PREGAME: Rd 08 vs Geelong

FREE TICKET.

I still have no idea how this happens but, in addition to my normal reserved seats memberships, I have a spare general admission ticket. First DLander to DM me is welcome to it.

I suspect something to do with my Kayo membership.

1 minute ago, Olgreybeard49 said:

FREE TICKET.

I still have no idea how this happens but, in addition to my normal reserved seats memberships, I have a spare general admission ticket. First DLander to DM me is welcome to it.

I suspect something to do with my Kayo membership.

Yeah what's the deal? I have it too

Melbourne v Geelong at the MCG, 7.30pm AEST

MELBOURNE

In: None
Out: None

R7 sub: Bailey Laurie 

GEELONG

In: T.Stewart, G.Rohan, J.Clark
Out: M.O'Connor (managed), P.Dangerfield (hamstring), B.Parfitt (managed)

R7 sub: Tom Atkins

3 hours ago, Deemania since 56 said:

Windsor has speed to confuse opponents and a good eye, upfield. Windsor tackles confident ball-hoggers really well. Windsor comes in, for me. 

Didn’t realise Windsor was out for him to come back in? 

Don't want to see 15 or 23 in maggot garb Sat Night.

6 minutes ago, Willmoy1947 said:

Don't want to see 15 or 23 in maggot garb Sat Night.

A quick look and it’s all good Willmoy. No 15 or 23 in the quartet.

10 minutes ago, layzie said:

No change is good by me.

Not sure if Woey has been great down back . Line ball.

Goody doesn't really change a big margin win. Fair enough.

Posted (edited)

Handy ins for the Cats. Rohan has won the Kent Kingsley award against us before....

Edited by jnrmac

Posted (edited)
7 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Of course rohan has to come back in against us 🙄 

He absolutely owns us. We never have a decent match up for him.

There’s speculation he’ll be starting as sub so we might be lucky and only cop 30 minutes of him

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell

23 hours ago, binman said:

Hunter in was my thought too, for the same reason ie strong, seasoned player.

I was thinking Windsor might he sub. 

But I think you make an excellent point about our need for speed - generally, but particularly against the cats who are both quick and also play a back half, transition game.

And Windsor out, Hunter in is a bad combo in terms of leg speed.

So, I'm changing my prediction to no change.

The first time I've got selection right since about mid last year!

1 hour ago, Demonland said:

Melbourne v Geelong at the MCG, 7.30pm AEST

MELBOURNE

In: None
Out: None

R7 sub: Bailey Laurie 

GEELONG

In: T.Stewart, G.Rohan, J.Clark
Out: M.O'Connor (managed), P.Dangerfield (hamstring), B.Parfitt (managed)

R7 sub: Tom Atkins

Hope we punish there decision to drop Parfit at the same time as Dangerfield. Screams arrogance. Hope our big 3 shreds them.

Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

I am going to continue to challenge the notion that we have an excellent list.

If you're looking at the top 10-12 or so on the list, then sure, not only are we excellent but we're in the conversation for number 1.

But the entire list? Do we bat as deep as GWS, or Carlton, or even Port Adelaide? Are we across the board as strong as Geelong, or Sydney, or Collingwood? Can our list be "excellent" given our forward line?

I largely disagree, but really like this post and think you make a strong case.

Im not suggesting you are soing so tu, but i think there is a tendency for fans to over rate other teams lists. 

All lists drop away after the top 10-12, which is one reason why I a worried about the impact of the tassie team.

The talent pool is too thin already, particularly given AFL footballers noe need to be bloody good at footy AND elite athletes.

I take your point about forwards lined but few teams have actually scored that much more than us under Goody.

And there's also an argument that the need for mutiple gun forwards is overated.

The cats are a bit of an outlier in that regard arguably going all the way back to the dogs in 2016.

25 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Handy ins for the Cats. Rohan has won the Kent Kingsley award against us before....

Every single time. The absolute biggest spud. Hopefully Howes can nullify him. 

5 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Every single time. The absolute biggest spud. Hopefully Howes can nullify him. 

Except the 2021 prelim that is.

Posted (edited)
48 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

Not sure if Woey has been great down back . Line ball.

Goody doesn't really change a big margin win. Fair enough.

Probably a bit of a learning curve for Joey in this position Deever.

Mostly played off a wing or as an outside mid at Casey.

Keep in mind his last game was his first full game for 2024 as well.

Rnds 1, 3, 4 & 5 he was coming on as sub.  Doesn't really allow a player to find the pace and his feet in a match on such limited minutes. 

Reckon he'll improve slowly as he gets more game time in general and more time in this particular role.

He'd want to get a move on though as he'll have Bowey & Salo chomping at his heels in the next few weeks.

Edited by Demon Dynasty

Posted (edited)
3 minutes ago, Demon Dynasty said:

Probably a bit of a learning curve for Joey in this position Deever.

Mostly played off a wing or as an outside mid at Casey.

Keep in mind his last game was his first full game for 2024 as well.

Rnds 1, 3, 4 & 5 he was coming on as sub.  Doesn't really allow a player to find the pace and his feet in a match on such limited minutes. 

Reckon he'll improve slowly as he gets more game time in general and more time in this particular role.

He'd want to get a move.on though as he'll have Bowey & Salo chomping at his heels in the next few weeks.

Maybe he could put some pressure on Sparrow when either of those two come back.

Edited by leave it to deever

18 minutes ago, binman said:

I largely disagree, but really like this post and think you make a strong case.

Im not suggesting you are soing so tu, but i think there is a tendency for fans to over rate other teams lists. 

All lists drop away after the top 10-12, which is one reason why I a worried about the impact of the tassie team.

The talent pool is too thin already, particularly given AFL footballers noe need to be bloody good at footy AND elite athletes.

I take your point about forwards lined but few teams have actually scored that much more than under Goody.

And there's also an argument that the need for mutiple gun forwards is overated.

The cats are a bit of an outlier in thst regard arguably going all the way back to the dogs in 2016.

We are lacking in depth to teams like Carlton who have 11 players out and are doing well.

I think we are definitely lacking depth in our midfield and our fwd line is still injury depleted or out in Smith, Bbb ( playing injured possibly, McAdam and Milkshake.

54 minutes ago, MrFreeze said:

Hope we punish there decision to drop Parfit at the same time as Dangerfield. Screams arrogance. Hope our big 3 shreds them.

Parfit is a fringe player at the mogs.

He was competing for the same spot as Narkle for a while.  Gave the nod to Parfit but took them a few seasons which tells you roughly where Parfit's at imv.

41 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

Maybe he could put some pressure on Sparrow when either of those two come back.

He'd have to put in a couple of blinders to push Sparrow out me thinks Deever.

You never know but probably unlikely.