Nascent 9,345 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 8 minutes ago, adonski said: Suspect we tried to get up for Caddy 2 Quote
DeeSpencer 26,681 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 23 minutes ago, mo64 said: Gold Coast and GWS don't have access to Father/Son picks like every other club. Given the number of players that these clubs seem to lose due to the "go home" factor, I have no issue with the academy picks. They’ve both been given enough start up concessions for 30 years and Brisbane and Sydney both do very well with trades. As media scrutiny intensifies playing and living in QLD or NSW will only be seen as more of an opportunity for many players. That said, I’m fine with academies but it has to be only 1 first rounder per year, and they have to be made to pay the full price. Ie. For Walter they should’ve been made to start any bid matching with a pick inside the top 8 (within 5 from a bid). You can’t have a draft with 30 first round picks. It’s a mockery and really hurts and sides like the Eagles. Nor should you have a club getting 3 (or technically 4) first rounders and paying for them with bogus pick after bogus pick after trading back 100 times and pocketing extra value each time. 7 Quote
Nascent 9,345 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 5 hours ago, Little Goffy said: Any chance we trade in a future pick to grab a tall? The Gawn, Verral, Fullarton set-up is... not deep. Mitch Edwards still available as a ruck who can clunk a mark, and Archer Reid as a 203cm forward who can help ruck. And what, exactly, is our count of available list spots? My impression is that assuming Hore and Brown basically means we have just one spot left, and that if Brown is bid on in the main draft then that last spot has to be a rookie listing? Would think highly unlikely. We already traded out our pick 42 into the future and with the 2nd round starting at 30 it would be a massive waste of currency to buy back in. We're done apart from promoting D. Turner and hoping K. Brown gets through to the Rookie draft. Quote
DeeSpencer 26,681 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 40 minutes ago, adonski said: There’s actually a fair bit there. Thinks both should aim to play next year. Pretty much says Tholstrop has work to do on his diet and could even improve more as an athlete. It’s interesting how he’s not shy at all about the trade up from 6 nor the trade up from 11. Watson/Sanders and I reckon Caddy could’ve both been on the menu. 1 Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 8 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said: Obviously still some talent left. Probably about 30 picks and then about 18-20 rookie picks with clubs squeezed on list spots. Players still available are: Ollie Murphy Arie Schoenmaker Clay Hall 38 Archer Reid 30 Mitchell Edwards 32 Archie Roberts George Stevens Logan Morris 31 Luamon Luai Joel Freijah Tew Jiath 37 Angus Hastie 33 Koen Sanchez Billy Wilson 34 Zane Zakostelsky Cooper Simpson 35 all should get drafted tonight then some players on the cusp who may or may not get picked Nathan Philactides Harvey Johnston Aiden O’Driscoll Jack Delean Will Brown Kade De La Rue Ry Cantwell Tarkyn O’Leary Harvey Thomas. academy GWS Luke Lloyd Kane McAuliffe be interesting to see if Shaun Mannagh 36 or Sam Clohesy from Werribee VFL get drafted after excellent years and deserve a promotion up to an AFL list Adding in draft numbers on the ones to watch. Already seeing the key 2nd round players getting drafted as expected Cooper Simpson at 35 is a steal !!! Freo have got a ripper youngster 2 Quote
Kick_It_To_Pickett 3,293 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 Are we not taking Kynan Brown tonight? 2 Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 1 minute ago, Kick_It_To_Pickett said: Are we not taking Kynan Brown tonight? No. Hope he doesn’t get picked. MFC can then select him as a rookie. 2 Quote
Kick_It_To_Pickett 3,293 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 5 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said: No. Hope he doesn’t get picked. MFC can then select him as a rookie. Assuming no one else selects him? have I missed something? Have we traded our pick in the 40s? 1 Quote
kosi2020 15 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 4 minutes ago, Kick_It_To_Pickett said: Assuming no one else selects him? have I missed something? Have we traded our pick in the 40s? Traded it to the Saints for a F3 1 Quote
Lord Travis 10,819 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 4 minutes ago, Kick_It_To_Pickett said: Assuming no one else selects him? have I missed something? Have we traded our pick in the 40s? Traded pick 42 for St Kilda future third at the beginning of the draft yesterday. 1 Quote
Rodney (Balls) Grinter 11,064 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 11 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said: No. Hope he doesn’t get picked. MFC can then select him as a rookie. Are we there yet? How much longer does this bloody draft thing go for? 1 Quote
Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 Schoenmakers still there. Was almost a top 20 prospect. Quote
Lexinator 1,931 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 The Magpies have selected Hawthorn NGA product Tew Jiath with pick No.37. Pies involved in close calls again. 3 picks before NGA drafting rules change. Not sure if Hawks were after him but bit rude by them. Any excuse to beat up on them 😁 1 Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 unbelievable thought these 3 youngsters would be drafted by now Arie Schoenmaker Archie Roberts George Stevens definitely top 35 in my opinion Quote
dees189227 12,513 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 Just flicked over. Andrew Dillon couldn't back up for another night? Even he thought last night dragged on. 2 Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 Geelong steal George Stevens at pick 58. Ollie Wines clone. He’s got AFL quality and could play round 1. 1 Quote
ChaserJ 5,192 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 (edited) 17 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said: unbelievable thought these 3 youngsters would be drafted by now Arie Schoenmaker Archie Roberts George Stevens definitely top 35 in my opinion Bombers swooped for Robert’s a good opportunistic strike from them. Always figured that Cats might take him and they’ve just pounced. Other recruiters don’t seem too high on him (running, athleticism prob hurt him) Schoenmaker a bit of a surprise. I’m stoked to see Charleson get to Port, I know a couple of the family, bit of sporting ability there. Brown looks all but certain to get to us as a rookie. Edited November 21, 2023 by ChaserJ 2 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,342 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 4 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said: Geelong steal George Stevens at pick 58. Ollie Wines clone. He’s got AFL quality and could play round 1. That's why he's lasted all the way to pick 58. The game is going away from big bodied midfielders like Ollie's Wines and it's absolutely no coincidence Wines has struggled the past few years because thr game has gone quicker and less contested. He'll play senior footy but he'll be found out very quickly for his poor athletic ability and zero speed. 4 Quote
Demonsterative 3,021 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 Listening to the draft’s experts every draftee will be a star…. 2 Quote
Demonland 74,440 Posted November 21, 2023 Author Posted November 21, 2023 The Dees have passed with Pick 63 1 Quote
manny100 1,625 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 3 hours ago, DeeSpencer said: They’ve both been given enough start up concessions for 30 years and Brisbane and Sydney both do very well with trades. As media scrutiny intensifies playing and living in QLD or NSW will only be seen as more of an opportunity for many players. That said, I’m fine with academies but it has to be only 1 first rounder per year, and they have to be made to pay the full price. Ie. For Walter they should’ve been made to start any bid matching with a pick inside the top 8 (within 5 from a bid). You can’t have a draft with 30 first round picks. It’s a mockery and really hurts and sides like the Eagles. Nor should you have a club getting 3 (or technically 4) first rounders and paying for them with bogus pick after bogus pick after trading back 100 times and pocketing extra value each time. Hurts us as well. You trade for a certain future pick and it gets pushed back. Other clubs in the same boat. Middle of the ladder teams will be pushing a barrow of the stinky stuff up hill for years especially looking forward to Tassy concessions. 1 Quote
Demonland 74,440 Posted November 21, 2023 Author Posted November 21, 2023 2 minutes ago, Demonsterative said: Listening to the draft’s experts every draftee will be a star…. Is this your first Draft? 😜 2 Quote
Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 Missed a trick with Pick 42 and Schoenmakers. 1 1 Quote
Little Goffy 14,964 Posted November 21, 2023 Posted November 21, 2023 Seems strange to pass when there's players we want, but there's so many notice-board-out-the-back-of-the-kitchen shenanigans in the draft system these days who can tell? 1 Quote