4 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

No Viney that's why.

Midfield looks far more balanced with Harmes playing good minutes in there and with less Viney.

1 minute ago, Boots and all said:

So what to do with Vines, I'm not sure!!!

Probably comes in for Sparrow if we're trying to guess what Goody would do.

9 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Call me a negative nelly all you like but we're top of the table, we should at least act like we know how to close out games and are disappointed with mental errors and poor preparation.

Petracca could've iced it straight after the restart. Spargo should've. Jackson too.

But out real issues were defensively were we still can't work out that 1 short kick takes 10 seconds, which can then be followed by the long bomb down the line that hopefully takes 30+ off the clock.

We could even do 3 or 4 short kicks, then the long bomb! Imagine that.

And the senior players who came out flat as a tack in the restart isn't acceptable. I'm looking at one Jake Lever. Seriously, get your head in the game mate and get some balance on those legs.

Nice enough first quarter and a good 3rd term. But the Eagles are absolutely making up the numbers this year and we gave them a genuine sniff whilst also letting the rest of the league know we're still not a mature outfit.

But we didn't lose to the Giants, Bombers or Saints this weekend did we? We actually won, against a team vying for finals, on their home deck, after quarantine for a week, in ridiculous circumstances with the lightning delay and the umps willing them home. Were we perfect? No. But we [censored] WON!!!!

5 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

No Viney that's why.

Midfield looks far more balanced with Harmes playing good minutes in there and with less Viney.

100% if Viney payed for the storm, I’d support him, as his limited decision making capacity is better suited to a different game. Can’t question his resolve or selflessness, but …

2 minutes ago, Boots and all said:

Either play him half forward or have him coming on and off the bench.

10 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

Nope not this win. The fact that we are 7-2 against top 8 teams so far counts for nothing if we don’t go all the way.

Gotta make it count or it’s just a waste. Sure go ahead and celebrate winning the battles, I want to win the war.

Yeah, but you have to win the battles or there is no ultimate war to be won!!

Back on top - where we BELONG!

1 minute ago, Jaded said:

How good is Harrison Petty?

Thank you and goodnight. 

He played a good game but was terrible after the restart. Before that outstanding

2 minutes ago, binman said:

Fair dinkum. Afteer all the hidings the dees have copped in Perth by the Eagles, what sort of supporter looks to diminish a win like that.

Nowhere have I diminished the win. I’ve only taken umbrage at placing our record of 7-2 against top 8 sides as the pinnacle of our season so far.

2 minutes ago, binman said:

That analogy makes literally no sense.

It’s a journey - destination kind of thing. Some just aren’t up for the journey, despite the utter illogic of it in every conceivable sense. We should pity them I reckon. Must be tough. 

9 minutes ago, Mel Bourne said:

5 minutes ago, Boots and all said:

Bring him in for Vandenberg

1 minute ago, Demon Disciple said:

pinnacle of our season so far

It IS the pinnacle of our season so far. By definition. 

12 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Call me a negative nelly all you like but we're top of the table, we should at least act like we know how to close out games and are disappointed with mental errors and poor preparation.

Petracca could've iced it straight after the restart. Spargo should've. Jackson too.

But out real issues were defensively were we still can't work out that 1 short kick takes 10 seconds, which can then be followed by the long bomb down the line that hopefully takes 30+ off the clock.

We could even do 3 or 4 short kicks, then the long bomb! Imagine that.

And the senior players who came out flat as a tack in the restart isn't acceptable. I'm looking at one Jake Lever. Seriously, get your head in the game mate and get some balance on those legs.

Nice enough first quarter and a good 3rd term. But the Eagles are absolutely making up the numbers this year and we gave them a genuine sniff whilst also letting the rest of the league know we're still not a mature outfit.

Hi negative nelly :)

14 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

Nope not this win. The fact that we are 7-2 against top 8 teams so far counts for nothing if we don’t go all the way.

Gotta make it count or it’s just a waste. Sure go ahead and celebrate winning the battles, I want to win the war.

Are you listening to yourself?

Read back over your post, but as a sane person, and you’ll surely see exactly how ridiculous that is. 

Last time we won 15 games (home and away) was 1958!!!

Luke Jackson is a genuine star, his performance was off the charts!!

And Alex Neal Bullen, best game he has played in a Melbourne jumper, take a bow or ten!!!

Up the Mighty Demons!!!!!!!!!

1 minute ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Bring him in for Vandenberg

Nope, I reckon AVB provided enough professional free kicks (and the associated physical rattling of WC players) that he played his role well and had a few nice kicks. 

24 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

We. Are. Top. Of. The. Ladder.

Disgraceful? It was a slopfest out there tonight. And we won. Would've won by 6+ goals without the delay.

It’s (the goal kicking) disgraceful overall, not just in isolation of today. I’m bloody stoked with the performance and the win today, even with the fade out in extremely unusual conditions, I’m bloody proud of the boys. But why should I be happy about the FACT that yet again we failed to execute a fundamental skill of the game? We do that, ie Jackson slots his set shot or Petracca knocks out that shot at the start of the restart and it’s game bloody over. But we allowed West Coast to stay in the game, in the same way we allowed Adelaide to stay in the game, and Hawthorn. It also kicked us out of the game against the Dogs  

I’m super happy with the result tonight, be we need to effing work on our finishing off good work. It’s cost us in the H&A season, will you be content with it costing us in the finals?

I agree the delay helped WC, no doubt on that. 

EDIT: Had to also mention Gawn’s miss from dead in front. For a ruck man that is actually pretty decent at field kicking his set shots are a complete lottery. 

Edited by Pates

1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Either play him half forward or have him coming on and off the bench.

There's plenty of minutes for Harmes even with Viney. With the amount that Petracca goes forward and signals another mid in there's no issue. We had plenty of Sparrow and Vanders on ball. 

I reckon Viney causes more damage to Oliver hunting the pill when Clarry has it covered, and just general poor disposal problems and gets the ball more than we wish he would. But the defensive side of his game still makes him a net positive more often than the alternatives, even if it is frustrating.

They started to get the balance of Viney to half forward and Harmes doing short stints on the wing over the last few weeks. Then we were a mile up on the Suns and they rested Harmes forward because we had Sparrow in the team and JJ subbed on, so why the heck not. As long as Goody isn't mad he won't bother with Harmes forward for more than a quick switching rotation, he's surely seen enough of that.

Oh and how about that gather and turn from bowey to clear the ball from d50, Taylor has unearthed another gem i reckon.

5 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

Nowhere have I diminished the win. I’ve only taken umbrage at placing our record of 7-2 against top 8 sides as the pinnacle of our season so far.

YOU SAID THE WIN MEANS NOTHING!!!!

IF THAT’S NOT DIMINISHING, I DON’T KNOW WHAT IS!

1 minute ago, Lord Nev said:

Probably comes in for Sparrow if we're trying to guess what Goody would do.

Yeah, his role has to change I think. A better option than Sparrow, will earn more possessions and similar disposal quality. I am concerned that after 2 weeks break and on the back of pretty ordinary form he may not perform at all (let me be wrong, please). The great thing about Harmes tonight was his burst/movement to space and creation of an outside option for Trac and Clarrie. Viney does not do that, thinks differently, and doesn't have the class to hit Harmes on the break. It's a problem for mine.

1 minute ago, Tom Dyson said:

And Alex Neal Bullen, best game he has played in a Melbourne jumper, take a bow or ten!!!

Makes me laugh to think that if he has a quiet one next week, there’ll be those calling for him to be dropped. Nibbler would be one of the first 10 selected every week. Unquestionably.  Nobody does what he does across 4 quarters. Ain’t always pretty, but it is always valued by those who matter. 

I honestly feel like i've chugged ten red bulls, how am I meant to get to sleep now????