Posted
1 hour ago, Roost it far said:

I absolutely think he has the hunger. Whilst you might not get a highlights reel and 4 goals every week you do get a 4 quarter effort. His harassing, tackling and chasing efforts are never questioned. Undisciplined? Maybe but his last report was a clown show. Since when is a player liable for another player ducking/diving into a contest at the last minute?

When he chooses to bump

Posted
31 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

Freo are very likely a top 6 side so they're ability to get us good picks is severely limited.

especially future picks upto 2 years out which have to be heavily discounted due to uncertainty

Posted
1 hour ago, GS_1905 said:

As pure small forwards: I’d rate Charlie Cameron and Bobbie Hill ahead of Kozzy. 

It might be how you rate them, but you're clearly wrong.

With regards to Hill, Pickett has him covered for disposals, goals, clearances, inside 50s, tackles, tackles inside 50, metres gained, score involvements and just about every other relevant statistic.

Posted
3 hours ago, jnrmac said:

Maybe. There have been players we've lost for a variety of reasons like Hogan or Bedford, Howe, Grundy, and LJ as you say.

It just seems to me that our leading players seem to be targeted more than any other club bar say GWS and Gold Coast.

Is it because they think our leaders are gettable? I know some other clubs think Melbourne has a weak culture and therefore players might be vulnerable to leaving.

You're right in that we haven't lost too many of our 'guns' but it does seem they are vulnerable every year....

It is interesting

But from 2018-2022 when we were coming up and winning, there was almost no talk of anyone leaving

It's like the media expect us to go back to 'good ole Melbourne' and start losing all good players we have and it's easy kicking us

Posted
1 hour ago, Roost it far said:

Freo are very likely a top 6 side so their ability to get us good picks is severely limited.

If you are looking for top 5 picks in the short term then you’ll probably be disappointed.

We pioneered future-pick trading some years back and I have some faith Tim and gang will be working through how we can be the first to master further-into-the-future pick trading (with Freo to be our first victim).

Posted
6 hours ago, Roost it far said:

A contracted Pickett is worth 2 top 10 picks is he not? WC can conjure that but whether they'd want to spend it all on Koz is highly doubtful. Freo don't have the capital to make the deal so they'll have to get creative. 2 top 10 picks is very creative in a landscape that is pre Tassie and will see clubs hold high draft picks. Personally I just can't see it happening until his contract expires. By then he may well have changed his mind.

Personally I can't see any world where a club would be prepared to pay two first rounders for Pickett, and if we did get that I would take that in heart beat. Like a previous poster suggested, I think that it is completely overs for him given his output and you'd still be picking him largely on potential. If we're using a like-for-like trade, I would think that the Daniel Rioli trade is somewhat of the benchmark (where the Tigers received Pick 6 and 23). 

The Bolton deal as an 'equivalent' trade is interesting, noting that Richmond sent Bolton and Pick 14 to Freo in exchange for 10, 11 and 18. Noting we currently don't have a first round pick this year, I suspect in a potential trade we'd be looking far more at something in the realms of the former example.

• Thumb Down 1

Posted
1 minute ago, BLWNBA said:

Personally I can't see any world where a club would be prepared to pay two first rounders for Pickett, and if we did get that I would take that in heart beat. Like a previous poster suggested, I think that it is completely overs for him given his output and you'd still be picking him largely on potential. If we're using a like-for-like trade, I would think that the Daniel Rioli trade is somewhat of the benchmark (where the Tigers received Pick 6 and 23). 

The Bolton deal as an 'equivalent' trade is interesting, noting that Richmond sent Bolton and Pick 14 to Freo in exchange for 10, 11 and 18. Noting we currently don't have a first round pick this year, I suspect in a potential trade we'd be looking far more at something in the realms of the former example.

Fair call, my main point being that he's contracted and thus it'll take more to pry him free than what it would if he was uncontracted.

Posted

Post this year, Kossie will be worth much more than 11+14!!! It largely depends on what clubs can GIVE & as a result Freo would struggle to get anywhere near what we'd be asking bringing WC into it but again I think its a matter of Kos telling relatives he'd love to come home when in reality he is happy!

Posted
Just now, Roost it far said:

Fair call, my main point being that he's contracted and thus it'll take more to pry him free than what it would if he was uncontracted.

Yep, don't disagree on that, mate. It's a fair point for sure. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Tolstoys Nudge said:

Post this year, Kossie will be worth much more than 11+14!!! It largely depends on what clubs can GIVE & as a result Freo would struggle to get anywhere near what we'd be asking bringing WC into it but again I think its a matter of Kos telling relatives he'd love to come home when in reality he is happy!

Historically, I think we've been a reasonable club to deal. I'm not sure we'd be going down the Peter Bell / Adrian Dodoro route and trying to 'win' the trade, as opposed to positioning ourselves for fair and reasonable compensation. 

Though as I mentioned earlier, for me it really comes down to what a club would be willing to pay for Kossie's potential - and if they think they'll be able to unlock it. 

Posted
4 hours ago, 58er said:

We are already rebuilding on the run in case you missed it. Just hoping that our existing stars will be joined by another group of A/B graders from our dozen youngsters like Windsor Langford Lindsay McVee and Rivers. 

You seriously have a problem...no need to be obnoxious in your posts.

Yes, I do realise we have been regenerating the list.

However, if we fail this year (which by the way I doubt we will unless something unforeseen happens) we would probably have to look at a full on rebuild before the Tasmanian team enters the competition.

Posted
23 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

One top 10 and then a late first rounder IMO.

He's still inconsistent (eg- near BOG against Port and then 4 possession the following week V GC) and has never been nominated in the All Australian 40 squad. He could easily get to that level though.  

I think thats way off. He's kicked 40 g twice before he was 21. Cyril only did it twice in 11 seasons

Posted (edited)

I hate this discussion about what we could trade him for. He is a Melbourne player, a great player and only going to get better. He is fantastic to watch and a fan favourite.  There is NOTHING that I would trade him for.

The speculation is largely based on him liking certain Freo posts. I don't do social media, but I wonder what other posts he likes. Eg, does he "like" all posts by First Nations players, whatever their team? Because if he does, that takes a lot of the sting out of the discussion! 

Edited by Ollie fan
Posted (edited)

Lol, Kozzy is the best small forward in the comp, and if he spends an extended period in the midfield this year, he could become an A+er.

Edited by Adam The God
Posted
2 hours ago, Ollie fan said:

I hate this discussion about what we could trade him for. He is a Melbourne player, a great player and only going to get better. He is fantastic to watch and a fan favourite.  There is NOTHING that I would trade him for.

The speculation is largely based on him liking certain Freo posts. I don't do social media, but I wonder what other posts he likes. Eg, does he "like" all posts by First Nations players, whatever their team? Because if he does, that takes a lot of the sting out of the discussion! 

No.

Posted (edited)

Hypothetical: Andrew Brayshaw (out of contract end of this year)  wants to return to Vic - would we take a direct swap for Kossie? My assumption is Freo get band 1 comp for Brayshaw if he left which is probably around pick 10-15.

(I think this is an unlikely fwiw)

Edited by The Jackson FIX

Posted
21 minutes ago, The Jackson FIX said:

Hypothetical: Andrew Brayshaw (out of contract end of this year)  wants to return to Vic - would we take a direct swap for Kossie? My assumption is Freo get band 1 comp for Brayshaw if he left which is probably around pick 10-15.

He ain't leaving Freo.

His brother Hamish is fairly confident of this.

Screenshot_20250130_110349_Chrome.thumb.jpg.ff451b0d1c6b8f8d392c8d604c87f0f0.jpg

Posted
15 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Unfortunately not

At best a top 10 and a late first or early second

Yeah a proven gun with 2 x 40g yrs (under 21 years of age) and we'd give him away for 2 speculative picks.

Laughable. 

Posted
On 28/01/2025 at 12:11, GS_1905 said:

As pure small forwards: I’d rate Charlie Cameron and Bobbie Hill ahead of Kozzy. 

As a hybrid forward/midfielder: Shai Bolton is a level beyond.

You can argue game plan and team roles have a say in the matter and that’s probably right. But ask yourself what you - as MFC supporter - would be prepared to part with to take any of the players I mention above. I suspect it’s about what I have suggested for Kozzy if not less. 

Also ask yourself what opposition supporters see when they think of Kozzy? Undisciplined , goes missing but has moments of brilliance that remind you of Cyril. But are left wondering why it’s not on display more often. Does he have the hunger and the will to get the best out of himself?

Bobbie Hill is not at Kozzy level.

His best season goals wise is 33. Kozzy has 4 out of 5 season kicked more than Hills best season.  Dont get sucked into the Pies hype or his one good quarter on GF day. Also if you think Kozzy goes missing have a better look at Hills stats.

Posted
3 hours ago, The Jackson FIX said:

Return of the Prodigal Son, LJ - then yes. 

Posted
On 28/01/2025 at 15:06, BLWNBA said:

I want him to stay, and I reckon he does, for all the reasons put for that herein.

Another take on the trade value, however:

In the Bolton trade, Freo got player and 1161 draft points. Richmond got 3709-1161=2548 draft points. As a single pick, that's somewhere between 2nd and 3rd pick in the draft. As two picks in the first round it is, for example, 8th and 18th picks or 12th and 13th picks.