Posted
47 minutes ago, Nascent said:

So who's next for the player "allegedly" wanting out of Melbourne? Back to Petracca?

Yeah. It'll be he's come back from his Red Bull training camp looking and feeling great, looking for a new challenge elsewhere... blah blah blah

Posted
5 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Looks like you were right.

However after a lifetime supporting this club, given what I have invested emotionally,  I will never give up on them, even if Clarry, my favourite player leaves and anyone else for that matter.

I have made my bed with the Dees and I will lie in it forever.

I simply could not fathom watching him tear it up in the midfield with Danger. I think I would need to go into rehab!

Posted

Maybe it is rebuild time? Or maybe it is asking the question 'why do our best players continually shop themselves?'

Posted
16 minutes ago, picket fence said:

My source has reiterated that Geelong have or will offer considerable elements beyond football life. Dont shoot the messenger, but if he goes, then plenty on here will also go including ME!

Well that side of it doesn't surprise me Picket. He's exactly the type that they need and would be silly not to test it. 

Posted
16 minutes ago, picket fence said:

My source has reiterated that Geelong have or will offer considerable elements beyond football life. Dont shoot the messenger, but if he goes, then plenty on here will also go including ME!

If he does leave. Do you think you would support another club? Or just stop barracking for Melbourne?

Posted
16 minutes ago, Flowergirl said:

Who leaks to Tom Morris from MFC? 

They need to do the old Godfather trick, find out who the leak is. 

Posted
15 minutes ago, picket fence said:

And the name of your source and the position he/she holds at either club.

Or just hearsay and rumour.

A lot on here will go, you mean those who have never changed jobs because of better opportunity, more money, didn't like the workplace etc etc, I think that's called hypocrisy isn't it?

Posted

I don't understand why someone would leak to Tom Morris when his reporting is saying that Melbourne need leverage in order for a trade to work. Isn't him reporting it then removing any possibility of leverage?

Posted

All the focus is on Geelong as if it's a two team comp. The Cats always seem to sway the media into conveying to the public it's the player's only option. It is not. 

Posted

The Cats will offer us a late pick and ask us to throw in $250 - $350k plus a season.

Heaps of players from all clubs look around. Seems a contract is not worth much.

If we refuse to deal because its a [censored] offer and Clarry refuses to train and pay do we still have to pay him????

Posted

If we trade Oliver, then pursuing Houston is pointless. Without Oliver, we would need a mini rebuild with high end young talent.

Posted

I like to think i don’t overreact often but if Clarry goes I won’t be following footy for a while, maybe for many years. 

He is our greatest player since Robbie. Second best ever imo 

I have waited my life for a midfield gun that every other team had in the 90’s and 2000’s

Posted (edited)

its tiring following the shifting Oliver narratives.

Todays narrative: Dees (everyone or some maybe Pert) - have encouraged Oliver to test market. Oliver wants to stay but is testing market.

I'll be in my reserved seat come our first 2025 home game!

Edited by demoniac
Posted
4 minutes ago, OhMyDees said:

Salary dump?

For who?

Are we clearing cap for a big name? Because right now it seems we can't attract a cockroach to our club, let alone a big name player.

Posted
17 minutes ago, Young Blood said:

If he does leave. Do you think you would support another club? Or just stop barracking for Melbourne?

I would be a very interested watcher of all games he played. Love him, second best player behind Rob Flower in my book!

Posted
38 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

I love it when Tom Morris adds a, “make no mistake”. You know he means business then. 

My mate Digger from Wonky Tatts had the motto:

Make no mistake-We make mistakes.

Posted
1 hour ago, Rednblueriseing said:

Name another club that has this happening all at once.... if the environment was better, not even Nibbler would consider leaving.

Richmond

Posted

One thing is for sure, the Cats are loving leaking the news of a meeting to the media and throwing us into further chaos

Posted
1 hour ago, reynolds46 said:

normally the club shouldn't react to this type of gossip/speculation but considering the train wreck 2024 has been to date they should either get on the front foot and shut this down or perhaps they are genuinely looking to offload him for reasons alluded to over the last 12 months etc.

If I get another email from Gary Pert I think I'm going to throw up.

Posted
17 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

And the name of your source and the position he/she holds at either club.

Or just hearsay and rumour.

A lot on here will go, you mean those who have never changed jobs because of better opportunity, more money, didn't like the workplace etc etc, I think that's called hypocrisy isn't it?

He is the best mate of the source who is an influential person. 

Posted
24 minutes ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

Maybe it is rebuild time? Or maybe it is asking the question 'why do our best players continually shop themselves?'

But they nearly always come back. Maybe the grass isn’t always greener and things at dees aren’t so bad

Posted
1 hour ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said:

The good old “I took this meeting just to laugh in your face!” trick by Oliver…

I would like to think that's correct - that he met with them in order to tell them to eff off.