Posted
4 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Is it possible the former player doesn't know he has this son? 

In that case, we could never question the club's scouting abilities ever again 🤣

Posted
1 hour ago, Pennant St Dee said:

You also named Billings at HFF and Interchange, but like your assessment always good to have  good pre season or block of training to have a good season although I think it stands out more at the back end of the year if you have had a good run

Thanks for picking up on that.

For the record remove Billings from the bench and put Woewodin or Brown on the bench of the "Best '23' pre season squad".

I'm sure those two young fellas may be called up at stages throughout the year. 

Posted

I went down to training on Wednesday and came home in a fairly buoyant mood. I will just put out a few of my thoughts and opinions as to how I think we are going as we approach the pointy end of the pre-season.

Firstly they were doing different things to what I normally see. The full ground drill was a pleasure to watch as they practised giving with a short kick and receiving by hand then hitting a target on the run. Some of the 40-50 metre passes where the receiver didn't break stride were a thing of beauty and made a lot of sense to a fast transition game.

Then in the sim Goody actually came out, stopped play and told them all what he wanted to see. I've not seen him do this before. It was good. He wanted them to, when the oppo is coming out of defence, crowd the corridoor and push them wide. Made it very hard to hit targets from the backline for both sides. Then on turnover switch and move quick with short passing. I think we were trying something like this last year and it mostly didn't work so will be interesting to see if we can take this new style into the early season.

Players to impress

Oliver. Didn't miss a target and had Pendelberry type poise. Baulked, feinted switched hands then always hit his target by hand or foot. Was a joy to watch.

Howes. Had half a season last year before getting injured and struggling to get back in the side. Has had a very good pre-season as a distributor off the backline. May is confident using him and some of his passes, not all, were lazer like 40+ metre bullets. He'll make mistakes but has a touch of class.

Langdon. As everyone has already said he looks terrific, especially for a first year player. Reads the play well and knew when to drop into the forward 50 and received two lovely passes in space. Both kicks were 40 odd metres out and sailed through. He should be a top 5 rising star but given our love affair with the media he'd have to be an absolute stand out to win the rising star, and then he still probably won't. But he's ours and a great get.

X or Lindsey. Saw his class in the sim and he will have elite disposal and vision but is severely underdone. As a poster mentioned in the running he blew up badly and you could see his lack of body strength. He should be handled well in his first year I think and maybe only play 15 games or so whether in the ones or twos. I think he will have real trouble running out a full AFL game. I might be wrong but he can't be a Windsor mark 2.

Turner

Love the look of this guy. As do many. I think he will have a break-out year this year, well I hope so anyway. He is getting taller and stronger and was the best most classy forward out there apart from Fritsch who chimed in for a couple of classy left footers.

Laurie. This is the first pre-season where I reckon he might make it. He is obviously back-up to Viney and it looks like Langdon is now ahead of him but he has grown up now and was beating Viney a couple of times. Is a good accumulator and should rack up possessions at VFL level while he waits his turn.

Downer

JVR. Didn't enjoy the fast pace of the sim at all. His one wood is getting out the back and taking a speccy with a pack mark. He will get plenty of that when the games start but pattern running and leading he is like a chook with his head cut off. Defended well but had very little connection to the myriad of ball users kicking inside 50. He is an undoubted talent but he still looks like he needs a lot more coaching. Hopefully Chapman can get him going. Just my opinion, by the way.

Finally I think we have the best squad in a number of years. I think depth is good and we look a balanced and fit squad. We look to be training with good purpose and I'm looking forward with hope to the new season

• Like 17
  • Thanks 9
Posted
5 minutes ago, deespicable me said:

I went down to training on Wednesday and came home in a fairly buoyant mood. I will just put out a few of my thoughts and opinions as to how I think we are going as we approach the pointy end of the pre-season.

Firstly they were doing different things to what I normally see. The full ground drill was a pleasure to watch as they practised giving with a short kick and receiving by hand then hitting a target on the run. Some of the 40-50 metre passes where the receiver didn't break stride were a thing of beauty and made a lot of sense to a fast transition game.

Then in the sim Goody actually came out, stopped play and told them all what he wanted to see. I've not seen him do this before. It was good. He wanted them to, when the oppo is coming out of defence, crowd the corridoor and push them wide. Made it very hard to hit targets from the backline for both sides. Then on turnover switch and move quick with short passing. I think we were trying something like this last year and it mostly didn't work so will be interesting to see if we can take this new style into the early season.

Players to impress

Oliver. Didn't miss a target and had Pendelberry type poise. Baulked, feinted switched hands then always hit his target by hand or foot. Was a joy to watch.

Howes. Had half a season last year before getting injured and struggling to get back in the side. Has had a very good pre-season as a distributor off the backline. May is confident using him and some of his passes, not all, were lazer like 40+ metre bullets. He'll make mistakes but has a touch of class.

Langdon. As everyone has already said he looks terrific, especially for a first year player. Reads the play well and knew when to drop into the forward 50 and received two lovely passes in space. Both kicks were 40 odd metres out and sailed through. He should be a top 5 rising star but given our love affair with the media he'd have to be an absolute stand out to win the rising star, and then he still probably won't. But he's ours and a great get.

X or Lindsey. Saw his class in the sim and he will have elite disposal and vision but is severely underdone. As a poster mentioned in the running he blew up badly and you could see his lack of body strength. He should be handled well in his first year I think and maybe only play 15 games or so whether in the ones or twos. I think he will have real trouble running out a full AFL game. I might be wrong but he can't be a Windsor mark 2.

Turner

Love the look of this guy. As do many. I think he will have a break-out year this year, well I hope so anyway. He is getting taller and stronger and was the best most classy forward out there apart from Fritsch who chimed in for a couple of classy left footers.

Laurie. This is the first pre-season where I reckon he might make it. He is obviously back-up to Viney and it looks like Langdon is now ahead of him but he has grown up now and was beating Viney a couple of times. Is a good accumulator and should rack up possessions at VFL level while he waits his turn.

Downer

JVR. Didn't enjoy the fast pace of the sim at all. His one wood is getting out the back and taking a speccy with a pack mark. He will get plenty of that when the games start but pattern running and leading he is like a chook with his head cut off. Defended well but had very little connection to the myriad of ball users kicking inside 50. He is an undoubted talent but he still looks like he needs a lot more coaching. Hopefully Chapman can get him going. Just my opinion, by the way.

Finally I think we have the best squad in a number of years. I think depth is good and we look a balanced and fit squad. We look to be training with good purpose and I'm looking forward with hope to the new season

Awesome report

Any thoughts on Aidan Johnson or Jeffo from the session?

Posted
36 minutes ago, deespicable me said:

Players to impress

Turner

Downer

langford and chaplin, i assume, in lieu of langdon and chapman!

very encouraging, particular the howes and turner comments as they're the sort of players we need to be assuming regular key roles at either end

Posted
6 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

If they're showing a random West Coast V Richmond match sim in Perth on a Monday morning on Fox Footy/Kayo (which they are according to the Foxtel TV guide) then I'm confident our game against North will also be telecast.

I believe Fox Footy/Kayo are covering all matches with their commentary teams instead of takin 7's so they'll need the practice.

Posted
2 hours ago, deespicable me said:

Thanks for your comprehensive report. Howes got shown up when he was turned inside out by Harley Reid in that horrible loss in Perth. He wasn't the only one BTW

My recollection is that he was dropped after that match and when he did make it back in the side looked mostly nervous.

Did he look like he was playing with any confidence?

Posted
2 hours ago, deespicable me said:

One can only extrapolate so much from that. But that's fantastic given our squad won the grand final less than 3 and a half years ago!

(Honestly the fact that we are recent premiers has helped raise my hopes of success always (apart from the 2nd half of last year))

Posted
7 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

If they're showing a random West Coast V Richmond match sim in Perth on a Monday morning on Fox Footy/Kayo (which they are according to the Foxtel TV guide) then I'm confident our game against North will also be telecast.

Just wanted to mention that following our practice match vs North at Arden St. at 11am on Saturday February 22nd there’ll be another practice match - Casey vs North VFL beginning at 2pm. 

• Thanks 6
Posted
12 hours ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

There is one I'm unsure of who played 109 games for Melbourne and then 102 for Carlton.... fun little quiz for your Thursday

Earl Spalding?

Posted
On 05/02/2025 at 11:44, Roost it far said:

You call that a report??

Does his three year old getting 'reported" after running amok qualify as a report?

Posted
4 hours ago, adonski said:

Any thoughts on Aidan Johnson or Jeffo from the session?

I have liked Aiden Johnson as a recruit. He can be a role player for us. What role and where on the ground I'm not sure. I didn't see him much in the sim but I haven't got used to how he looks so not so sure how he went.

Jeffo. I purposely didn't comment on Jeffo because at this stage I'm not too positive on him. But in his defence it is still a small sample. I think he may be a frustrating footballer for us for a number of years as we see signs that get us excited only for him to have a no impact game the next week. I don't even know if he'll start in the Casey or the AFL side.

Posted
8 hours ago, rjay said:

A couple of average KPF's there 'stinga'...surely you could have found some better examples.

I took that as meaning he wanted to bring one of them back from retirement for Jeffo Rjay!

Posted
23 minutes ago, deespicable me said:

I have liked Aiden Johnson as a recruit. He can be a role player for us. What role and where on the ground I'm not sure. I didn't see him much in the sim but I haven't got used to how he looks so not so sure how he went.

Jeffo. I purposely didn't comment on Jeffo because at this stage I'm not too positive on him. But in his defence it is still a small sample. I think he may be a frustrating footballer for us for a number of years as we see signs that get us excited only for him to have a no impact game the next week. I don't even know if he'll start in the Casey or the AFL side.

After reading this you're another D'lander i've crossed off my 'could be Chris from Camberwell' shortlist DM

Posted
2 hours ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

Yep that was the one. Someone mentioned it earlier today

Colin Garland ? Played 141 games ..is back in Tassie.. not sure if he has children but would be in the demographic?

Posted
12 hours ago, monoccular said:

Earl Spalding?

12 hours ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

Yep that was the one. Someone mentioned it earlier today

9 hours ago, Deestar9 said:

Colin Garland ? Played 141 games ..is back in Tassie.. not sure if he has children but would be in the demographic?

All nope. Someone has already mentioned the player but I can’t remember who it was. This stupid sworn to secrecy thing is annoying. Come on @Demonstone, you’ll work out who it is. 👍🏽

Posted
18 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

All nope. Someone has already mentioned the player but I can’t remember who it was. This stupid sworn to secrecy thing is annoying. Come on @Demonstone, you’ll work out who it is. 👍🏽

My answer was relating to players to play over 100 games with Calrton and Melbourne.

Ive narrowed down the FS player to two players but wont mention them 😜. He isn’t one of the players to have played over 100 with another club

Posted (edited)
15 minutes ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

My answer was relating to players to play over 100 games with Calrton and Melbourne.

Ive narrowed down the FS player to two players but wont mention them 😜. He isn’t one of the players to have played over 100 with another club

Played 30-odd with second Club.

second club not Carlton 

Edited by Ghostwriter
Posted
20 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Played 30-odd with second Club.

second club not Carlton 

Yes, sorry I was referring to a different discussion we had about players eligible for two clubs 

Posted
8 minutes ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

Yes, sorry I was referring to a different discussion we had about players eligible for two clubs 

Oh ok. Sorry for confusing things. 😊