20 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Going to leave the AFL community in mass confusion if Maynard gets cleared.

I get that it was a football incident rather an off the ball act of thuggery, but he could be held accountable for a severe impact.

ย 

ย 

It is parameter setting if he gets off

next week viney can smother 21 blokes into concussion in legitimate footy acts

and then so on

A good KC will defend that

โ€er sorry these are your rules established via the Maynard act.โ€

ย 
3 minutes ago, Demonland said:

ย 

Who would've thought? Classless club.

4 minutes ago, chookrat said:

I might be alone here but I don't think Maynard should be suspended. If you watch the footage from the behind the goals angle, Maynard jumps forward and towards the left to smother the kick while Brayshaw is stepping directly forward and while Maynard is in mid air Brayshaw completes his kick and changes direction into the path of Maynard who at this point braces for impact.ย  We were up in arms re the Van Rooyen spoil earlier this year and I think the Maynard case is similar in that he wasn't trying to make forceful contact it is simply a collision between two players who were focussing on the ball.ย  While the ball carrier needs to be protected I think Maynard did this by jumping at an angle during the attempted smother.

Not correct. Players are required to foreshadow the results of their action. Intention or not.

Maynard did not do this. Just went for an outlandish attempt. He didn't mean to hurt Angus but the minute he chose to leave the ground as Goody referred to in presser he's responsible for outcome.

3 weeks will stand. Angus may not play again for some time.

3 minutes ago, Demon17 said:

This is make or break for Laura re credibility. Normally I'd agree with grants view. Not this time.

I hope the cowardly magpie army are in meltdown.ย 

They areย 

13 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Christian was reluctant to charge the thug but Laura Kane stepped in to effect the charge. Thank you, Laura!

Do you have any contacts within the Brayshaw family WCW? How's the guy and the family doing?

20 hours ago, OhMyDees said:

The fact that the media interviewed that [censored] after the game to allow him the temerity to suggest what he did was a โ€˜footy actโ€™ is [censored].ย 

I agree

laura Kane should be pulling these [censored] wits into line

Just now, Demon17 said:

Not correct. Players are required to foreshadow the results of their action. Intention or not.

Maynard did not do this. Just went for an outlandish attempt. He didn't mean to hurt Angus but the minute he chose to leave the ground as Goody referred to in presser he's responsible for outcome.

3 weeks will stand. Angus may not play again for some time.

Cant see him being fit when we make gf

ย 

Well Laura Kane had earned her money already. It looks like if it were left to Christian Maynard would have walked. Just wait and see Collingwood throw injunctions around with abandon.

16 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

I hope for once our club sent in a scathing medical report as opposed to being the nice guys.ย 
Photos of Gusโ€™ shiner, documents about his previous condition, impact to his and his familyโ€™s well being following this nasty collision. ย 

Bury this thug and bury his club. Hope he misses finals and it burns in his guts forever. Payback for all the cowardly thug acts heโ€™s committed over the years, including this one that could end the career of an actually BRAVE player who plays the ball. Not the man.ย 
ย 

2nd best post of the year!๐Ÿ˜

I was just reading about Laura Kane. She worked for the families in the royal commission into institutional sexual abuse.

Massive respect for her. Sheโ€™s wonderfully articulate and as smart as they come.

1 minute ago, ElDiablo14 said:

Do you have any contacts within the Brayshaw family WCW? How's the guy and the family doing?

If that is true - 2 thingsย 

huge kudos to Kane to overrule an obviously compromised christian. That is very very telling if she stepped in and I sense christian May well be shown the door as he well should .ย 

maynard will be put out for 2+
ย 

the CTE stuff is an insurance and liability nightmare for the afl

Here is gus, with helmet, indiscriminately mown down. They will want to set an example

you stand by your principles (and your enterprise risk management framework of which liability is a part) or you do not

18 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Christian was reluctant to charge the thug but Laura Kane stepped in to effect the charge. Thank you, Laura!

Is that true. ?

If so great start. But was mro considering nothing to see here

Only found out where the word thug came from the other day. Really can call Brayden a thug, thugs had way more going on in their heads than him

ย 

Thugs, in India, were a gang of professional thieves and assassins who operated from the 14th century and into the 19th. They worked, in general, by joining travelers, gaining their trust โ€ฆ and then murdering themโ€”strangulation was their preferred methodโ€”and stealing their valuables.

5 minutes ago, The heart beats true said:

I was just reading about Laura Kane. She worked for the families in the royal commission into institutional sexual abuse.

Massive respect for her. Sheโ€™s wonderfully articulate and as smart as they come.

The smartest Collingwood supporter to ever live

23 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

I would not be surprised if Laura Kaine does this for all decisions for finalsโ€ฆ. Makes sense that all tribunal decisions get ย announced through her, but also allows her to make a commonsense ruling to override where Christian canโ€™t make a call.

3 minutes ago, dice said:

The smartest Collingwood supporter to ever live

Well I guess you canโ€™t have everything going for you.

11 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

Sorry to butt in here but I know someone close to the family and I was told today this may be career ending for Gus. There is apparently some clause in his contract re head knocks. I donโ€™t know much more but this is from a reliable source who is very close to the family.

24 minutes ago, chookrat said:

I might be alone here but I don't think Maynard should be suspended. If you watch the footage from the behind the goals angle, Maynard jumps forward and towards the left to smother the kick while Brayshaw is stepping directly forward and while Maynard is in mid air Brayshaw completes his kick and changes direction into the path of Maynard who at this point braces for impact.ย  We were up in arms re the Van Rooyen spoil earlier this year and I think the Maynard case is similar in that he wasn't trying to make forceful contact it is simply a collision between two players who were focussing on the ball.ย  While the ball carrier needs to be protected I think Maynard did this by jumping at an angle during the attempted smother.

What Absolute Rubbishย 

Maynard could have just as easily swung his body to the left to avoid a problem. He didnโ€™tย 

• Author

The more I watch the replay of this act the more it shows how guilty he is and dishonest.ย 

He ran at full tilt at Gus without ever deviating and then launched.

How did he think he would stop or avoid a collision?

The moment he ran and jumped sealed poor Gus' s fate.

Maynard knew he would crash into Gus and is100% guilty.

I maintain four weeks.

Some of these commentators acting tough that there's nothing in it sound like they've copped too many hits themselves.

Bloody disgraceful to defend it.

Maynard should come clean and accept a punishment if he's really remorseful.ย  It's a disingenuous attempt to avoid suspension.

ย 

Edited by leave it to deever

23 minutes ago, chookrat said:

Chook, watch it again. Maynard at the last moment moves to the right after a small shuffle step. Bradshaw doesnโ€™t deviate his direction, he leans left as the shoulder comes right at him. Not sure how you see it as the opposite? The angle brings him right into Brayshaws path.ย 

2 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

The more I watch the replay of this act tge more it shows how guilty he his and dishonest.ย 

He ran at full tilt at Gus without ever deviating and then launched.

How did he think he would stop?

The moment he ran and jumped sealed poor Gus' s fate.

Maynard k ew he would crash into Gus and is100% guilty.

I maintain four weeks.

Some of these commentators acting tough that there's nothing in it sound like they've cop too many hits themselves.

Bloody disgraceful to defend it.

Maynard should come clean and accept a punishment if he's really remorseful.ย  It's a disingenuous attempt to avoid suspension.

ย 

The fact that the thug tried to use his supposed friendship with Gus to manipulate the public perception is disgraceful.

Edited by ElDiablo14

5 minutes ago, jane02 said:

Sorry to butt in here but I know someone close to the family and I was told today this may be career ending for Gus. There is apparently some clause in his contract re head knocks. I donโ€™t know much more but this is from a reliable source who is very close to the family.

This canโ€™t surely be it. Heโ€™s had a really good run with injuries and is playing some of the best football of his career. Can take a whole pre season and rest and get better.ย 
I truly hope this is not the outcome.ย 

• Author
1 minute ago, ElDiablo14 said:

The fact that the thug tried to use his supposed friendship with Gus to manipulate the public perception is disgraceful.

What a mate.

19 minutes ago, The heart beats true said:

my word we need some more women involved in footy admin. especially MRO and tribunal. blokes have been [censored] it up for decades