chin ( lucky if he makes it as his last season half was not good enough in goals and not featured greatly since Cmas at training and plant of others at HFF could maketh grade. For exp. AMW Lindsay Sharp Bowey Salem I’ll bet all those will kick more goals than Chin yes prob not as many tackles but hey goals win matches) Shane Mac again not enough training and only rough chance of say Sub and Fullerton has had no footy yet sO Must get further base at practice and at Casey. Trac of course has done running etc all summer long and only missed some contact sessions. A blessing really and no bother to this fitness freak who will hit the season running out of his skin. A mix of mostly tried and true with some 2025 standouts Billing’s Howes and Petty will probably make it. Jeffo is warming to be favoured over AJ but it could go either way. Pretty good mix is probably the go with pace and skill the big new and the two L’s Harvey and XL could well be making their debuts together. XL is not fully match fit so could also be the Sub. 1 Quote
The Jackson FIX 3,512 Posted February 7 Posted February 7 2 hours ago, 58er said: Of the first four you have returning? I gave only one if those in my Round 1 tram TRAC. IMO Chin ( lucky if he makes it as his last season half was not good enough in goals and not featured greatly since Cmas at training and plant of others at HFF could maketh grade. For exp. AMW Lindsay Sharp Bowey Salem I’ll bet all those will kick more goals than Chin yes prob not as many tackles but hey goals win matches) Shane Mac again not enough training and only rough chance of say Sub and Fullerton has had no footy yet sO Must get further base at practice and at Casey. Trac of course has done running etc all summer long and only missed some contact sessions. A blessing really and no bother to this fitness freak who will hit the season running out of his skin. A mix of mostly tried and true with some 2025 standouts Billing’s Howes and Petty will probably make it. Jeffo is warming to be favoured over AJ but it could go either way. Pretty good mix is probably the go with pace and skill the big new and the two L’s Harvey and XL could well be making their debuts together. XL is not fully match fit so could also be the Sub. That was an intense read! 1 5 Quote
forever demons 2,369 Posted February 7 Posted February 7 off topic but I am starting a footy tipping comp with 2 of my nurses hope someone can send me some sort of spreadsheet to help me .Thanks 2 Quote
Ghostwriter 5,460 Posted February 7 Posted February 7 18 minutes ago, forever demons said: off topic but I am starting a footy tipping comp with 2 of my nurses hope someone can send me some sort of spreadsheet to help me .Thanks My DA bestie is the Spreadsheet Queen. I’ll ask her to create one for you, FD. Just you and your two nurses, so three all up? 1 Quote
demon3165 2,865 Posted February 7 Posted February 7 1 hour ago, forever demons said: off topic but I am starting a footy tipping comp with 2 of my nurses hope someone can send me some sort of spreadsheet to help me .Thanks Isn't there on line ones you can do? 2 Quote
Go Ds 335 Posted February 7 Posted February 7 1 hour ago, forever demons said: off topic but I am starting a footy tipping comp with 2 of my nurses hope someone can send me some sort of spreadsheet to help me .Thanks Will Xavier Lindsay do? 😆 3 1 Quote
DistrACTION Jackson 10,736 Posted February 7 Posted February 7 7 hours ago, WERRIDEE said: My guess for the North game is the team in blue will all be in the team. Pickett and a few others in the white may get a go as well. B: McVee, May, Howes HB: Salem, Petty, Bowey C: Sharp, Rivers, Langdon HF: Billings, van Rooyen, Sparrow F: Fritsch, Jefferson, Turner FOLL: Gawn, Oliver, Viney IC: Langford, Lindsay, Pickett, Laurie, Windsor? I reckon a bloke named petracca may get a crack round 1 as well 2 Quote
forever demons 2,369 Posted February 7 Posted February 7 59 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said: My DA bestie is the Spreadsheet Queen. I’ll ask her to create one for you, FD. Just you and your two nurses, so three all up? yes just 3 thanks GW 1 Quote
Ghostwriter 5,460 Posted February 7 Posted February 7 48 minutes ago, demon3165 said: Isn't there on line ones you can do? Ima get Forever Demons a custom spreadsheet. 👍🏽 1 2 Quote
Ghostwriter 5,460 Posted February 7 Posted February 7 41 minutes ago, forever demons said: yes just 3 thanks GW I’ll PM you when I’ve spoken to my bestie. 😊 1 Quote
Spirit of '87 344 Posted February 7 Posted February 7 1 hour ago, DistrACTION Jackson said: I reckon a bloke named petracca may get a crack round 1 as well I believe his team post was referring to the practice game against North, ahead of round one. But yes, will be hoping that Petracca is good to go by round 1 4 Quote
Roost it far 10,138 Posted February 7 Posted February 7 Is Windsor injured? Please tell me it isn’t so. 1 Quote
DistrACTION Jackson 10,736 Posted February 8 Posted February 8 11 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: Good to hear about Mentha, but as mentioned by Gator maybe he thought the 2 goals from George were by Mentha? 2 Quote
Go Ds 335 Posted February 8 Posted February 8 4 hours ago, DistrACTION Jackson said: I reckon a bloke named petracca may get a crack round 1 as well He didn't do much in the reserves last year. Maybe wait. :) 3 Quote
Timothy Reddan-A'Blew 5,690 Posted February 8 Posted February 8 40 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: Culley was 34 in White? (Only temporarily, of course; 34 will soon be on White...) 1 3 Quote
58er 6,872 Posted February 8 Posted February 8 1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said: Our haste in resigning Marty Hore was ridiculously breathtaking. More haste less speed ( ie less Hore) We didn’t need another HBF like Hore more likely a mid like Culley or Boy ( Roy) George as a HFF/mid. 3 2 Quote