Posted
1 hour ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

9860CBD5-2ABF-4286-9BFD-2203B89C70D5.thumb.jpeg.91d0f027980d93cb6db023e644ebe3ef.jpeg

Thanks WCW.

Judd Mcvee gets number 4   huge honour  huge future 👏👏

Hope they can get Nev Jetta back to do the jumper presentation next year for Tholstrup. 

Kynan starts in the same number as his Dad. 👏

Windsor to sit next to Viney and Trac. Wow. Learn off the best.  

Balls Grinter to do jumper presentation to Billings for round 1. 

A “Shane” wearing number 23 on the MCG. Shivers !!! 

Posted
5 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Hope they can get Nev Jetta back to do the jumper presentation next year for Tholstrup

Hope we get him back to the club in some sort of coaching capacity sooner rather than later!

Posted
18 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Thanks WCW.

Judd Mcvee gets number 4   huge honour  huge future 👏👏

Hope they can get Nev Jetta back to do the jumper presentation next year for Tholstrup. 

Kynan starts in the same number as his Dad. 👏

Windsor to sit next to Viney and Trac. Wow. Learn off the best.  

Balls Grinter to do jumper presentation to Billings for round 1. 

A “Shane” wearing number 23 on the MCG. Shivers !!! 

I was hoping Judd would stay with #41 but I’m pleased that he’s been given #4 because it lets him know what the Club think of him. And he deserves all the respect and praise he gets. 

Posted

Marty Hore played all his games in number 34, but moved to number 21 for the 2021 season.

Alas for Marty, he never got to wear his new number due to his knee injury and subsequent de-listing.

His new number 27 sits very close to halfway between his previous numbers.

• 2 months later...

Posted
7 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

McAdam looks pumped.

He realised just at the last moment that he's holding his jumper back to front.

Posted
15 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

McAdam looks pumped.

Not a fan of the camera, going by the other 2 pics in the club site gallery!

Needs a goal or three to light up, I reckon.

Posted

Good luck, Caleb!  May you wear the number 6 guernsey longer than your recent predecessors!

Posted

Trivia time.

I went to Demon Wiki to see who besides Pig had worn 14 and there are some illustrious names but one caught my eye. Chris Aitken is a forward I remember who showed enormous potential but was always injured and I remember he wore number 5. A quick check showed he left Melbourne for the bush but returned 5 years later and at that time wore 14.

The trivia is he has a younger brother Nicholas Aitken who is a well-known Melbourne supporter whose stage name is " Wilbur Wilde"

• Thanks 4
Posted
21 minutes ago, Older demon said:

Trivia time.

I went to Demon Wiki to see who besides Pig had worn 14 and there are some illustrious names but one caught my eye. Chris Aitken is a forward I remember who showed enormous potential but was always injured and I remember he wore number 5. A quick check showed he left Melbourne for the bush but returned 5 years later and at that time wore 14.

The trivia is he has a younger brother Nicholas Aitken who is a well-known Melbourne supporter whose stage name is " Wilbur Wilde"

Balls was my favourite in #14 

Posted (edited)

#4 Judd McVee;

The lower numbers typically have the history of former greats associated with them. Norm Smith the most famous. His son Peter’s career was briefer but like Dad ended in controversy. Tony Sullivan wore it with distinction his son Chris also got a go. Tony Campbell, Brent Grgic and Jack Watts all had their moments. Craig Ellis and Ben Holland came from other clubs. Peter Giles’s time was cruelled by injury. Andrew Obst wore it later in his reign. John Lord still has his appreciators before my time though. James Harmes wore it with distinction in Perth on Grand Final Day, the cameo that bought us back from the precipice. The young man from Geraldton must feel the buzz of association when he goes to locker #4.

Edited by Tarax Club

Posted

I must say I am not a fan of the gigantic yellow hertz logo on the back. at least jaguar was not intrusive and didn't take away from our colours. But money is money eh?

Posted
4 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

McAdam looks pumped.

Shane is super quiet and shy. He’s really reserved, but after a while he’s very easy to talk with. He doesn’t smile much but that’s not because he’s unhappy, it’s just his resting face. Rest assured, he’s really, really happy to be a Demon. 👍🏽

Posted
2 hours ago, Sydee said:

If he was playing in the QF last year, Gus wouldn't have been KO'd.

You can take that to the bank.

Posted

I feel like the Kolt could be in line to move to number 10 next year all going well.

He feels like the kind of player that will embody the courage and team first ethos of Gus.

Posted (edited)
On 14/10/2023 at 21:58, monoccular said:

When you mentioned 99 and Max, I thought that you may recommend him (our Premiership captain Max) to be 99, that is nine times the player he already is.  Were that the case we wouldn’t need anyone else on the field at all and could save millions on salary cap.

When you mentioned 99 and Max, I thought that...you were about to say something about Max Walker. My memory might be faulty, but I have always believed Max Walker played 99 games for the MFC before quitting football to be a test cricketer.

Edited by La Dee-vina Comedia
typo

Posted
13 hours ago, Sydee said:

Bloody Wallace - attempting to bite poor old Balls on the forearm !!!  😁

Posted
32 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

I have always believed Max Walker played 99 games or the MFC

Max played 85 games for the mighty Demons.

Posted (edited)

#6 Caleb Windsor

As alluded to earlier in this thread, in more recent times this number has been a bit of a revolving door. Fred Fanning decades on, famously still holds the league record for most goals kicked in a game. A triple six 18,  as demonwiki writes a record ‘unlikely to be broken’ by whole football teams it seems, with a premium placed on whole ground defenses. Then come the two Franks: Frank Adams speed Demon, MFC Hall of Fame, Team of the Century, 6 premierships over the golden era. Frank Davis caught the tail end for the ‘64 flag. Became the holder of the most games in the guernsey (162), endured nine seasons, three as captain at the very beginning of the lost decades wandering in the wilderness. Glen Lovett played in a period where the club had more success. A Best and Fairest winner, he was a very neat player with excellent skills but struggled with injuries early and later in his footy career. Matthew Bate showed some promise but never reached his full potential. Scott Thompson got a start, but the draw of home lured him across the border to fame and good fortune. Caleb may have the distinction of being the first of that ancient name being on a MFC list. The name is mentioned in the Bible. Of the 12 sent by Moses in search of the promised land two return mission accomplished. Caleb #6 and one other. If footy is still a religion in Victoria, can Caleb Windsor visit the promised land at the ‘G late September and return mission accomplished? Why not!

Edited by Tarax Club
Posted (edited)

#14 Jack Billings

Micheal Hibberd and Lyndon Dunn the most recent Demons prior to Jack Billings gave this fabled Guernsey number stability and endurance going back to the 2006 season. Hibberd originally came from Essendon. A club imploding after a successful reign at the top echelon of the AFL, due to the highly controversial supplements scandal. After a lost year out of football due to the performance enhancing? drug saga. He quickly established himself as a top defender in the Demon’s lineup and was subsequently rewarded in 2017 with an All-Australian team gong. Despite injury concerns, his timing late in the 2021 season was impeccable. He achieved what would be a career pinnacle, of being selected for and playing in the resurgent Demons 2021 premiership team. Lyndon Dunn played either as a tall forward or defender at Melbourne with mixed success and at one stage trialed as an on baller. No stranger to appearances at the AFL tribunal due to his propensity for on field altercations. He fell out of favour, coinciding with the arrival of Paul Roos and finished his playing days with Collingwood. Rodney Grinter was described in demonwiki as ‘one of the most controversial hard men of the league’. Grinter often fell foul of the umpires, making sixteen appearances at the VFL tribunal in his time at Melbourne and serving a total of thirty-one weeks suspended. His ‘badman reputation’ on and off the field would have given Bon Scott as front man of AC/DC a run for his money. Beyond the uncompromising on field demeanor. Grinter proved to be a no-holds barred, combative, competitor who gave the team plenty of spine and spunk in an often rough and tough era. Barry Bourke a premiership player in 1964 and record holder for number of games played in the #14 guernsey at 175. Played most of his footy at the beginning of the big drop off, briefly walking out of the club with the sacking of Tiger Ridley. Back in the days of kick to kick after the game at the ‘G, your correspondent nearly got collected by BB resplendent in #14 cantering off the field. Must have been another loss judging by his grim facial expression. Back in the Time Machine, Trevor Johnson and a ‘Robert Johnson’ according to demonwiki represented the club in #14 during the golden 50’s early sixties. May be a a bit of a demonwiki mystery here to solve?  Big Bob Robert B, wore #18 and #16. Robert C his father wore 11 according to dw. Maybe this ‘Robert Johnson’ did a deal at the with old Nick at the crossroads? Delving further back into the numero-mythology of #14.  Maurie Gibb started his MCCFC career in this jumper switching to #10 to become a significant contributor in an earlier golden era. Playing in two consecutive premierships before WW2 service truncated his footy days. Finally the most famous name to grace #14 Ivor Warne-Smith. Dual Brownlow Medalist, one awarded in the 1926 premiership year another in 1928 playing as captain and coach. All from centre half-forward too, a more than handy footballer apparently. 

Edited by Tarax Club
L Newton brilliant mark later poleaxed.
Posted

That would be Robert "Tassie" Johnson