Posted

Tom McDonald.  Beautiful, simple technique.  Drops the ball very low, minimising the chance for the ball to move out of position before being struck by the foot.

• Demonland changed the title to Best Goal-Kicking Technique?

Posted

Melksham is good too, Brown as well.

Fritsch if he stops being so tight in the arms is also solid. He’s the most nervous tho - must have nightmares about missing goals in the nude or something.

Posted
2 minutes ago, rpfc said:

Melksham is good too, Brown as well.

Fritsch if he stops being so tight in the arms is also solid. He’s the most nervous tho - must have nightmares about missing goals in the nude or something.

And cheers for this mental image. I can’t get it outta my head. ?

Posted

TMac was very sure on saturday night but he has missed a few this year.

Ben Brown's technique seems to be very effective. He split the posts with his 3 goals and was on line with his chance from outside 50 iirc but just fell short with the distance.

Posted (edited)

Both Brown and Tmac have awkward looking kicking techniques but very effective. They know what works for them and luckily their style was not coached out of them like so many who have “one style suits all” textbook techniques but miss too often. Good to see these two expressing their individuality  with success. 

Edited by John Crow Batty

Posted

TMac and Ben Brown are absolutely elite in this area. As good as there's been in recent history. Can't think of too many players league-wide I'd have ahead of them to kick a set shot from 40 metres out. I feel like this continues to be an underrated part of footy. Imagine having not one but two key forwards who are virtual certainties to give you 6 points every time they have a shot within 50. Weid's goal kicking his highly overrated - there are days where he sprays them everywhere. 

Petracca, Oliver and Gawn are the stuff of nightmares and if we ever have to rely on them to win us a Grand Final after the siren I'll probably die of heart failure first.

Posted

Josh Bruce is very accurate this year. I can find find his conversion rate but from memory it was something like 18-5 from set-shots this year. Not bad going at all.

Posted
1 minute ago, Better days ahead said:

Josh Bruce is very accurate this year. I can find find his conversion rate but from memory it was something like 18-5 from set-shots this year. Not bad going at all.

That's a useless stat unless you know where the set shots were taken from ...

If they were all 50m out he's having a blinder...

Posted
12 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

You can look up his shots from round 1-6 on https://www.statsinsider.com.au/afl/shot-charting

He's 66% for the year which is very decent. Above 70% inside 50 on 21 shots, but 50% from outside 50 on 8 shots.

Posted
5 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Disagree Jnr.

Goals scored from the 50m arc are worth the same as goals scored from the top of the square – 6 points. Plenty of players botch the easier attempts and nail the harder shots (less pressure)

Doesn’t matter where he’s scoring them from (and I’m not sure bty). If he’s good enough to take marks closer to goal all the better.

Posted

Players have different styles and routines, the most important things are they stick to their routines, they make smart choices about what type of kick they need (ie. no point snapping on the opposite foot from 30 out, or snapping at all from 45 out) and that their technique gets enough of the basics right.

Good rhythm, good solid kick (having to kick it 50 each time is rubbish, but don't kick it 25 from 20 out), as straight toward the target as possible and ideally as low a ball drop as possible.

Posted

In comparison Nat Fyfe is 2-15 for the year. He missed a dolly yesterday that was harder to miss than score. 

Posted

Of the current MFC players the one I would choose to kick a goal to win a GF it would be Brown by a mile . 

T mac from a tight angle would give me nightmares as would P , O , G .

Plugger is the best I have seen .

Posted
1 hour ago, Better days ahead said:

Disagree Jnr.

Goals scored from the 50m arc are worth the same as goals scored from the top of the square – 6 points. Plenty of players botch the easier attempts and nail the harder shots (less pressure)

Doesn’t matter where he’s scoring them from (and I’m not sure bty). If he’s good enough to take marks closer to goal all the better.

You can disagree all you like. If he's had 23 shots from the goal square and only got 18g 5b then he's not very accurate is he? 

Its meaningless unless you combine it from where they are kicked from.

Posted
1 hour ago, Better days ahead said:

In comparison Nat Fyfe is 2-15 for the year. He missed a dolly yesterday that was harder to miss than score. 

Oliver is 1-5

Posted
2 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Oliver is 1-5

Yep Oliver is the last person in our team I’d like to have a set shot. I’d take Nibbler, Petty, and Max over him any day of the week. From 40m or less I’d gladly take Salem, but of our forwards TMac has got his radar back, and Benny Brown has always been elite at set shots (even if it takes forever for him to kick it). 

Posted
5 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

You can disagree all you like.

Thanks. I will. 

9 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

If he's had 23 shots from the goal square and only got 18g 5b then he's not very accurate is he? 

It's still better than 17-6 from the 50m arc.

I guess you could argue that taking marks on the 50m is easier than top of the square. The conversion rate might be lower but if you're taking more shots you score more goals.

Out of interest is there a stat which combines conversion rate with degree of difficulty?

Posted (edited)
57 minutes ago, Craig Hutchinson said:

P , O , G .

Sorry Craig, you'll have to help me out here mate.  I've tried and failed to work out what that stands for.

edit:  Petracca, Oliver, Gawn?

Edited by demonstone
penny may have dropped

Posted
3 minutes ago, Better days ahead said:

Thanks. I will. 

It's still better than 17-6 from the 50m arc.

I guess you could argue that taking marks on the 50m is easier than top of the square. The conversion rate might be lower but if you're taking more shots you score more goals.

Out of interest is there a stat which combines conversion rate with degree of difficulty?

You're not too bright I see,

Posted
2 hours ago, Better days ahead said:

TMac was very sure on saturday night but he has missed a few this year.

Ben Brown's technique seems to be very effective. He split the posts with his 3 goals and was on line with his chance from outside 50 iirc but just fell short with the distance.

I’m just glad he doesn’t do his ridiculously long run-up as he used to. I’d be at risk of nodding off halfway through it. Coz old. 

Posted
50 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

You're not too bright I see,

Brighter than you i reckon although probably not saying much

Posted
4 hours ago, one_demon said:

Tom McDonald.  Beautiful, simple technique.  Drops the ball very low, minimising the chance for the ball to move out of position before being struck by the foot.

Tmac kicks like a bullet he's the guy you would want kicking for goal if you your life depended on it. Other quality set shots are BBB, Melksham, Salem and Fristch.

Posted

Ben Brown, despite his 45 km run up, doesn't miss many. 

Angus Brayshaw has a nice technique.

Posted
3 hours ago, jnrmac said:

You can disagree all you like. If he's had 23 shots from the goal square and only got 18g 5b then he's not very accurate is he? 

Its meaningless unless you combine it from where they are kicked from.

Same as free kicks . . . doesn't matter how many you get, it's where you get 'em that counts.