Posted

I flagged this on the Furphy thread, but thought it deserved a separate platform. The strong rumour going around is that AFL clubs are looking at adding additional sponsors logos to the front of jumpers in 2021, to make up the shortfall in revenue. 

Jumpers have always been sacred in our game and many opposed the back of jumper additions in the 90s, then came short sponsors. I am led to believe that clubs are looking at a large front of jumper sponsor, much like NRL and EPL. This was flagged on social media yesterday and Andy Maher and Bob Murphy mentioned it on SEN this afternoon.

Would you mind a large sponsor logo on the front of the jumper? What companies would you like to see on the jumper? I am of the opinion, as long as the text is a neutral white or uses our existing colours, I am happy to see it for a season or two. 

Interested in the thoughts of other ‘Landers.

Posted

For 2 years only @ $1.5mill per year.

If that what it takes for the club to get some of the cash it needs, so be it.

I can live with that.

Posted
38 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Looks like something a soccer goalie would wear. 

That’s not what has been proposed. That was a big footy designer knocking up EPL inspired designs. I imagine they’d look more like what the SANFL jumpers look like. 

Posted

Much as I don't like it I think our strip allows for that possibility of a large front of jumper sponsor underneath the V. But I can't see how certain other teams could do it. For the extra cash, it might be a necessary evil.

Posted

If we were playing the world game of football those are two cracking home and away kits. Visually though on an AFL guernsey they would look awful. Sponsor logos have already ruined the club polos that players and staff have to wear and we currently have ads plastered all over the field of play and even on the ball. 

Posted

I don't see how it would add sponsorship value. Wouldn't it just become the "top tier" sponsorship with the other front of jumper sponsor being relegated to a second tier sponsor? Would sponsors be willing to pay more than they currently are for the jumper sponsorship for a larger logo? IE would Zurich pay us an extra million (?) a year for that and then we get another sponsor for the normal front of jumper logo at the rate previously paid by Zurich?

Posted

I’ve always wondered how the economics of the NBA having a single apparel sponsor for all of its teams works (in Nike or previously Addidas) the team usually have there own apparel sponsor for training, but the match day kits and tops are all Nike ( or Jordan for Charlotte) 

obviously NB wouldn’t pay as much to us if they didn’t get their brand on the match day kit , but wondering if all the clubs sharing a collective apparel sponsorship that the AFL could market and negotiate  would generate more $$$ - and yes I know it’s more control in the AFLs hand ,  but potentially more $ to share by a larger scale, especially for the small clubs ?? 

Posted

I don't see a problem with this if it will help clubs survive. Would you rather watch an advertisement play for the Demons or lovingly look at logoless jumper in a museum.

Posted

it would seem to be inevitable that this will happen

once it comes in, it won't go away

i'm not a huge fan personally, but - like others - if it helps survival then all the better

the thing is, though, it'll help the rich get richer and the weak continue to survive

i really wish the afl had gone down the full-socialist model of taking all revenues generated and splitting em equally between clubs, but the likes of hawthorn in particular worked hard to block that 

Posted (edited)
11 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

For 2 years only @ $1.5mill per year.

If that what it takes for the club to get some of the cash it needs, so be it.

I can live with that.

Temporary measures have a habit of becoming permanent. Nevertheless, I'd take the money and run, whether it becomes permanent or not. Would I rather not have it? All things being equal, yes. But the world has changed and the economics of professional sport have to change with it.

Added comment: We also have to consider the alternatives. If the choice is between this type of jumper sponsorship being allowed or membership and entry fees being increased, I'll take the uglier jumper, thanks. Not because of my personal circumstance, but because any increase is likely to reduce match day attendances and total membership numbers. 

Edited by La Dee-vina Comedia
Posted

Good points La Dee. The reality is that any sponsorship (within reason) is good income for the club. ATM beggars can't be choosers. Bring it on!

Posted (edited)
7 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

Good points La Dee. The reality is that any sponsorship (within reason) is good income for the club. ATM beggars can't be choosers. Bring it on!

It would be interesting to know what you and our Demonland colleagues think the "within reason" limits are. Tobacco and poker machines are banned by law, so it can't be that. But which of the following would be acceptable and which unacceptable? Companies or organisations promoting:

• alcohol
  • guns
  • sex (such as Sexyland)
  • betting/casinos etc
  • coal mining
  • political parties
  • governments (we already have NT and Hawthorn has Tassie. But would China be acceptable?)
  • religion
  • tattoo parlors
  • pharmaceutical products
  • what else might be unacceptable, particularly in this more difficult climate?
Edited by La Dee-vina Comedia
added poker machines

Posted (edited)
16 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

It would be interesting to know what you and our Demonland colleagues think the "within reason" limits are. Tobacco and poker machines are banned by law, so it can't be that. But which of the following would be acceptable and which unacceptable? Companies or organisations promoting:

• alcohol
  • guns
  • sex (such as Sexyland)
  • betting/casinos etc
  • coal mining
  • political parties
  • governments (we already have NT and Hawthorn has Tassie. But would China be acceptable?)
  • religion
  • tattoo parlors
  • pharmaceutical products
  • what else might be unacceptable, particularly in this more difficult climate?

Given we just got out of pokies, a lot of those you list might be no.

But it's extraordinary times, so who the hell knows. We have had a Chinese airline before.

FMD, imagine the club major sponsor being the 'church' of scientology!

Sexyland could be ok if we get VIP cards....

Edited by Moonshadow
Posted

Was watching the NRL last night. I messaged my brothers who live in rugby states that the players looked like walking advertisments. Would hate to see the MFC go like that.

Where do you stop ...we may as well call ourselves the Sexyland xyzs !! a la the Japanese leagues.

Interesting aside with the NRL coverage was tight camera shots focused  on players meant the round the ground ads became almost invisible.

I also see that we have moved to a one minute break between a goal and the resumption of play.I assume this is a TV demand to allow for more ads.

Posted
8 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

I was thinking of another word that starts with "D"

Me too, Jim!   I reckon a nice big "Demonland" logo would look rather fetching.