2 minutes ago, praha said:

He's a passionate Melbourne man that is frustrated. What do you want him to say? Everything will be rosy? Nothing he said is wrong.

Should join the gang of happy clappers and faith based commentators on here.

2 minutes ago, Kent said:

Should join the gang of happy clappers and faith based commentators on here.

It's mostly okay on here Kent, it's fine to disagree with someone whether they're being overly negative or cringe worthingly positive. But to criticize someone for being passionate and frustrated, especially when their insight is completely reasonable, is just silly.

19 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Last year we won the contested footy. 

This year teams have improved and now win the footy. We are exposed.  

Goodwin had no plan B. 

In a nutshell, this.

Fundamentals arent right. We have gone from "bruise free" to "everyone get in there!". Its so easy for opposition to transition and set up knowing we are screwed if we dont come out of packs cleanly...and that isnt happening because we have very few skilled outside players.

There is this romantic notion that a solid preseason and a healthy list is gonna put us back in the mix. 

If we dont adapt, we are gonna be right back where we are in '20.

31 minutes ago, praha said:

He's a passionate Melbourne man that is frustrated. What do you want him to say? Everything will be rosy? Nothing he said is wrong.

He could make some more suggestions as to how MFC might improve rather than just sneering at how bad they are. He did it last year too even when the team was doing well. There was lots of speculation a couple of years ago that he would put his hand up to coach. He didn’t and that’s fine but he doesn’t have the same credentials as Paul Roos to comment on coaching.

Edited by President Dee Trump

14 hours ago, SFebes said:

Funny you mention this, on On the Couch I think they said WCE are 18th in contested possessions and Richmond 16th. Hmmmm, why do we bash our players around while other teams laugh at us.

we were winning battles and conceding wars

1 hour ago, President Dee Trump said:

Garry Lyon has the attitude that the Dees are a basket case and will never come good. That’s not helpful from a past captain and great player of the club.

Im not seeing a lot of evidence to the contrary...that probably doesnt help

10 minutes ago, President Dee Trump said:

He could make some more suggestions as to how MFC might improve rather than just sneering at how bad they are. He did it last year too even when the team was doing well. There was lots of speculation a couple of years ago that he would put his hand up to coach. He didn’t and that’s fine but he doesn’t have the same credentials as Paul Roos to comment on coaching.

I think you are suffering from a case of selective hearing, i listen to him and Roosy and others often say what the Demons need to do, in fact they say it a lot, how about you aim your frustration at the guys inside the club that appear not to know what to do and for the record where was this speculation about him wanting to coach a couple of years ago? he has stated time and time again, that he never wanted to be a coach.. i wonder if other club greats in the media are as maligned and degraded as much as Lyon is, I'm starting to get a bit sick of it. 

16 minutes ago, President Dee Trump said:

Except he has no coaching credentials and is a commentator, not an analyst. For the record, he was very praising of Melbourne last year towards the end of the season and said Oliver was the best midfielder he had seen at the club in his time supporting and being part of the club. So saying what's going wrong is easy when the issues are obvious. He's under no obligation to say how things should be improved, when the things he's focusing on are effort and fundamentals. 

He's a conversationalist, he gets the conversation going with remarks and opinions. Roos is the analyst to break it down and provide a solution or otherwise. 

Lyon just stats the obvious and bleeding hearts can't accept it. He and Ox are passionate and emotional in their support for Melbourne. His negative remarks alone should prompt change. He's under no obligation to provide recommendations.

Besides the last time he did we hired Neeld and Melbourne supporters wont let him live that down.

17 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

we were winning battles and conceding wars

Sounds like me when I play Civilization VI.

3 minutes ago, praha said:

Except he has no coaching credentials and is a commentator, not an analyst. For the record, he was very praising of Melbourne last year towards the end of the season and said Oliver was the best midfielder he had seen at the club in his time supporting and being part of the club. So saying what's going wrong is easy when the issues are obvious. He's under no obligation to say how things should be improved, when the things he's focusing on are effort and fundamentals. 

He's a conversationalist, he gets the conversation going with remarks and opinions. Roos is the analyst to break it down and provide a solution or otherwise. 

Lyon just stats the obvious and bleeding hearts can't accept it. He and Ox are passionate and emotional in their support for Melbourne. His negative remarks alone should prompt change. He's under no obligation to provide recommendations.

Besides the last time he did we hired Neeld and Melbourne supporters wont let him live that down.

A commentator? Yes in Sao far as calls games. Poorly in my opinion.

On on the couch he is supposed to be an analyst. He does that poorly too. In my opinion. 

On his radio show, like the ox, he is an entertainer. But doesn't entertain me (whereas the ox does).

Loved him as a player. Don't really care what he says about the dees in the media, in part because I just don't rate him in those roles.

As an aside Lyon was the year above me at school. Was of course a gun footballer. Like a lot (but not all) top jocks strutted around like he owned the joint. 

6 minutes ago, binman said:

Like a lot (but not all) top jocks strutted around like he owned the joint. 

Well now we know why Melbourne drafted him ?

1 minute ago, praha said:

Well now we know why Melbourne drafted him ?

I might be wrong but I'm pretty sure he was pre draft. In the Melbourne zone.

2 hours ago, binman said:

I might be wrong but I'm pretty sure he was pre draft. In the Melbourne zone.

Yes, Shepp area was in our zone back then.

I believe Les Bamblett was from that zone too.

Edited by Moonshadow

On 8/13/2019 at 7:20 AM, Demonsone said:

This has been happening all year!

Either our players are thick heads, lazy or Goodwin can’t coach & has unwound all of Roos defensive mode!

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/paul-roos-says-he-couldnt-believe-how-lazy-melbourne-players-were-in-loss-to-collingwood/news-story/fe66e01c2f1be4bc7621fbf0a66724b4

Our players are very lazy and despondent and some with big heads although they might have an attitude  they brought it upon  themselves.

IMO l cannot blame Goodwin for that as they have to take ownership.

Edited by nosoupforme

On 8/12/2019 at 5:43 PM, Skin Deeamond said:

Thanks Garry Lyon for your constant non-constructive criticism of the MFC and your role in picking the worst coaches we’ve had this century. Thanks Gerard Healy for leaving us in the late 1980s just when we needed you to help win a premiership. Thanks Roosy for taking the big bucks, leaving when we still needed you and now just sniping at your successor. You all need to take a 360 degree look at yourselves!

Have a sook mate. 

This clip perfectly illustrates our primary issue this year . . . injuries, immaturity, and underdone players.

Brayshaw isn't on Pendlebury - Melksham is. In his second week back after a three-month injury. Three months, in-season.

Although I concede that the footage has been framed to suit a media narrative, that shouldn't be a huge surprise. I also concede that the highlighted issues do exist - but that's not the point: Brayshaw has been called out on national TV and chastised on here for something that simply isn't true. Brayshaw is not on a bloke called Pendlebury, thanks Gerald Healy. 

Watch closely.

Brayshaw enters the fray from the centre-square and Pendles from the forward area. Freeze at 0.11 if you like and you will see Melksham trailing Pendlebury. Gus then puts a check on a loose Pendlebury but is concerned about his own man (I can't work out who it is from my fuzzy screen) setting up in space up-field. You can see the player moving away from the pack and Gus looking back.

Melksham has meanwhile been sucked into the contest, not unreasonably but puts in what I do consider a fairly lazy effort (albeit briefly getting his hands on the ball), and can't cover when Pendles later breaks forward - ironically, for those calling out Gus for 'cheating' - before the Pies have clearly won control.

The numbers around the contest are actually fairly even (despite one misleading freeze-frame). The biggest issue, besides Melksham losing touch of his opponent and Lewis probably guarding too close, was Jones allowing Sidebottom off the hook due to a lack of leg-speed, or possibly inexperience at half-back (and then Lewis not holding) - granting the Pies an extra number on the unprotected forward-boundary side and then free inbound receivers.

If you watch the game-day footage it shows the behind-the-goals angle, and it's crystal-clear that Melksham is following Pendlebury. In fact he gave away a free on him following a stoppage at around the 16 minute mark of the third-quarter countdown (the incident highlighted was at the 14 minute mark). Just prior to the ball-up, Brayshaw, who was at the time next to Pendles, hurriedly runs away (presumably to the interchange bench, or at least under direction), calling someone in.

Players can easily be made to look lazy when there's a lack of cohesion, but if you want to lay blame for this single goal, you should look at precisely our three most senior players on the field on the weekend - Jones, Lewis and Melksham - but not Brayshaw.

Jones is new to half-back (thanks in part to Jetta's injury absence) and Lewis is about fifteen days from retirement after close to the same number of years in the game. Melksham, meanwhile, has been injured for three months, and I imagine sent to follow Pendles for periods (and subsequently exploited due to a lack of match fitness, getting dragged up and down the field ) just to get his hands on the ball.

TLDR: it's the injuries, stupid - and that Angus deserves a serious apology from Healy and co. and many on here, many in turn who I imagine will be too stubborn to concede that they were genuinely unfair, at least on this occasion. I will await such reversals of opinion, and will judge posters accordingly. #freeangusbrayshaw #fightfakenews.

Edited by Skuit

6 hours ago, Skuit said:

This clip perfectly illustrates our primary issue this year . . . injuries, immaturity, and underdone players.

Brayshaw isn't on Pendlebury - Melksham is. In his second week back after a three-month injury. Three months, in-season.

Although I concede that the footage has been framed to suit a media narrative, that shouldn't be a huge surprise. I also concede that the highlighted issues do exist - but that's not the point: Brayshaw has been called out on national TV and chastised on here for something that simply isn't true. Brayshaw is not on a bloke called Pendlebury, thanks Gerald Healy. 

Watch closely.

Brayshaw enters the fray from the centre-square and Pendles from the forward area. Freeze at 0.11 if you like and you will see Melksham trailing Pendlebury. Gus then puts a check on a loose Pendlebury but is concerned about his own man (I can't work out who it is from my fuzzy screen) setting up in space up-field. You can see the player moving away from the pack and Gus looking back.

Melksham has meanwhile been sucked into the contest, not unreasonably but puts in what I do consider a fairly lazy effort (albeit briefly getting his hands on the ball), and can't cover when Pendles later breaks forward - ironically, for those calling out Gus for 'cheating' - before the Pies have clearly won control.

The numbers around the contest are actually fairly even (despite one misleading freeze-frame). The biggest issue, besides Melksham losing touch of his opponent and Lewis probably guarding too close, was Jones allowing Sidebottom off the hook due to a lack of leg-speed, or possibly inexperience at half-back (and then Lewis not holding) - granting the Pies an extra number on the unprotected forward-boundary side and then free inbound receivers.

If you watch the game-day footage it shows the behind-the-goals angle, and it's crystal-clear that Melksham is following Pendlebury. In fact he gave away a free on him following a stoppage at around the 16 minute mark of the third-quarter countdown (the incident highlighted was at the 14 minute mark). Just prior to the ball-up, Brayshaw, who was at the time next to Pendles, hurriedly runs away (presumably to the interchange bench, or at least under direction), calling someone in.

Players can easily be made to look lazy when there's a lack of cohesion, but if you want to lay blame for this single goal, you should look at precisely our three most senior players on the field on the weekend - Jones, Lewis and Melksham - but not Brayshaw.

Jones is new to half-back (thanks in part to Jetta's injury absence) and Lewis is about fifteen days from retirement after close to the same number of years in the game. Melksham, meanwhile, has been injured for three months, and I imagine sent to follow Pendles for periods (and subsequently exploited due to a lack of match fitness, getting dragged up and down the field ) just to get his hands on the ball.

TLDR: it's the injuries, stupid - and that Angus deserves a serious apology from Healy and co. and many on here, many in turn who I imagine will be too stubborn to concede that they were genuinely unfair, at least on this occasion. I will await such reversals of opinion, and will judge posters accordingly. #freeangusbrayshaw #fightfakenews.

Well played.

9 hours ago, Skuit said:

Watch closely.

It's all about structure and ours is terrible. If the players don't know where to stand or who to mind ten we have a structure problem.

No one can deny we like the 'bees to the honeypot' structure though.