Kate Roffey

7 hours ago, Canplay said:

I have heard this morning that a lot of player frustration sits around having the worst training conditions in the league -  seeing what all other clubs have (now including Bulldogs and North Melb) -  we are miles behind high performance and players think Roffey / Pert have failed and dragged players along with promises -  they hate driving out to Casey.

Can't be location surely. On most of their wages you go where the work is ... and how hard is it to buy or rent a place among the beach half way to Casey. Not all places along there have Brighton prices

17 hours ago, Dee Viney Intervention said:

Could have, sorry should have been more vocal over the Maynard / Brayshaw incident. Was pathetic from the whole club.

Only one person in the whole club flew the flag over this. Thank you Jack Viney. 

Thought Simon was also pretty out there expressing his feelings post match etc.

To have just crickets after that from our top brass while we were also copping it from all and sundry in the AFL's "Just a Footy Act from poor Bruzz" cheer leading media circus was a poor effort imv.

Having met her on a few occasions now i love Kate's passion and personality but her and Perty really went missing on this one for mine.

Same with the Caulfield attempt.   I think we had a brief update about three months ago or so but nothing since? 

Maybe there's been little or no progress since but that doesn't mean they couldn't send out a brief update.

If i was rating them out of 10 since the GF i reckon Pert's sitting on about 6 and Kate about a 4.

For comparison PJ a 9.5!

Love to see him back at the club.

Edited by Demon Dynasty

12 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

You will never find a training location that will suit absolutely everyone, unless you are Geelong and all your players live in the same concentrated area.

Caulfield is not going to be any closer for Max Gawn, or Caleb Windsor (Lysterfield to Casey would be way quicker than Lysterfield to Caulfield),

While you're correct in that you can't please everyone, Caulfield RC is roughly 25 minutes from Lysterfield,  Casey approx 29.

Probably the same once you throw extra burb traffic in to Caulfield during the mad rush hours.

I live approx 15 minutes east from the CBD which is a fair way but still dread going out to the boggy marsh of Casey.  35 minutes (or more in traffic) vs approx 15 to Caulfield RC.  40 minutes saved is a fair wack.

Even coming from Bayside where many players live, it's still approx 45 minutes to Casey vs approx 12 or so to Caulfield.  That's an hour saved each time plus they have some eateries to go to right next door.

Whichever way you look at it, Casey vs Caulfield RC most likely involves significant extra travel time for many players, especially once you factor in the return trip. 

Someone living Bayside close to Frankston / Seaford is about the only time you might save about 10 min going to Casey vs Caulfield.

Edited by Demon Dynasty

20 hours ago, waynewussell said:

What other Club Presidents have you heard from lately?

John Olsen

Andrew Wellington?

Luke Sayers?

Mark Korda?

David Barham?

Kylie Watson-Wheeler?

Grant McCabe?

Andy Gowers?

I could go on... and on... and on...

Sayers was fronting up a lot when Voss was under serious heat last year. He backed him in and they went on to make a prelim.

12 hours ago, Little Goffy said:

Well, it's now pretty much confirmed that someone in the club is leaking the exact conversations which are most important to have in private if we are to create any real reform momentum, all in an effort to undermine the leadership figures in preparation for a coup. Better to be lords over ruins, for some.

I wish someone would shine a light on these rats, and follow up with a blowtorch.

And for those who revel in turning everything that ever goes wrong into an excuse to rage at the club and to make effigies of our leaders, time to decide if you want to turn our club into a revolving door of shabby ego politics, or to make a more constructive effort.

It can often be just one player. I know for 99% certainty that Morris was getting his Bulldogs intel (that caused the Bevo blowup) from a certain key defender who he played club cricket with.

19 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

There y’all go… an email from Pert. Right on cue. 😁

The email was claptrap said nothing if you are happy with that great!

3 hours ago, Demon Dynasty said:

While you're correct in that you can't please everyone, Caulfield RC is roughly 25 minutes from Lysterfield,  Casey approx 29.

Probably the same once you throw extra burb traffic in to Caulfield during the mad rush hours.

I live approx 15 minutes east from the CBD which is a fair way but still dread going out to the boggy marsh of Casey.  35 minutes (or more in traffic) vs approx 15 to Caulfield RC.  40 minutes saved is a fair wack.

Even coming from Bayside where many players live, it's still approx 45 minutes to Casey vs approx 12 or so to Caulfield.  That's an hour saved each time plus they have some eateries to go to right next door.

Whichever way you look at it, Casey vs Caulfield RC most likely involves significant extra travel time for many players, especially once you factor in the return trip. 

Someone living Bayside close to Frankston / Seaford is about the only time you might save about 10 min going to Casey vs Caulfield.

To be clear I am very much pro moving to Caulfield and understand the need to establish a good home base. There is no argument here. 

My point still stands, that you’ll never be somewhere that pleases or suits everyone (a 5 minute traffic delay on the Monash is a dream, I am on that bloody freeway almost daily and it never takes me less than 45 minutes to get to Caulfield and I’m not that far from Lysterfield!).

I know two Essendon players who live in Caulfield and drive to windy hill each day and the drive is awful. Likewise if you look at where the Hawks are building their new home, it’s also in the middle of nowhere. Closest thing to it is the DFO, which isn’t exactly a cool hangout for young players. 

I understand why players don’t like Casey, I just don’t think it’s the travel that puts them off, as much as that it’s not surrounded by much else.

Doubt the top paid players at the Dogs live in the western suburbs. I’m sure lots of them travel from inner or south east, which can be a terrible drive if you need to clear the tunnel. 

33 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

To be clear I am very much pro moving to Caulfield and understand the need to establish a good home base. There is no argument here. 

My point still stands, that you’ll never be somewhere that pleases or suits everyone (a 5 minute traffic delay on the Monash is a dream, I am on that bloody freeway almost daily and it never takes me less than 45 minutes to get to Caulfield and I’m not that far from Lysterfield!).

I know two Essendon players who live in Caulfield and drive to windy hill each day and the drive is awful. Likewise if you look at where the Hawks are building their new home, it’s also in the middle of nowhere. Closest thing to it is the DFO, which isn’t exactly a cool hangout for young players. 

I understand why players don’t like Casey, I just don’t think it’s the travel that puts them off, as much as that it’s not surrounded by much else.

Doubt the top paid players at the Dogs live in the western suburbs. I’m sure lots of them travel from inner or south east, which can be a terrible drive if you need to clear the tunnel. 

I get your drift Jaded and yes my numbers were based on over night with little traffic so accuracy not best.  Traffic can add 10 to 30 minutes etc.

Fact is that whenever you need to travel about 10kms or more in Melb these days it becomes a bit of a shiitefest and in many cases a nightmare unless it's between about 11am and 2pm ish.

Even then it can still turn sour 😄

Driving in Melb now is mostly annoying and stressful.  So many nuffies also

Edited by Demon Dynasty

19 minutes ago, Demon Dynasty said:

I get your deift Jaded and yes my numbers were based on over night with little traffic so accuracy not best.  Traffic can add 10 to 30 minutes etc.

Fact is that whenever you need to travel about 10kms or more in Melb these days it becomes a bit of a shiitefest and in many cases a nightmare unless it's between about 11am and 2pm ish.

100% 

Driving around Melbourne sucks. I live 11km from my office, and yesterday it took me 40 minutes to get there and another 40 minutes to get back, and it's not even close to the city!

6am to 12am is now peak hour 🙃

14 hours ago, Little Goffy said:

Well, it's now pretty much confirmed that someone in the club is leaking the exact conversations which are most important to have in private if we are to create any real reform momentum, all in an effort to undermine the leadership figures in preparation for a coup. Better to be lords over ruins, for some.

I wish someone would shine a light on these rats, and follow up with a blowtorch.

And for those who revel in turning everything that ever goes wrong into an excuse to rage at the club and to make effigies of our leaders, time to decide if you want to turn our club into a revolving door of shabby ego politics, or to make a more constructive effort.

Well said.

25 minutes ago, Demon Dynasty said:

I get your deift Jaded and yes my numbers were based on over night with little traffic so accuracy not best.  Traffic can add 10 to 30 minutes etc.

Driving in Melbourne stinks right now. I drive 7km every morning and it can take anywhere from 25 minutes to 45.

"Take PT then!"

Sure why not! 

What's that? You mean without a car you can't carry more than 10kg of stuff? No worries, I'll just leave the fabric samples/computer/gym gear/anything else bulky at home.

Also after an 9-10 hr day there's nothing better than adding another 30 mins on top of that faffing around waiting for buses/trains. When I'm on my death bed my biggest regret will be that I didn't spend enough time on my daily commute. 

2 minutes ago, layzie said:

Driving in Melbourne stinks right now. I drive 7km every morning and it can take anywhere from 25 minutes to 45.

"Take PT then!"

Sure why not! 

What's that? You mean without a car you can't carry more than 10kg of stuff? No worries, I'll just leave the fabric samples/computer/gym gear/anything else bulky at home.

Also after an 9-10 hr day there's nothing better than adding another 30 mins on top of that faffing around waiting for buses/trains. When I'm on my death bed my biggest regret will be that I didn't spend enough time on my daily commute. 

We should start a new thread on the pitfalls, potholes and joys of road travelling around Melb.

Sounds like you need a heavy duty electric bike L

1 minute ago, Demon Dynasty said:

We should start a new thread on the pitfalls, potholes and joys of road travelling around Melb.

Sounds like you need a heavy duty electric bike L

I've actually considered that DD! Heard people rave about them plus it would be pretty easy to get onto the bike track where I am. 

Sure is a big gap between those and the bloody scooters! 

On 13/08/2024 at 06:57, BDA said:

I just want her to deliver a home base. She's been on the board long enough now to have made more headway with this project. Thats her area of expertise and specialisation. If she can't deliver this then not sure what the point of her on the board is.

Kate is a gunner- gunner do this, gunner do that —- and basically done NOTHING..

Kate do something—GO- resign….

5 hours ago, Demon Dynasty said:

Thought Simon was also pretty out there expressing his feelings post match etc.

To have just crickets after that from our top brass while we were also copping it from all and sundry in the AFL's "Just a Footy Act from poor Bruzz" cheer leading media circus was a poor effort imv.

Having met her on a few occasions now i love Kate's passion and personality but her and Perty really went missing on this one for mine.

Same with the Caulfield attempt.   I think we had a brief update about three months ago or so but nothing since? 

Maybe there's been little or no progress since but that doesn't mean they couldn't send out a brief update.

If i was rating them out of 10 since the GF i reckon Pert's sitting on about 6 and Kate about a 4.

For comparison PJ a 9.5!

Love to see him back at the club.

The way we went silent on the Maynard incident at very high levels was incredibly disappointing.

From Gleeson’s “I’m concerned he’ll miss finals” comment, the victim blaming by Collingwood, allowing McGuire’s comments to go unchallenged, the lack of public statement at the highest levels - big let down.

someone made a comment earlier that they’d prefer the board/exec work behind the scenes - sure, but they can do both. Working behind the scenes isn’t helping the MFC achieve all that much

the AFL not having counter experts (biomechanics, sports movement etc) to me displayed incredible ineptitude or a lack of desire to properly prosecute the case - either way our club should have been decrying that prosecution very clearly

we’ve been the good corporate citizen for a long period now - moments like that demand stronger action

it has left a very bad taste in my mouth that episode 

• Clap 4

31 minutes ago, layzie said:

I've actually considered that DD! Heard people rave about them plus it would be pretty easy to get onto the bike track where I am. 

Sure is a big gap between those and the bloody scooters! 

If it works L why not!  I avoid driving now whenever possible.

13 minutes ago, Superunknown said:

The way we went silent on the Maynard incident at very high levels was incredibly disappointing.

From Gleeson’s “I’m concerned he’ll miss finals” comment, the victim blaming by Collingwood, allowing McGuire’s comments to go unchallenged, the lack of public statement at the highest levels - big let down.

someone made a comment earlier that they’d prefer the board/exec work behind the scenes - sure, but they can do both. Working behind the scenes isn’t helping the MFC achieve all that much

the AFL not having counter experts (biomechanics, sports movement etc) to me displayed incredible ineptitude or a lack of desire to properly prosecute the case - either way our club should have been decrying that prosecution very clearly

we’ve been the good corporate citizen for a long period now - moments like that demand stronger action

I believe that was me and I definitely see your point.

While I do respect the approach of not 'meddling' in issues that relate to the day to day football ops, I believe that the club needed to go hard at the AFL after that verdict. It did feel like we were walked on. 

Roosy warned Melbourne against getting Gary Pert into the club. 

Gary Pert and Kate Roffey are two of the worst things to ever happen to the football club and anyone who doesn’t agree with that has their head in the sand. 

41 minutes ago, Superunknown said:

Can't agree more SU.  I also felt ill with the lack of public fight on this.

The MFC to often takes the softly softly route.  Certainly didn't work on this occasion.  Need to be more proactive and aggressive where needed.

The Pies & the AFL, lead by their outsourced (tied) media circus, were all out to get their mate Bruzz into the prelim and a GF.  They got everything they wanted and more!  Job done.

Edited by Demon Dynasty

21 minutes ago, 12345_54321 said:

Roosy warned Melbourne against getting Gary Pert into the club. 

Gary Pert and Kate Roffey are two of the worst things to ever happen to the football club and anyone who doesn’t agree with that has their head in the sand. 

Let’s take each person one by one. Each are entitled to be judged as individuals. Not a couple. 

Perty gets a good tick All that he has said ( except the base and we know the progress on that is not our fault. )

The flag and 5 plus seasons of improvement and consolidation, our membership plus the financial situation never been near what we are in finances are pluses. 

Kate has seemed of the last 1/2/3 years to be accepting of our fall backwards on the field and is unabashedly a Goody supporter. 
This is now a true test for her and the FD plus coaches plus Board on how they handle the strategy of our present situation. 
Action and leadership is needed to stir the pot and revive our on field game plans and refresh the staleness in many on our list. 

On 13/08/2024 at 09:00, FearTheBeard said:

To sum her up, I was at the King's Birthday awards ceremony last year where she received an award. Everyone is very humble and happy to be there and dressed in black tie for the governor. She struts in, in a bright red suit like she was the best thing on the planet. I just reckon that says a lot about a person and who they actually are as a leader.

The Japanese have a great expression “Deru kugi wa utareru” that translates as “The nail that sticks out, gets hammered down”. It’s probably best to judge her on her actual ability.

2 minutes ago, hardtack said:

The Japanese have a great expression “Deru kugi wa utareru” that translates as “The nail that sticks out, gets hammered down”. It’s probably best to judge her on her actual ability.

Based on the last 2 years her ability is clearly lacking.

Just now, FearTheBeard said:

Based on the last 2 years her ability is clearly lacking.

Then that’s all that needs to be mentioned. Judging her on how she carries herself, is irrelevant.