Bring-Back-Powell 15,540 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 47 minutes ago, dice said: Or Sunday 23rd? Do we know what time the match sim vs norf is on? North head over to WA to play West Coast on Saturday 1 March. Therefore I’m inferring that we play North on the Saturday 22 Feb so North avoid a 6 day trip the following week. Plus Fox Sports suggested it’s 11am on Saturday 22 Feb, but nothings confirmed. I’m assuming both clubs don’t want a heck of a lot of fans in attendance hence the lack of notice. 2 1 Quote
Harvey Wallbanger 1,395 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 1 hour ago, dice said: Or Sunday 23rd? Do we know what time the match sim vs norf is on? Apparently 11 am on Saturday 23rd - four quarters, but nothing officially yet from the Club.... 5 Quote
Harvey Wallbanger 1,395 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 1 hour ago, Sydee said: Jed Adam’s was a long way off the pace last year and I haven’t heard too many people attending training suggest he is knocking the door down to get an AFL debut anytime soon If he was owning Jeffo then what does this suggest about Jeffo and how he is progressing - if he’s being easily beaten by Adam’s I have doubts that he can compete at AFL level Hopefully they are both looking much better In my view Adams looks better this year - hard to judge by how much until we hit the serious stuff..... 5 1 Quote
demon3165 2,865 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 1 hour ago, adonski said: First time I've ever seen someone knock Jeffo's skills! The intensity is the one for me, Schache had skills but lack of intensity at the ball and pack but the track watchers have seen more than I have. 3 Quote
Ghostwriter 5,442 Posted February 5 Author Posted February 5 3 hours ago, Nascent said: This mystery F/S or academy player has me intrigued. First thought was perhaps Kynans younger brother Ryder might be getting a tour. Wouldn't have thought there would be need for secrecy though. I thought it was Ryder Brown too. Had myself convinced he had a similar gait to Pup and the same body-type: long body, short legs, low centre of gravity. So I asked around and it seemed no one was sure who he was. Then Richo told a couple of us he was a f/s and told us his name. After training I was introduced to him as a different first name but another Demonlander has worked out he is the f/s about whom Richo told us only Richo got his first name wrong. So yeah, he’s the son of a former player but for some reason Richo stressed we can’t post it anywhere. 3 4 1 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,851 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 3 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said: I thought it was Ryder Brown too. Had myself convinced he had a similar gait to Pup and the same body-type: long body, short legs, low centre of gravity. So I asked around and it seemed no one was sure who he was. Then Richo told a couple of us he was a f/s and told us his name. After training I was introduced to him as a different first name but another Demonlander has worked out he is the f/s about whom Richo told us only Richo got his first name wrong. So yeah, he’s the son of a former player but for some reason Richo stressed we can’t post it anywhere. so much teasing! 2 Quote
Roost it far 10,124 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 4 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said: I thought it was Ryder Brown too. Had myself convinced he had a similar gait to Pup and the same body-type: long body, short legs, low centre of gravity. So I asked around and it seemed no one was sure who he was. Then Richo told a couple of us he was a f/s and told us his name. After training I was introduced to him as a different first name but another Demonlander has worked out he is the f/s about whom Richo told us only Richo got his first name wrong. So yeah, he’s the son of a former player but for some reason Richo stressed we can’t post it anywhere. Did he look a likely future star? 1 Quote
picket fence 18,175 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 (edited) 6 hours ago, Ghostwriter said: Shane-o has a very slight hammy niggle. Nothing to worry about. He acknowledged he’s greatly improved fitness-wise and is very happy with where he’s at both physically and mentally. He admitted he wasn’t in a good place when he first came to us and said this was largely due to adapting to living in Melb taking a lot longer than expected, and being injured. I reckon the club’s patience will pay off, and will do so sooner rather than later 👊🏼❤️💙 Edited February 5 by picket fence 2 Quote
DistrACTION Jackson 10,713 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 Doesn’t Travis Johnstone have a FS coming through… 1 2 1 Quote
Demonstone 23,558 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 8 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said: So yeah, he’s the son of a former player but for some reason Richo stressed we can’t post it anywhere. Too late. The information has leaked that it was in fact George Gawn. He looks older than his tender years due to his inherited extraordinary height. 2 18 1 Quote
picket fence 18,175 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 Mc Adams with a "Slight" hamstring strain, said this before.... Giant Bust IMO Body not up to it! 1 1 Quote
Ghostwriter 5,442 Posted February 5 Author Posted February 5 Just now, Roost it far said: Did he look a likely future star? The poor bugger was a deer in the headlights when the ball came near him. He’d only just met everyone at the beginning of the session, players and training staff alike. For the first 15 minutes or so he was kicking and handballing with Noah, just the two of them. Nek minnit he’s out there playing with the big boys and at times he seemed overwhelmed. He’s not tall and he’s of slight build. Goody said they’re just “seeing how he goes.” 4 Quote
Ghostwriter 5,442 Posted February 5 Author Posted February 5 2 minutes ago, picket fence said: Mc Adams with a "Slight" hamstring strain, said this before.... Giant Bust IMO Body not up to it! I can’t wait ‘til he proves you wrong. It will be sweet and believe me I’ll remind you regularly. Not sure I can chalk up as many mentions as you do when you have something to say but I’ll try my damndest. 6 2 1 Quote
Ghostwriter 5,442 Posted February 5 Author Posted February 5 (edited) 7 hours ago, Harvey Wallbanger said: Oh and Jed Adams got a huge group clap at one stage - we speculated that it may be a training award of some description? It may well be some sort of training award except it was at the beginning of the session, not the end. I was tasked by another track-watcher/Demonlander (he knows who he is 😁) with finding out what the adulation was for. I forgot about it and when I went to leave, Salo was the only person still there so I asked him. He said he didn’t know what it was all about coz he wasn’t paying attention coz he was still half asleep and if I found out could I please tell him 😅 Edited February 5 by Ghostwriter 1 12 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,290 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 11 minutes ago, picket fence said: Mc Adams with a "Slight" hamstring strain, said this before.... Giant Bust IMO Body not up to it! I was huge fan of this recruitment and really thought he'd bring some bite and edge to our forward line. His glimpses at Adelaide were impressive. Unfortunately when you're on the closer side of 30 years of age and have been dealing with soft tissue injuries at the back end of your career, history will suggest that it's going to be hard staying injury free. 5 years in the system and hasn't played a full season at AFL level so maybe just one of those cases where the body tends to struggle with the rigours of AFL footy. Hundreds of footballers go through this unfortunately. I still have faith he can have an impact some stage this year. 7 1 Quote
Dee Boys 934 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 2 hours ago, adonski said: First time I've ever seen someone knock Jeffo's skills! Not so much ball in hand stuff - he can definitely finish. More the body on body stuff that is so vital to becoming a good key forward at senior level. He gets outmarked, outbodied and out-thought far too often in contests and isn’t explosive enough to cause separation when leading at the footy. Dearly hoping to be proved wrong! 1 1 Quote
Dingo 1,183 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 7 hours ago, Go Ds said: He'd probably even get sunburnt opening the fridge door. Good on C Oliver for being so cautious. l have had 2 cancer type things removed from my head and face.Both ops required 11 stitches.l have had Max’s number twice. And scars. 5 Quote
Cranky Franky 2,270 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 1 hour ago, picket fence said: Mc Adams with a "Slight" hamstring strain, said this before.... Giant Bust IMO Body not up to it! 2nd year on the list, a pretty straighforward surname & you still can't get it right. 1 2 2 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,290 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 39 minutes ago, Dee Boys said: Not so much ball in hand stuff - he can definitely finish. More the body on body stuff that is so vital to becoming a good key forward at senior level. He gets outmarked, outbodied and out-thought far too often in contests and isn’t explosive enough to cause separation when leading at the footy. Dearly hoping to be proved wrong! Thanks DB How often do you get down to training? Is this observations based off one session or a few that you have attended. 1 Quote
george_on_the_outer 7,873 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 1 hour ago, Dee Boys said: Not so much ball in hand stuff - he can definitely finish. More the body on body stuff that is so vital to becoming a good key forward at senior level. He gets outmarked, outbodied and out-thought far too often in contests and isn’t explosive enough to cause separation when leading at the footy. Dearly hoping to be proved wrong! For me, he has to learn to jump. Haven’t seen it last season, and still no evidence of it so far at training this year. Weid had the same problem. These days as a forward you don’t get the ball straight to your chest too often. So you need to be able to compete aerially, not with the feet on the ground. JVR is the gold standard. 4 Quote
Sydee 4,684 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 1 hour ago, picket fence said: Mc Adams with a "Slight" hamstring strain, said this before.... Giant Bust IMO Body not up to it! He has proven to be up to AFL level at times albeit injuries have significantly reduced his games played - bad luck or vulnerable body who knows Its quite bizarre that you sing the praises of a player that hasn’t played a single game and still doesn’t really look like they will fire a shot anytime soon, if at all, but openly criticise someone that has some runs on the board I hope they can both make it but if I was betting I’d put my money on McAdam to make a bigger contribution to the senior team than Jeffo in 2025 1 1 Quote
picket fence 18,175 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 (edited) 1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said: Thanks DB How often do you get down to training? Is this observations based off one session or a few that you have attended. Dazz speaking about Mc Adam..his magic moments are SILK.. BUT too few and far between, and given his um seemingly perrenial injury moments tend to push the ledger to the negative! Edited February 5 by picket fence 2 Quote
Dee Boys 934 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said: Thanks DB How often do you get down to training? Is this observations based off one session or a few that you have attended. Try to get down most Wednesdays when they’re at Gosch’s mate but as I said I’ve generally got one eye on my little mate so I’m definitely not watching every single little detail forensically. 2 1 1 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,290 Posted February 5 Posted February 5 Jeffo is a big concern for me imo. To hear that he still lacks the required intensity even at training is half the reason why I was never a fan of this pick from the very start. Jason Taylor and Goodwins number one characteristic when targeting a young player through the draft is competitiveness and drive to succeed. As much as I've actually been a staunch supporter of Jefferson at VFL level, I'm just not sure whether it'll stand up much at the elite level. I'm certainly in the belief that young players do take time, but if they haven't got the intensity for AFL level then you're simply not going to make a successful career out at AFL level. Footy is a very brutal and ruthless game. 6 1 1 Quote