Get Bolton to the Dees. We need some new ideas in the footy department, and Bolton knows Clarko Footy.

• Demonland changed the title to Carlton Sack Brendon Bolton

• Author

I honestly feel for Bolton, and from reports he had a good relationship with the players. Unfortunately when it came to game day performance they just could not translate that into a winning performance. 

Bolton will get snapped up next year.

Interestingly Cameron Bruce was one of his assistant coaches this year and was rated extremely highly by Clarkson. Wonder what happens to him also.

On 03/06/2019 at 02:50, Bitter but optimistic said:

It's a toss off up between Carlton and Essendon for my most hated team

The AFL can send them both to Tassie ( or further south) for all I GAF. 

Now, now Bitter we should not litter poor Tassie with such scum.

On 03/06/2019 at 02:44, GCDee said:

FWIW I can see Carlton getting a PP this year to compensate for their stupid trade. 

Probably a end of first round so not too many teams kick up a fuss... 

Totally agree. League will manipulate it so they get PP first pick in draft to compensate for their trading stuff up last year. Watch the media get on board and start pushing for it. 

SOS should go with Bolton of course, has recruited poorly outside of their blue chip kids, but he’s a sacred Carlton cow and will stay. 

The GWS rejects recruiting policy was SOS’ baby and has been a disaster.

I would prefer a guy like Bolton to McArtney as Goodwin’s assistant. We need some fresh ideas and as others have said Bolton comes with Clarkson pedigree. He’ll be a great assistant once again for whoever nabs him.

On 03/06/2019 at 04:09, Matsuo Basho said:

Totally agree. League will manipulate it so they get PP first pick in draft to compensate for their trading stuff up last year. Watch the media get on board and start pushing for it. 

SOS should go with Bolton of course, has recruited poorly outside of their blue chip kids, but he’s a sacred Carlton cow and will stay. 

The GWS rejects recruiting policy was SOS’ baby and has been a disaster.

The second I saw the trade go through you could just feel that Carlton already had an under the table agreement with the AFL if/when the trade went belly up, this could be one of the reasons SOS is kept out of the spot light. 

The first ever live trade, all the attention the trade will get through out the year as Adelaide climb the ladder and Carlton well, stay where they are, think about all the articles and media attention this deal has/will get? 

I've seen Bolton's fresh ideas as Carlton for the past few years and I hope we don't got near him!

On 03/06/2019 at 02:11, dazzledavey36 said:

The jungle drums are beating of the prospect that Bolton might get the chop.

While i have always felt that Bolton was the right man for the job coming from the Hawthorn environment, i am bewildered that the blow torch is not on their list manager SOS.

Right now they would be laughing with pick 1 in their pockets sewn up, but traded it during the draft period to adelaide who currently have pick 1 now.

Over the years SOS hes brought in VFL standard players to fill in list position. The names of Jarrod Pickett, Rhys Palmer, Alex Fasolo, Cam O' Shea, liam Sumner, Aaron Mullett, Andrew Phillips, Tom Bugg, Matt Shaw, Daniel Gorringe, Sam Kerridge, Billy Smedts, Kristian Jacksh, Hugh Goddard and Matt Kennedy are just some of the names that he has stockpiled with and that have been unsuccessful. 

With those names that he has bought in surely he has to come under the microscope?

Totally agree with you on this and you can add quite possibly his biggest mistake of all from last year - overrating his squad and going for the Liam Stocker. That deal has not only cost them Matt Rowell (how good did he look for Vic Metro on Saturday) but also quite possibly Clarkson, who was rumoured to be close to agreeing to the switch post-season. 

SOS can look back on a career that saw him named full back of one century and worst recruiter of the next century.

And amazingly he had the gaul to give Bolton the cold shoulder when he didn't play his son earlier this season.

At least he did have a great eye for talent when he chose his wife!

On 03/06/2019 at 02:13, Collar-Jazz-Knee said:

He is rivaling Barry Prendergast as the most inept recruiter in history.

Don't let their tanking fool you,  'CJK'.

... they couldn't wait until the Mid-Season draft  paseed buy.

Now the  'merry-go-round'  begins in earnest...  and we will start to see the real truth take shape.

On 03/06/2019 at 04:18, Matsuo Basho said:

I would prefer a guy like Bolton to McArtney as Goodwin’s assistant. We need some fresh ideas and as others have said Bolton comes with Clarkson pedigree. He’ll be a great assistant once again for whoever nabs him.

Did he keep those â€˜fresh ideas’ under lock and key whilst he was at Carlton? 

On 03/06/2019 at 04:01, Tony Tea said:

Get Bolton to the Dees. We need some new ideas in the footy department, and Bolton knows Clarko Footy.

Not a silly idea  'TT',  I reckon.

He's a teacher of kids,  just not a coach of men,  imv.   And he knows that list like the back on his hands. 

They will be a powerful list,  in a short time.

On 03/06/2019 at 04:36, DV8 said:

Not a silly idea  'TT',  I reckon.

He's a teacher of kids,  just not a coach of men,  imv.   And he knows that list like the back on his hands. 

They will be a powerful list,  in a short time.

Neeld was seen as a teacher instead of a coach as well. Plenty of similarities between he and Bolton. I’d stay well clear of the ‘teacher’ types. 

On 03/06/2019 at 02:14, Good Lord George said:

Carlton spooked by North pulling the trigger on Scott. Don't want to be out of the race by holding on.

How do you know,  they don't already have him locked away ?

On 03/06/2019 at 04:35, Ethan Tremblay said:

Did he keep those â€˜fresh ideas’ under lock and key whilst he was at Carlton? 

He’s a good assistant with a schoolteaching background. Doesn’t mean he doesn’t have fresh ideas - it just didn’t translate into the top job. He’s not a leader of men into battle. He’s a cuddler. A 2IC. Good cop to the bad cop.

On 03/06/2019 at 04:39, Ethan Tremblay said:

Neeld was seen as a teacher instead of a coach as well. Plenty of similarities between he and Bolton. I’d stay well clear of the ‘teacher’ types. 

I'm not aiming this at the senior team,  'ET'.   But to teach/support our younger players,  as they enter the club. 

He doesn't have to be head coach of Casey...  and certainly not Melbourne.

And seriously, I can't draw any comparison between Neeld and Bolton...

One was needed to crack a rotten soft club open  like an egg, to to break it's cultural hold...  and rebuild it's mind-frame, like the Army does with it's incumbents. He wasn't allowed to get there to that point because of lacking faith in the concept.

... the other was a nursery school teacher for a club in infancy... whilst they're business model,  was to cast a wide-net as possible,  to capture as many infants as they could muster...  until they thought they could take the world by storm.

Lets just see now how they go,  in the following 12 months time.

Edited by DV8

On 03/06/2019 at 04:51, chook fowler said:

They want Leigh Matthews. FMD

Is this a red herring ?

Matthews would do a great interim job,  for 2 Yrs.   But this might be just a distraction from the obvious,  connecting of Scott and the timing.

On 03/06/2019 at 04:39, Ethan Tremblay said:

You don't want a bull moose personality as an assistant. Bolton would bring heaps of IP.

I love how losing to Essendon was the last straw