3 hours ago, binman said:

The 'we need to fix our clearnces' posts are pretty depressing.

Remind me if going to tbe footy in tbe 90s and fans yelling 'just kick it!!!!!'

Agreed, I enjoyed Friday night when Brisbane were killing us in clearances and in turn on the scoreboard.

3 hours ago, Colin B. Flaubert said:

I can’t remember who posted it back in ‘13 after there was talk of how negative we all were,  but as was said at the time, positivity in itself is not an inherent virtue.

It absolutely is when it's about events over which you have absolutely no control except how you feel about them

11 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Agreed, I enjoyed Friday night when Brisbane were killing us in clearances and in turn on the scoreboard.

Quite frankly it was fine, I knew we could play much better than we were and the fact that the difference only got out to 20 points despite the fact that they were at full strength and could not possibly play any better was a positive.

3 minutes ago, Pollyanna said:

Quite frankly it was fine, I knew we could play much better than we were and the fact that the difference only got out to 20 points despite the fact that they were at full strength and could not possibly play any better was a positive.

Totally, I said in game day thread if we got on top around the centre/ball we would overrun them and we did.

The key was we started getting first use of the ball in the second half, because when Brinsbane were getting first use their key forwards were tough to stop.

Edited by Clint Bizkit

2 hours ago, deanox said:

My favourites were always the nuffies yeling "just kick it" immediately following up with "oh you're useless!" when they did kick it, long, to 3 opposition players. The cognitive dissonance was amazing.

Also I can't say I've heard it this year but definitely in 2019.

A little off-topic but this post reminded of the kick by Salem on the weekend, moments before Sparrow kicked his long goal.

He was trapped at half back, looked up saw nothing but Lions jumpers but had nowhere else to go, so absolutely skied the ball giving us a chance to get numbers to the contest. We won it pushed forward and eventually scored.

I thought it showed incredible IQ, but also humility - you don't have to aim for perfection. Sometimes a horrible looking kick can be the right kick.

Edited by Cheesy D. Pun

6 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Totally, I said in game day thread if we got on top around the centre/ball we would overrun them and we did.

The key was we started getting first use of the ball in the second half, because when Brinsbane were getting first use their key forwards were tough to stop.

They're a very talented well-drilled side at virtually full strength.  That win was absolute ripper.

27 minutes ago, fattysback said:

I really have no idea what this thread is about.

I think it is having a whinge about people having a whinge ?

5 hours ago, Cassiew said:

I think the culture of failure is so entrenched with some they accept it as inevitable and embrace the ridicule, like this Clown here. 

Nothing wrong with Gallows humour. Being able to laugh at bad situations helps us to cope. I’ve no problem with this kid and his video

I am annoyed with that hipster and his goddam cheeseboard though

12 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

For the life of me I can’t work out why Demonland was a miserable place when we were winning all those premierships over the past 15 years.

Casey won a couple of flags.

I agree

I got bored with the  experts who wouldn't  know footy if it came up and bit them on the [censored]

The negativity was and still is tiresome, especially the game day thread

I read the forum now and again when I want a laugh, especially @joeboy 3 word

35 minutes ago, FlashInThePan said:

I think it is having a whinge about people having a whinge ?

Thanks - think I’ll park this and go back to the postgame thread; pages 1 - 20!!

33 minutes ago, Better days ahead said:

Nothing wrong with Gallows humour. Being able to laugh at bad situations helps us to cope. I’ve no problem with this kid and his video

I am annoyed with that hipster and his goddam cheeseboard though

Yeah but he’s basically giving opposition fans fuel to fire at us. I’ve had fans of opposition sides post this [censored] each time we lose on Facebook. If he wants to be a fool do it on his own time. He’s an embarrassment 

Edited by Cassiew

1 hour ago, layzie said:

I’ve been in the game day thread a lot this year and while it can get a bit negative I can’t say I’ve seen anyone say any of those lines once this year.

I don’t like to get bogged down in negativity either but I don’t think people critiquing our performance during a game or venting their frustrations should be labelled bad fans or bad people. 

This year no, but look at as. I was even criticised for calling people out on those statements when I joined. Saying you’re Leaving the club because of a loss is emotions? Come on

1 hour ago, John Crow Batty said:

Whatever happened to Saty? Is he still around under another name? 

Careful what you wish for....

2 hours ago, Engorged Onion said:

It's a forum - and as forum - people can vent as much as they want, whether it is accurate or ill-informed. 

Just block them.

Also, the frustration is all about the anxiety the person is feeling about the potential to lose and the impact on their mood.

I've blocked circa 20 people - many who now have been removed from the site - seems to be a correlation between heightened responses that are posted, and the persons propensity to goad others...

Can you block someone here? I have a particular pest who has an issue with me (won’t name names) who I’d love to block 

5 minutes ago, Cassiew said:

Can you block someone here? I have a particular pest who has an issue with me (won’t name names) who I’d love to block 

yeah...its all under your profile page...just search around its there somewhere..try clicking on your user name top of the page.. and a drop down list will appear........you can report posts as well if someone is bothering you on purpose.

Edited by Wadda We Sing

2 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Oh now I get it. We were behind because we were losing clearances. I get it now.

Here I was, thinking we were losing because we were not applying anywhere near enough pressure or doing nearly enough defensive running and spread. Sully me to think the clearnce numbers was a symptom not a cause

I wonder if we should ask the AFL to restropectively give us the four points in games in 2020 where we smashed teams in clearances. And lost. Coz, it's such an important stat. 

Better not actually. They might take 4 points away from us in all the games we have lost the clearance differential this year. And won.

Just win a clearance!!!@@@@@

I was going to start a thread like this way back when we were.... oh, 5-0.... which seemed outlandish at the time. I'd noticed I wasn't quite as interested in things, given all the positivity, and was experiencing an entirely different realm of imaginative outcomes and associated emotions: lossless seasons and massive GF slaughterings, etc. Yeah, it was balanced with guarded optimism, for sure, but nevertheless such things appeared tatalisingly reachable, like a Tatts win.

But then I thought better of it and let the opportunity slide, and now I'm glad of it. I've settled into this positive thing quite nicely. It turns out that winning is interesting too, with fascinating twists and frustrations. It's nuanced. It's kinda like a really good bed: sure, you can't stay comfy in one position the whole night, and you still have to get up to pee, but on the whole its a great place to spend a third of your life.  In other words, there's ups and downs, but there's support underneath that keeps things in a good place.

And let's not forget that we're nowhere. If we don't make it to the final four, the season will be remembered as the one when the wheels fell off. If we don't make it to the final two, it will be a disappointment. I'm not expecting our still young and GF inexperienced side to win the cup this year, but making it seems about par. But we ain't anywhere near that yet.

Edited by Grr-owl

2 hours ago, Cheesy D. Pun said:

A little off-topic but this post reminded of the kick by Salem on the weekend, moments before Sparrow kicked his long goal.

He was trapped at half back, looked up saw nothing but Lions jumpers but had nowhere else to go, so absolutely skied the ball giving us a chance to get numbers to the contest. We won it pushed forward and eventually scored.

I thought it showed incredible IQ, but also humility - you don't have to aim for perfection. Sometimes a horrible looking kick can be the right kick.

How good is it, now that we have the cattle, to be able to ‘just kick it’ and allow the contested beasts/marking targets time to get to the ball drop and create that contest! 

Light-years from the Brent Moloney ‘Belt it 60m from the centre circle to the loose defender’ days. 

Clear sign that our system is working.

Side note:  thought this would be a thread about an older skin returning for the site, or somebody asking CAC what he thinks of the top 3 draft picks at about round 11

I reckon people who constantly attack negative or critical comments are just as bad. 

Random Memories of the ‘Old Demonland’:

One fine fellow came online in late 2013 to suggest that Cameron Ling shouldn’t be the coach to replace Neeld. His reasoning was that as he was so ugly, he wouldn’t be able to cop the bagging he would inevitably receive. If Neeld couldn’t cop it with his facial twitch, Lingy would be a dead duck in the middle of the road.

It just makes you dewy eyed, doesn’t it? You just don’t get that level of incisiveness anymore! 

Edited by Colin B. Flaubert

32 minutes ago, BenF said:

I reckon people who constantly attack negative or critical comments are just as bad. 

I had a go at a poster in the game day thread who I felt was being particularly negative about a team that was 10-1 and 20 points down. I won’t do it again, as it’s not particularly inclusive behaviour.

However, I do implore all supporters to give this team some credit, and let them use it. We don’t need to go to water and immediately start saying we are ‘cursed’ and ‘hopeless’ when we are simply in a contest. It’s a very high quality league.

The old Demonland for me was arguing about a merger with Hawthorn.

That irrelevant club is sitting near the bottom and tanking. The Dees are on top and premiership favourite.

Perhaps we should have taken them over.