Posted
19 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Yeah.. I think you've had an absolute mare with this one SWYL.

Vanessa Lachey Hawaii GIF by CBS

I can't work out if he is serious or if he realised that everyone knows he was wrong and is now just continuing to post nonsense as a joke to keep us entertained.

Posted

To be fair SWYL is not the only one that doesn’t know what a wingman looks like.  The AA selectors don’t either.  To compensate, mongrelpunt run their own rankings, and publish the latest ladder on Tuesdays.  The standings after round 7 were

8C6C93FC-0151-408A-96A4-1D4F5C3C0CE3.thumb.jpeg.ddae53ef2e5fed1e4d0bca864bb3d083.jpeg

Posted
1 hour ago, Watson11 said:

To be fair SWYL is not the only one that doesn’t know what a wingman looks like.  The AA selectors don’t either.  To compensate, mongrelpunt run their own rankings, and publish the latest ladder on Tuesdays.  The standings after round 7 were

8C6C93FC-0151-408A-96A4-1D4F5C3C0CE3.thumb.jpeg.ddae53ef2e5fed1e4d0bca864bb3d083.jpeg

But how the hell is McCluggage not there?

Posted
4 hours ago, MrReims said:

He plays on the footy now from what I can tell

Posted
On 5/6/2022 at 9:22 PM, rpfc said:

@Sir Why You Little god damn it man. 

Never have I seen a hole dug so quickly and… eagerly.

Stop It Golden Girls GIF by TV Land

17 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Amon has too run a lot more both ways to impress me as a genuine winger  those heat maps show him around the same area,  that is my point  

Not hugely damaging in his present role 

Golden Girls Rose GIF by TV Land

Posted
7 hours ago, MrReims said:

He is part midfield part winger therefore does not qualify

Posted
9 hours ago, Watson11 said:

this is good info re amon

but it's misleading re langdon as it was as at round 7 (ed's worst game) where ed dropped from #1 to #4

round 8 langdon was superb and amon had a relatively quiet game

as you are subscribed to mongrelpunt can you post the round 8 table when it comes available?

Posted
2 hours ago, daisycutter said:

this is good info re amon

but it's misleading re langdon as it was as at round 7 (ed's worst game) where ed dropped from #1 to #4

round 8 langdon was superb and amon had a relatively quiet game

as you are subscribed to mongrelpunt can you post the round 8 table when it comes available?

I’ll post the top 10 when it’s published.  The scoring is a mystery to me as they use stats and votes. @The Mongrel Punt would you be able to elaborate what stats are used and how the voting works?

Posted
7 minutes ago, Watson11 said:

I’ll post the top 10 when it’s published.  The scoring is a mystery to me as they use stats and votes. @The Mongrel Punt would you be able to elaborate what stats are used and how the voting works?

thanks w11.   can't help on the stats they use

Posted
On 5/6/2022 at 8:29 PM, Sir Why You Little said:

Fair call. But watching him ACTUALLY Play, he is not a Wingman

I take little notice of the Selected Sides or The Football Record 

Langdon is a true Wingman…

Sorry mate, I think you're way off in your assessment of Amon. He's a pure wingman and was in the AA squad, Langdon wasn't.  A very strong case could be made that Amon was ahead of Langdon last season. 

We've got an amazing system at the moment and in premiership teams your average players look better than they really are. Amon slots straight into the starting 18 and room would simply be made for him. 

I'm not remotely interested in how Amon is going in a Port Adelaide side that has been struggling a lot. 

Amon is icing on the cake sort of guy. Port will ask for a first rounder, but due to leverage, I think a 2nd rounder and a future 3rd will get it done. A 2nd rounder (Around pick 30-35) isn't enough. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Deedubs said:

Sorry mate, I think you're way off in your assessment of Amon. He's a pure wingman and was in the AA squad, Langdon wasn't.  A very strong case could be made that Amon was ahead of Langdon last season. 

We've got an amazing system at the moment and in premiership teams your average players look better than they really are. Amon slots straight into the starting 18 and room would simply be made for him. 

I'm not remotely interested in how Amon is going in a Port Adelaide side that has been struggling a lot. 

Amon is icing on the cake sort of guy. Port will ask for a first rounder, but due to leverage, I think a 2nd rounder and a future 3rd will get it done. A 2nd rounder (Around pick 30-35) isn't enough. 

I have already said that Amon is worth a Serious look, but if you think he was a better winger than Mr Ed last year then we simply disagree. 
i am watching the games, stats are often misleading. Langdon is the Pure Winger

Amon would need to learn 2 way running in my view

Posted
2 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

I have already said that Amon is worth a Serious look, but if you think he was a better winger than Mr Ed last year then we simply disagree. 
i am watching the games, stats are often misleading. Langdon is the Pure Winger

Amon would need to learn 2 way running in my view

You're definitely entitled to your opinion. But obviously the AA selectors thought he was better than Langdon. But regardless, at the very least he was in the mix for AA so that put him in the top 3rd of our list. 

I agree that stats aren't everything. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, Deedubs said:

You're definitely entitled to your opinion. But obviously the AA selectors thought he was better than Langdon. But regardless, at the very least he was in the mix for AA so that put him in the top 3rd of our list. 

I agree that stats aren't everything. 

I often disagree with the AA side and the Langdon omission to me was laughable. 
We all saw how good he was last year. He has set a new level in the game. It is a joy to watch Mr Ed in action. I seriously don’t know what the AA selectors were using as their Template. 
Flags are more important anyway 

Posted (edited)
On 5/10/2022 at 12:26 PM, Watson11 said:

Formula remains my own, but I use a combination of disposals/efficiency/metres gained, inside/rebound 50s, score involvements, goals,, turnovers, as well as player ratings every week decoded by the writer reviewing the game. 

They go in with the special herbs and spices every week to give a score and we get the cumulative amount.

Hope that helps

Edited by The Mongrel Punt
Posted (edited)

st-kilda-to-talk-with-power-free-agent-amon

"Sources familiar with Amon’s situation said that he would talk to the Saints, while Hawthorn and reigning premiers Melbourne are also among the clubs to have registered an interest in him.

It is unclear how the Demons could possibly accommodate Amon, however, given their imminent salary cap squeeze and the fact that they wish to re-sign star young ruckman/forward Luke Jackson and free agent gun Angus Brayshaw."

Reading that it looks like Saints are the front runners.

He is an Unrestricted Free Agent which means Port cannot match an offer as he is not one of their top 25% paid players..

Edited by Lucifers Hero
Posted
8 hours ago, The Mongrel Punt said:

They go in with the special herbs and spices every week to give a score and we get the cumulative amount.

Like with all player rating systems I can totally comprehend the herbs and spices but the rest is just a mystery.....

Posted

We  may not be able to match the Saints in money but with Melksham and Hibberd likely to retire or be delisted there must be some good coin there and if we win the flag he will be coming to a team with prospects of another flag before he retires.

Posted

Just on this - not sure how many of you watch Port games closely, but I am not sure how he would fit with you guys given the role he plays.

From where I sit, you play Langdon on one side of the ground and rotate Jordon with Harmes, ANB, and Brayshaw in the past - all these players have significant defensive sides to their games that Amon simply does not possess. He is a great runner and will work into the rotation to clog up space, but he is not a ball-winner in contested situations the likes of the three I listed. I am not sure he will be one to keep his width and spread the defence the way the others do. Sure, he can be taught, but to pay overs for someone that will play a role that four others already on the list can play... seems a little out of character for the current Melbourne team.

Far be it from me to tell you blokes about your team - I know how much attention to detail there is on this board - but I watch the wingers pretty closely across the league, and on face value, he does not appear to fit in with what you're doing at the moment.

Anyway, happy to be corrected

Posted

He’s off to the Saints?  Ah, WYL is right then.

#nohoper #whybother #wontwinaflagwithhimonteam #durkadurr

Posted
On 5/6/2022 at 7:31 PM, BoBo said:

Only really seen him play a bit,  not paid much attention to the kind of player he is, if he isn’t guaranteed a starting 22 spot, would he want to come to the club?

If we got him, who would he replace in the best 22?

I reckon we are keeping our options open in case Brayshaw decides to leave. 

Posted
On 5/10/2022 at 9:38 AM, daisycutter said:

Ed was only knocked off top spot for a week.

27CA0F0C-A90A-4991-A993-54923718DF06.thumb.jpeg.657f151d1a6462c7c810fb83fb5bff53.jpeg

Posted
On 5/12/2022 at 11:36 AM, The Mongrel Punt said:

Just on this - not sure how many of you watch Port games closely, but I am not sure how he would fit with you guys given the role he plays.

From where I sit, you play Langdon on one side of the ground and rotate Jordon with Harmes, ANB, and Brayshaw in the past - all these players have significant defensive sides to their games that Amon simply does not possess. He is a great runner and will work into the rotation to clog up space, but he is not a ball-winner in contested situations the likes of the three I listed. I am not sure he will be one to keep his width and spread the defence the way the others do. Sure, he can be taught, but to pay overs for someone that will play a role that four others already on the list can play... seems a little out of character for the current Melbourne team.

Far be it from me to tell you blokes about your team - I know how much attention to detail there is on this board - but I watch the wingers pretty closely across the league, and on face value, he does not appear to fit in with what you're doing at the moment.

Anyway, happy to be corrected

I posted the same earlier and have my doubts on his contested ability. I see him picking and choosing whether to contest.

Surely the money he will want will be difficult for us with our current needs.

Posted
On 5/12/2022 at 12:14 PM, tincan said:

I reckon we are keeping our options open in case Brayshaw decides to leave. 

Fair point