KC from Casey 7,211 Posted May 22, 2019 Posted May 22, 2019 Casey’s last half fade out has left it well behind the 8 ball and has a tough task a Point Gellibrand against the Seagulls on Sunday. WILLIAMSTOWN v CASEY DEMONS Sunday May 26, 2.00pm Downer Oval, Point Gellibrand WILLIAMSTOWN B 10. L. Masters, 21. J. Tippett, 4. B. Myers HB 17. J. Charleston, 5. B. Monk, 18. J. Greiser C 25. L. Hunt, 9. A. Marcon, 6. S. Martyn HF 8. N. Mellington, 26. J. Thorpe, 22. J. Pickess F 37. N. Ebinger, 28. C. Buykx-Smith, 2. B. Kennedy FOLL 49. N. Meese, 7. M. Hibberd, 24. W. Wheeler I/C 38. N. Buykx, 33. L. Carter, 27. B. Morrish, 1. J. Pongracic, 16. N. Rodda, 31. C. Stephens, 30. J. Tardio, 15. O. Tate 23P 46. J. Ayton-Delaney IN O. Tate, J. Tardio, C. Buykx-Smith, N. Rodda, N. Buykx, S. Martyn, L. Carter, B. Morrish OUT S. Dunell, M. Norton, J. Minogue, N. Sing CASEY DEMONS B 29. B. Fritsch, 20. J. Hutchins, 12. J. Jordon HB 28. J. Harmes, 11. J. Lever, 6. J. Lewis C 18. M. Gent, 9. C. Spargo, 27. B. Stretch HF 3. K. Chandler, 22. D. Keilty, 19. M. Hannan F 1. T. Bedford, 23. S. Weideman, 2. J. Kennedy-Harris FOLL 25. B. Preuss, 17. C. Maynard, 26. C. Wagner I/C 7. J. Briggs, 30. W. Collis, 5. J. Di Pasquale, 14. T. Freeman, 21. M. Lefau, 31. T. McCaffrey, 13. J. Munro, 16. A. Quigley, 8. W. Stephenson, 10. C. Stockdale, 24. L. Wale-Buxton, 4. M. White 23P 15. N. Lowden IN T. McCaffrey, J. Lewis, M. Hannan, J. Kennedy-Harris, S. Weideman, W. Collis, C. Spargo OUT Sparrow, M. Lewis Quote
binman 44,807 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 Annoyed this game is on at the same time as the seniors. Live nearby and would have gone. Great ground on the rare occasions it is not blowing a game. Quote
dieter 3,325 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 3 minutes ago, binman said: Annoyed this game is on at the same time as the seniors. Live nearby and would have gone. Great ground on the rare occasions it is not blowing a game. I played cricket there, 1967, sub-district seconds. Big ground... Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,772 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 Magnificent site for footy on a nice day. Fish and chips on the Esplanade and a short walk to the ground. The site of ships sailing past the outer wing has to be seen to be appreciated. 3 Quote
dieter 3,325 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 42 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said: Magnificent site for footy on a nice day. Fish and chips on the Esplanade and a short walk to the ground. The site of ships sailing past the outer wing has to be seen to be appreciated. When I was fielding at fine leg - I returned that ball over the bails effortlessly - I imagined I was Captain Shultz in the U boat picking off those wealthy yachties... 1 1 Quote
old dee 24,082 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 3 hours ago, binman said: Annoyed this game is on at the same time as the seniors. Live nearby and would have gone. Great ground on the rare occasions it is not blowing a game. I am still to make a decision about which game to attend. Depending on who ends up in the team I could go to this game. More to learn at this game about our chances in 2020 than attending the G. Decision time will be tonight when the teams are announced. 1 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,772 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 17 minutes ago, old dee said: I am still to make a decision about which game to attend. Depending on who ends up in the team I could go to this game. More to learn at this game about our chances in 2020 than attending the G. Decision time will be tonight when the teams are announced. Know how you feel but I think I will still manage to get a whole section of the AFL members to myself for this one so I'll head along to the G. Weather on Saturday could be a bit wild and woolly. Quote
old dee 24,082 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 8 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said: Know how you feel but I think I will still manage to get a whole section of the AFL members to myself for this one so I'll head along to the G. Weather on Saturday could be a bit wild and woolly. Think it is Sunday DJ but you are correct the weather looks poor and that means it will be terrible at willy. Could be the deciding factor as poor weather at willy is like the visiting the south pole. Noticed the MFC are giving away tickets for the G match. Must be expecting a big crowd!!!!!! Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,772 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 6 minutes ago, old dee said: Think it is Sunday DJ but you are correct the weather looks poor and that means it will be terrible at willy. Could be the deciding factor as poor weather at willy is like the visiting the south pole. Noticed the MFC are giving away tickets for the G match. Must be expecting a big crowd!!!!!! sorry.. I did mean Sunday but had a senior moment I still have flashbacks to GWS' first win at the MCG which was of course against us in a game that we were expected to win easily. They hired a cheersquad which consisted of four or five guys dressed in orange banana suits. That day GWS just ran rings around us with outside run after a good first quarter by MFC IIRC. I fear that Sunday could be the same. Quote
old dee 24,082 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 16 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said: sorry.. I did mean Sunday but had a senior moment I still have flashbacks to GWS' first win at the MCG which was of course against us in a game that we were expected to win easily. They hired a cheersquad which consisted of four or five guys dressed in orange banana suits. That day GWS just ran rings around us with outside run after a good first quarter by MFC IIRC. I fear that Sunday could be the same. Another reason for willy. 1 Quote
binman 44,807 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 5 hours ago, binman said: Annoyed this game is on at the same time as the seniors. Live nearby and would have gone. Great ground on the rare occasions it is not blowing a gale. Quote
DV8 2,271 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 45 minutes ago, old dee said: Think it is Sunday DJ but you are correct the weather looks poor and that means it will be terrible at willy. Could be the deciding factor as poor weather at willy is like the visiting the south pole. Noticed the MFC are giving away tickets for the G match. Must be expecting a big crowd!!!!!! 7 minutes ago, binman said: Forecast Westerly wind, 'OD' & bm'r, so Pt Gellibrand at least won't so cold as it otherwise might have. https://www.weather.com.au/vic/melbourne Quote
picket fence 18,172 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 (edited) 3 hours ago, DV8 said: Forecast Westerly wind, 'OD' & bm'r, so Pt Gellibrand at least won't so cold as it otherwise might have. https://www.weather.com.au/vic/melbourne Won't matter, I have played Footy and Cricket there and in Summer it is a good a place as any to play. I swear by the fact that if the tide was coming in the ball always did more than when it was out! Took some good Wkts there! In Winter I played 1 game of footy there on a shizzen day, a south wester with rain coming in sideways. I reckon I was close to Hypothermic and therefore Death by the end of the first quarter. Picture this 18 blokes at half time in the showers trying to get warm still in footy gear!!! If it rains there it is ALWAYS Shizzen!! At least the game is on Sunday which gives selectors flexibility and Casey some options Edited May 23, 2019 by picket fence Quote
WERRIDEE 5,638 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 Good to see Hannan back he has been sorely missed. 5 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,772 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 Our mate JFK returns this week. He deserves some luck so good luck Jay !! 8 1 Quote
DV8 2,271 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 29 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said: Our mate JFK returns this week. He deserves some luck so good luck Jay !! You won't be watchin' him... from the 'grassy-knoll', will you ? 1 Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 Hope to see Lever, Hannan and Jkh back. All will be on managed minutes. Lever probably to play 3/4 qtrs at least. 1 Quote
Graeme Yeats' Mullet 6,791 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 Ummm Harmes / Fritsch / Stretch named in Casey team ??? According to Instagram Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,772 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 58 minutes ago, DV8 said: You won't be watchin' him... from the 'grassy-knoll', will you ? nah ... I'll be reading a book in the repository 1 Quote
buck_nekkid 6,100 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 1 hour ago, spirit of norm smith said: Sparrow rested? Good pickup. Being managed? Anyone hear anything from training today? Quote
Nasher 33,675 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 10 hours ago, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said: Ummm Harmes / Fritsch / Stretch named in Casey team ??? According to Instagram All the players named on the extended Melbourne bench get named at Casey, it’s just how it works. Harmes is very obviously not going to play there. Stretch and Fritsch might though. Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,772 Posted May 24, 2019 Posted May 24, 2019 so Weideman, Spargo, Lewis and Preuss are playing for Casey. Some very solid inclusions... Williamstown are sixth on the VFL ladder as against Casey who are ninth so it could be a good game weather permitting. 2 Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted May 24, 2019 Posted May 24, 2019 What’s the odds Lewis playing for Casey. About 30% likely imo. Quote
Salems Lot 2,692 Posted May 25, 2019 Posted May 25, 2019 14 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said: What’s the odds Lewis playing for Casey. About 30% likely imo. The club site suggests they want him to paly in the 2s to regain form after an interrupted season. A good sign for mine. 1 Quote