Posted

This bloke was gettable last trade period and I was pushing him hard on DL, with not a lot of support from other posters. 

Given our current position with key forwards and his form, he would have been invaluable.

GWS was looking to make salary cap room and he would not have cost a lot in salary or trade.

I said at the time he was big, mobile and could play both ends of the ground.

He would have been a good get for us and might have helped us win another game or two to this point of the season, which would have kept our finals chances alive. 

Big pity.

Posted
Just now, dazzledavey36 said:

Did a medical at North and then they decided not to pursue any further.. LOL

We obviously did medicals on May and KK. 

Posted

My mate on Sunday suggested that he is not necessarily the nicest bloke running around - no further details, but not sure what that means in terms of culture?

Posted
On 5/27/2019 at 6:20 PM, Call Me What You Will said:

My mate on Sunday suggested that he is not necessarily the nicest bloke running around - no further details, but not sure what that means in terms of culture?

Fair enough. Happy we have nice guys with no skill.

Posted

so what?

Can he play footy Will he contribute. Nice is not always nice.

Posted

Perhaps some truth into that.

It seemed it odd that GWS were happy to let him go considering he had a good season last year.

Having a much better year this year.

Posted
4 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

We need a Jeremy Cameron type forward before getting in another player who’s a good second or third tall forward. 

Cameron's up in 2020.  If we aren't going after this bloke we have a screw loose...21824787_Screenshot_20190529-140756_SamsungInternet.thumb.jpg.f68df5e7a8fd2bc4bbf471cad16df93c.jpg

Posted
4 hours ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

We need someone who can teach our current forwards how to kick.

That's why i say put the great Allen Jakovich on the payroll?

Posted

We need a Jeremy Cameron type forward before getting in another player who’s a good second or third tall forward. 

We cleared one to the Dockers. Who do you suggest we can get?  Another May deal?

Posted
5 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

The Paul Roos theory: one dhead will suppress the performance of 10 others 

Dusty suppressed his team to a flag, winning a Brownlow along the way.

Wish we had a suppressor.

Posted

We haven't got a good second or third tall forward, so not a bad idea at low cost and trade price to have got one.

BTW Finlayson has good form at both ends of the ground and unlike most of our players, can take a mark, kick a goal and even pass the footy accurately.

Posted
1 hour ago, Redleg said:

Dusty suppressed his team to a flag, winning a Brownlow along the way.

Wish we had a suppressor.

Finlayson is not in the same league as Dusty.

And Dusty changed a lot before they won a flag. 

Remember, he had no serious takers, including us, when his contract was up before then. There was a reason for that at the time which was more than his price

Posted
13 hours ago, Kent said:

so what?

Can he play footy Will he contribute. Nice is not always nice.

And good is not always  'good'...   sometimes Bad...  is Great.

Who here would not draft a young Dermie,  or Lockett,  if they appeared before us this year ?

Posted
7 hours ago, Rusty Nails said:

Cameron's up in 2020.  If we aren't going after this bloke we have a screw loose...21824787_Screenshot_20190529-140756_SamsungInternet.thumb.jpg.f68df5e7a8fd2bc4bbf471cad16df93c.jpg

Who would we chase for a running player ?    Coniglio or Whitfield..  

I reckon I would go Coniglio 1st...  as we need leadership,  and he has leadership already in his repertoire.

Posted
7 hours ago, Redleg said:

We haven't got a good second or third tall forward, so not a bad idea at low cost and trade price to have got one.

BTW Finlayson has good form at both ends of the ground and unlike most of our players, can take a mark, kick a goal and even pass the footy accurately.

But he might offend the kings of the North.?  Red.  He might give someone 'the bird'... or worse, that two fingered job.

Posted
6 hours ago, Watts the matter said:

Lol, the same Roos that recruited Harry O?

Or was He,  & We...  doing the AFL a favour (bidding),  that they required of us ?  relieving the woods of him ? 

He was a runner of some ability.  but too many distractions.

Posted

Hogan was a key forward, contested marking beast in his first 2 years. Just what we needed. Soon became a running high half forward who would kick a couple of goals per game. Could hardly take a contested mark in the end. Loves to party, wanted home to his 'mates' in WA, pictures tell a thousand words. 

We need a stable key forward, whether that be Tmac, Weid or someone like Cameron. 

Posted
8 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

Hogan was a key forward, contested marking beast in his first 2 years. Just what we needed. Soon became a running high half forward who would kick a couple of goals per game. Could hardly take a contested mark in the end. Loves to party, wanted home to his 'mates' in WA, pictures tell a thousand words. 

We need a stable key forward, whether that be Tmac, Weid or someone like Cameron. 

Interesting that Hogan has kicked only 8 goals so far this year with a few Joe the Goose ones included and also didn’t have a single kick against the Lions. Clearly not setting the world on fire.