Posted
8 minutes ago, DubDee said:

man i’m having a bitter text argument with an old high school mate pies supporter. 

wont admit any fault at all to maynard 

he’s getting both barrels 

I know the feeling 

“Angus was just in the way…”

they are pure…. (I am not allowed to say the word)

Posted
Just now, Sir Why You Little said:

I know the feeling 

Don't get me started with the vile comments on Twitter. "Club is at fault, he's had too many concussions" 🤢🤢

Posted
2 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

I know the feeling 

i feel like i’m going insane

will anyone in the media call it out??

[censored]

Posted
3 minutes ago, DubDee said:

i feel like i’m going insane

will anyone in the media call it out??

[censored]

Not as long as Eddie "Classless" Maguire is part of it.

Posted
1 hour ago, fr_ap said:

Jane, I think I speak for everyone when I say we feel your anger, rage and devastation. It makes my blood boil too everytime I think about it. 

Know this though - the outpouring of emotion, admiration and community wide respect for Angus today has been outstanding. He's an amazing guy who has the right values, and today leaves a legacy and a mark on the game that is being lauded far and wide. His life will be full for all his days because of it. He will have every avenue of life (other than football) open to him because people support good people. 

If and when Maynard retires, he will not enjoy a morsel of what Gus has experienced today. Maynard will be remembered fondly by a small number of slack jawed yokels, but otherwise does not and will never have the respect of his peers or the general public. It is easy to see that opposition players already don't respect him, and haven't for years. 

His post-footy opportunities will be limited by this. The richness and fullness of his life over the long term will be limited by this. 

We talk about the karma bus - this is what it truly looks like. It's not him copping an injury, or a suspension, or losing an important game - it's the long, slow, day-by-day realisation that he could have been better, and wasn't. Regret and emptiness will be his prize at the end. 

As for his premiership medal - flags aren't about that. They're about fulfilment, mateship and a sense of accomplishment - and his will always have an asterisk against it. Not in my view, but I can say with some certainty in his own mind. Anyone who has ever felt white line fever will watch that incident and can tell he bumped with intent. 

Ultimately he won some footy stuff, but left a body behind and lied on the (kangaroo) stand to get it. That's not fulfilment.

Good grief - really well said. I needed that, thank you. 

Posted
36 minutes ago, biggestred said:

Interesting the very specific language used around it being caused by that incident and not a culmination...

First thing I noticed. Very specific framing. Legal action incoming maybe 

Posted

Jeez

even the article on Gus on DomainFax has a reference to Nathan Murphy sitting out

now I’ve got nothing against Nathan Murphy, he seems orright like many other pies players but [censored]

Posted
1 hour ago, binman said:

And the remora media, who also have their snouts in the pies trough, are more than happy to help out.

I'm not sure they even have the awareness to realise just how complicit they are in pushing the AFL's agenda du jour.

Posted
30 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

Don't get me started with the vile comments on Twitter. "Club is at fault, he's had too many concussions" 🤢🤢

Yes. I just started to read some SEN Comments on YouTube. 
i had to bail out. 

It truly is “Us against Them” now. 
We will soon see how strong this Club really is….

Posted
24 minutes ago, Superunknown said:

The other interesting bit from Gus's letter from a legal perspective is:

'I hope the AFL will be proactive in the future when it comes to the safety of its players as opposed to reactive'

The AFL, like any org, is responsible for creating as safe as possible work place.

OH&S 101 is identification of risks and mitigation of those risks.

Identify the stairs are a slip hazard and put slip protection on - before someone falls down them.

That's to say, proactive, not reactive.

Posted

His farewell interview and letter are proper tear jerkers.

My level of respect for him was already high but the way he has handled himself in these circumstances has been exceptional. 

What a true credit he is to himself, his family and the club. 

• Love 5
Posted
5 minutes ago, binman said:

'I hope the AFL will be proactive in the future when it comes to the safety of its players as opposed to reactive'

The AFL, like any org, is responsible for creating as safe as possible work place.

OH&S 101 is identification of risks and mitigation of those risks.

Identify the stairs are a slip hazard and put slip protection on - before someone falls down them.

That's to say, proactive, not reactive.

I agree with you

There is some very clear positioning and framing here

Posted
1 hour ago, DubDee said:

man i’m having a bitter text argument with an old high school mate pies supporter. 

wont admit any fault at all to maynard 

he’s getting both barrels 

You should shoot him and plead, But no man died.

Posted
31 minutes ago, binman said:

That's the joke. "The head is sacrosanct" was supposed to be the proaction.

Pathetic how it turned out to be as solid as drifting sheet ice. Gaps opening up all over the place.

Posted
1 hour ago, Superunknown said:

As opposed to the afl media who start every report with “long history of concussion” not “Maynard incident”

Posted

I've had arguments after argument on Facebook about this - no wonder my wife tells me I'm an [censored] for being there in the first place. Today I had a bogan WA E Coli Wobbler who repeats the total crepe that 'It was a Football act.' I replied, Yes, so Footy-like that the AFL had to change the laws of the game because of it. I likened it to how the AFL had to inevitably respond to the simple fact that on-field assaults - we won't mention Leigh Matthews by name - led to the change of the the so-called 'Laws' of the game. The AFL is a bogus crock of a word rhyming with loo in this regard. Somehow, the flotsam which inevitably rises to the top, is always their main concern, because, after all, who has the biggest membership and fills stadiums? Look at how many times two particular clubs are 'drawn' to play interstate. In other words, to claim the AFL is a 'level playing field' is like saying that the earth is flat and in heaven we have the'monotheistic' trilogy of god the father, the son and the holy ghost.

Watching Brayshaw's interview on the Club site reduced me to tears. Yet, somehow because of some unwritten but official protocol, no-one was allowed to mention the Maynard assault. Then again, Maynard isn't the problem, the AFL is in that it tacitly condones 'winners' like him...

Posted

Such a sad moment for him and he has taken it so well. A champion of this club and I hope he sticks around the club, but more than that, I hope he is happy and healthy.

Posted
9 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Thanks, Angus.
spacer.png

Haven’t been on for ages because I couldn’t deal with the off field drama but I came in response to this news. I’m heartbroken for Gus but absolutely love this photo and it sums up my memory of him for me. Premiership hero and all time great in my mind and my heart. Love you Gus.

• Love 9
Posted

On the football act argument - then why cant i think of another incident if it part of our game. Sorry having the same arguments 

if anyone has a manyard tribunal or incident history over his career i would appreciate it. I get the plays hard but good bloke argument and im sure he has been in a fair few on and now off field fracas in his time.

sorry to divert away from topic, today has been emotional

thoughts are with him and his family. Could think how [censored] it would be now to think of every memory lapse or mood change as a possible ticking time bomb. 

Posted
8 hours ago, Demon Disciple said:

He retires as a premiership player. An MFC premiership player no less.

His 2nd & 3rd quarters were immense in the GF. And that diving mark, goal and celebration ❤️❤️❤️

I hold no hostility towards Maynard, should have he been suspended? yes, but it’s not his fault how spineless the AFL are.

You are MFC royalty Gus. Go in good health.

Maynard could have been asked one simple question. The fact that he wasn't still doesn't exonerate him nor convict him.

But he will still have to carry it with him..

Posted
15 minutes ago, DeeMee said:

As opposed to the afl media who start every report with “long history of concussion” not “Maynard incident”

I really admire how clear the club statement and Gus’ letter were -  because of that one hit

the club should be calling Dillon and Kane up to have them issue a diktat to all media they must refer to that one act not the long but now not so recent history

Posted
21 minutes ago, DeeMee said:

Looks like the editorial head sits at AFL house. 🤢🤢🤢