Posted
20 minutes ago, Demonland said:

F-6-3j1bcAAun-o.jpeg

Does this make us one of the big 4 now. RIP Essendon.

Yes. But I'm genuinely surprised they didnt send essendon instead of Carlton as it would have given them much more flexibility around anzac day

Posted

You would HOPE this round 0 gimmick means we get a proper break around ANZAC eve which is a Wednesday this year. 

And I hope we asked the AFL for a real Bye this season, so our players can get the time off they deserve. 

Posted
31 minutes ago, deanox said:

Well Andre Dillon had this to say about us:

Screenshot_20231115_101336_Chrome.jpg

That's nice of him to acknowledge our fantastic supporter base. 

No doubt we will also be the only one of this 'big four' that ends up playing in Geelong

Posted

Reckon our bye will be in Round 3 as playing Thursday in Round 4. Nice stress free Easter!!

Posted

As a supporter base it means we can get in and out of Sydney before the magpie infestation arrives. 

• Haha 5

Posted

So we play Sydney up there and play Adelaide in Adelaide as part of the collective round or what ever they call it. It looks like we will be dudded again on the draw. I will bet we play in Perth or at Geelong on the last round. Bit of salt on the wound.

Posted

Depends on your circumstances IMO re: Thursday nights. Personally I love them! I can't get to many games at all each and every season so reliant on TV to watch games. Extra day an AFL game is played on, if you like watching games there is less overlap on other games, usually good teams playing, can help teams get extra rest some weeks especially handy coming from an interstate trip. 

Posted
57 minutes ago, deanox said:

Well Andre Dillon had this to say about us:

Screenshot_20231115_101336_Chrome.jpg

Andrew Dillon’s French cousin? 😁

Seriously though, we’re only labelled a big club when it suits. At other times we’re considered minnows.

Posted
26 minutes ago, dl4e said:

So we play Sydney up there and play Adelaide in Adelaide as part of the collective round or what ever they call it. It looks like we will be dudded again on the draw. I will bet we play in Perth or at Geelong on the last round. Bit of salt on the wound.

Stop winging, we open the season and open gather round (that Adelaide-Carlton game was electric last year). Its great exposure for the club. I have already booked my tickets for both.

And we absolutely want west coast in Perth again because why would you want to waste home ground advantage on them?

Being dudded is all relative based on who is actually good during the season as opposed to who you think will be good 5 months before the season starts.

Posted
1 hour ago, Clintosaurus said:

Reckon our bye will be in Round 3 as playing Thursday in Round 4. Nice stress free Easter!!

Logic would suggest that's the case as we would go in fresh for Gather Round rather than copping a 5 day break.

So nothing surer then our bye being scheduled on a weekend other than that.

Posted
1 hour ago, Jaded No More said:

You would HOPE this round 0 gimmick means we get a proper break around ANZAC eve which is a Wednesday this year. 

And I hope we asked the AFL for a real Bye this season, so our players can get the time off they deserve. 

I wonder if the club internally acknowledges that a lack of a proper bye has actually hurt the club come finals time, or whether they're not having a bar of it.

In 2021 we actually had a decent bye - played Queens Birthday on round 13 and then next played the Saturday night of round 15, and went on to have a fairly solid finals campaign.

Posted

Two Thursday night games is a great outcome for us so far. Start of the season gives us a good break into "round 1" and we get a bye around ANZAC eve game allegedly. 

More games in prime time are always welcome.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Nascent said:

Two Thursday night games is a great outcome for us so far. Start of the season gives us a good break into "round 1" and we get a bye around ANZAC eve game allegedly. 

More games in prime time are always welcome.

Ahhh, no no they are not.

I mean, for away games they are nice, especially if we win and don’t ruin the weekend!

But for home games it would be nice if we can have some family friendly time slots. Sunday 1:10 please!

Feels like since the flag we’ve barely played in the day time. My niece and nephew went to two games last year. I’m sure parents had similar issues.

And all the night footy isn’t great for players routines either.

Posted

No doubt we will also be the only one of this 'big four' that ends up playing in Geelong

Yep. Bank on it.

Posted

Agreed . But stillNice to see us now referred to in the Age this morning as "...four of the bigger supported clubs..."

The geelong game is our cross to hear but this will be a good year to meet them down there I reckon.

We were  longer Jack viney  kick short of the prelim final.

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

I mean, for away games they are nice, especially if we win and don’t ruin the weekend!

But for home games it would be nice if we can have some family friendly time slots. Sunday 1:10 please!

Feels like since the flag we’ve barely played in the day time. My niece and nephew went to two games last year. I’m sure parents had similar issues.

Fair point. But we've been shoved to the Sunday wasteland for decades when only 13000 people bothered to turn up to home games.

I'll take some commercial success and relevance in the competition now which will only strengthen the club.

I do hope there's enough family friendly games throughout the year so everyone can have a chance to attend half a dozen+ games.

Edited by Nascent

Posted
6 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

For the longest time our games were hidden away on a Sunday afternoon. Prime-time matches seemed an unattainable dream.

Now we’re getting the time-slots usually reserved for the big clubs.

Whether it’s a Thursday night, a Sunday arvo or anything in between, there’ll be unhappy fans.

Notwithstanding my own personal preferences, I’d sooner we played on a Thursday night over a Sunday afternoon because that means we’re not the hot mess we once were.

As for night games not being great for players’ routines… it’s not like overnight we’ve gone from all matches played at the same time on Saturday straight to the current scheduling.

Playing interstate is something the clubs have managed well, therefore night matches shouldn’t pose a problem in terms of players’ routines. 

Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, layzie said:

Are they really going to call it Round Zero? 

The AFL needs to start acting their age. 

Maybe Dillon is a C programmer?

Edited by gs77
Posted
1 hour ago, Clintosaurus said:

I think our bye will be associated with our ANZAC Eve match, I believe that will be in  R6.