Posted

My thorough dislike of them aside, Reid should stay at the Eagles and make his mark there. Repay the faith they showed in him and the time they invested developing him.

He can return later and finish his career here. Live the rest of his post playing career here.  Leaving to return home after 3 years is just soft.

Posted
11 minutes ago, BDA said:

My thorough dislike of them aside, Reid should stay at the Eagles and make his mark there. Repay the faith they showed in him and the time they invested developing him.

He can return later and finish his career here. Live the rest of his post playing career here.  Leaving to return home after 3 years is just soft.

I don’t really understand this mind set; ‘the faith’ was to pick him and not take our 3 firsts offer (Windsor, Tholstrup, and Langford). Maybe they should have taken that offer? If he is destined to leave early.

These kids have no one to repay; whether they are with ND1 or with the last pick of the first round of the rookie draft (Judd McVee). It’s up to the clubs to create an environment that they want to stay, develop and play in.

Posted
9 hours ago, Ted Lasso said:

If Petracca did decide he wanted out at years end, you couldn't be more certain of anything other than the MFC will be making an enormous offer to Harley Reid and sending the picks from a Trac trade to the WCE to get it done. 

If Warner wanted out of Sydney to go to WC you’d think Sydney would be a chance to throw a big offer at Petracca. 

Posted
On 04/12/2024 at 21:20, Demon Disciple said:

Warner is overrated for mine. Much like Heeney and even Gulden. I’d reckon most of the Swans team are overrated, particularly given their output the past 2 GF’s.

Far too simplistic view re theGrand finals. BTW he was judged their best vs Cats almost the only one who stood up. 
I reckon if you wanted to not like that In our camp others might say Kossie has underperformed IMO in our 21 to 23 Finals in comparison to home and away games. 

But ha has  been our 2nd goal kicker in 3:4 seasons. So it is so harsh sometimes. 

Posted
On 05/12/2024 at 08:27, Diamond_Jim said:

Reid is signed until the end of 2026 which is when Tassie gets picks (I think)

Yes I understand that but if he’s going to go, they would cash in for the 2025 draft as opposed to a compromised draft

Posted
On 05/12/2024 at 09:08, Witches Hat said:

Swans have known for quite some time that both Warner and Logan McDonald want to go home. Apparently with Warner it's a matter of when. 

That’s not correct with regard to McDonald, he was open to a move to Victoria and not just back to Perth.

Posted
17 hours ago, Colm said:

If Warner wanted out of Sydney to go to WC you’d think Sydney would be a chance to throw a big offer at Petracca. 

Imagine what play for Sydney would do for ones Brand 😍

Posted (edited)
On 05/12/2024 at 03:39, Ted Lasso said:

If Petracca did decide he wanted out at years end, you couldn't be more certain of anything other than the MFC will be making an enormous offer to Harley Reid and sending the picks from a Trac trade to the WCE to get it done. 

Which picks? We have no first, nor do Carlton. He'll be 30. Are the Pies going to give up any more than their first for him? Not if it's a top 10 pick.  As for futures, I can't see the Eagles that pleased with those! 

I wouldn't be expecting much of a haul for Tracc 

Edited by John Demonic

Posted
11 hours ago, John Demonic said:

Which picks? We have no first, nor do Carlton. He'll be 30. Are the Pies going to give up any more than their first for him? Not if it's a top 10 pick.  As for futures, I can't see the Eagles that pleased with those! 

Collingwood don't have an F1st they traded it for Houston.

Posted
53 minutes ago, old55 said:

Collingwood don't have an F1st they traded it for Houston.

They can trade their 2027 1st rounder next year I think. In any case, I highly doubt they will be able to satisfy us in a trade

Posted
21 minutes ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

They can trade their 2027 1st rounder next year I think. In any case, I highly doubt they will be able to satisfy us in a trade

They can trade 2026 and 2027 1st rounders, but they will likely be in Tasmania compromised drafts.

Posted
On 06/12/2024 at 21:44, John Demonic said:

He's a contracted top 5 player in the comp. if they want him, they will have to pay our asking price, or he'll stay a demon, end of story. Why on earth would we accept less than the typical asking price of a super star player? It would clearly be the clubs preference to keep him, that's why we signed him to a long term deal, to grant leverage in exactly this scenario. 

Posted
20 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

He's a contracted top 5 player in the comp. if they want him, they will have to pay our asking price, or he'll stay a demon, end of story. Why on earth would we accept less than the typical asking price of a super star player? It would clearly be the clubs preference to keep him, that's why we signed him to a long term deal, to grant leverage in exactly this scenario. 

Especially if he has a strong year. No signs of decline, if a contender came for him with the express view he could get them over the line for a premiership, what’s the value in draft picks?

Posted
14 minutes ago, ChaserJ said:

Especially if he has a strong year. No signs of decline, if a contender came for him with the express view he could get them over the line for a premiership, what’s the value in draft picks?

Assuming they are going to bring in the rule we can trade 2 years in advance for draft picks, probably a 25,26 and 27 first rounder for a fully fit and in form Petracca. 

we'd probably be asking for players, or 25/26 draft assets though to mitigate any impact caused by Tassie.

Posted
On 06/12/2024 at 20:44, John Demonic said:

Just as well John you won’t be negotiating any Demon players futures in the next years judging in your Petracca comments.

Trac could play till 35/36 as he is so fit and strong he could do a lethal (Matthew’s) and play up forward for his last 2/3 years getting 40/50 plus goals a year, which would require a Club at least a pick 1 plus a 2 rounder or a future high draft pick to be recruited. 

Posted (edited)

Essendon already have 4 first round draft picks to offer, including their 2 future 1sts. Gold Coast have 5!

Don’t think clubs will not come offering for players who have indicated they wanted out previously.

Edited by george_on_the_outer
Posted
55 minutes ago, george_on_the_outer said:

Essendon already have 4 first round draft picks to offer, including their 2 future 1sts. Gold Coast have 5!

Don’t think clubs will not come offering for players who have indicated they wanted out previously.

Sure.

But in tracc's case it's less about whether there are clubs out there with the capital to trade and more about what clubs tracc would be prepared to go to - and if those ubs have the capital.

I'd be guessing he would only be interested in going to a big Victorian club in the Premiership window.

The bombers might be, but given they haven't won a final in donkeys years, I wouldn’t bet on it.

That leaves the pies, hawks, blues and I guess perhaps also the cats.

Let's say all four clubs do have the draft capital.

The next question is do they want to use it on a 30 year old, albeit a total A grader, who may only have three to four more years of elite footy in him.

Perhaps half those clubs do (though i'd not be suprisef if none do).

That would leave two clubs in the frame for trading in tracc - and that's assuming they have the salary cap space to match what we are paying him.

The likelihood of tracc going anywhere next season is exceedingly small in my opinion.

But if a trade does happen we will do very well out of it given his current contract.

Really, we are in a total win win position.

He leaves we future proof the club with mutiple draft picks over mutiple years.

He stays and we continue to have a superstar on our list.

Posted (edited)
10 hours ago, 58er said:

Just as well John you won’t be negotiating any Demon players futures in the next years judging in your Petracca comments.

Trac could play till 35/36 as he is so fit and strong he could do a lethal (Matthew’s) and play up forward for his last 2/3 years getting 40/50 plus goals a year, which would require a Club at least a pick 1 plus a 2 rounder or a future high draft pick to be recruited. 

The point I'm responding to was to gain the picks to offer West Coast for Harley Reid. They've already turned us down for our offer last year, now we're going to only have a future pick and what we get for Tracc if he wanted out, and wanted out to a big Vic club that won't have that much either.

I'm not denying Tracc is worth plenty and will offer a lot. But I don't see a big haul for him that we can offer to WCE and satisfy them!

Will Hawthorn give up a top 10 pick or two picks in the teens? Would Essendon give a top 10 pick? Depends how they go next year. It's Debatable. I can't see a very high pick AND a 2nd though ie no big haul Carlton and Coll don't have 1sts.

Finishing that low next year and having a top 5 or 10 only accelerates the anxiety about getting in young kids for the future. 

Slim pickings 

Edited by John Demonic
Posted
On 05/12/2024 at 18:01, binman said:

Thanks. 

You're right - that is an interesting article.

I really like Peter Ryan, one of the best sport journos I reckon.

And it's a good article.

But you have to think part of the deal with the Eagles to get the interviews was not being critical of Reid 

I say that in the context of giving him a complete pass on not coming back in tip top shape, in fact coming back in what sounds like pretty average shape.

We've just had the draft, where a huge premium is placed on young  men being uber professional and driven.

Sure, go home, recharge your batteries and have a good break. But surely minimum expectation foe all players is they do the required work to start the preseason in good shape.

I doubt a single demonland poster would give Windsor a pass if he came back in poor shape.

And I thought this part of the article was strange:

'The Eagles plan to treat him like any other player – as Reid wants to be treated – but that is not always simple, as some of the issues he might be forced to deal with are different to the average player’s.'

By strange I mean, it seems as if the Eagles are not treating him like any other player as returning in good shape is a mimimum expectation of all players and Ryan doesn't suggest he has received any consequences (which is not to say he hasn't).

Any mention of horrible club culture, or is that “impartial balanced journalism” reserved for clubs much dearer to our hearts?

Posted
On 05/12/2024 at 18:01, binman said:

Thanks. 

You're right - that is an interesting article.

I really like Peter Ryan, one of the best sport journos I reckon.

And it's a good article.

But you have to think part of the deal with the Eagles to get the interviews was not being critical of Reid 

I say that in the context of giving him a complete pass on not coming back in tip top shape, in fact coming back in what sounds like pretty average shape.

We've just had the draft, where a huge premium is placed on young  men being uber professional and driven.

Sure, go home, recharge your batteries and have a good break. But surely minimum expectation foe all players is they do the required work to start the preseason in good shape.

I doubt a single demonland poster would give Windsor a pass if he came back in poor shape.

And I thought this part of the article was strange:

'The Eagles plan to treat him like any other player – as Reid wants to be treated – but that is not always simple, as some of the issues he might be forced to deal with are different to the average player’s.'

By strange I mean, it seems as if the Eagles are not treating him like any other player as returning in good shape is a mimimum expectation of all players and Ryan doesn't suggest he has received any consequences (which is not to say he hasn't).

Wouldn't have  to have been a genius to see a big head that Reid obviously had acquired well before being with WC, as they have no mentoring there on or off the ground, and it showed. 

The question is if the little sook wants to go home he needs the acquired arm of, dare i say one of the brothers.

Posted

And while i'm on one of these general subjects, why on earth would a player want to leave any club and want to go to any club where someone tried to deliberately  put him out of business. Instruction or not.