Posted

People far more experienced than me could add a lot more but it is easy to see Goodwin is very uncomfortable in press conferences. He constantly touches parts of his body, legs, he folds his arms and gives an unnerving little smile to the most difficult questions. Rarely gives an original or unscripted answer. Does he have any life experience outside of football? 

Posted
3 minutes ago, Sorry kids said:

Does he have any life experience outside of football? 

Illegal gambling and supplement sagas. 

Posted

Perhaps Goody’s tenure as coach will mirror that of Nathan Buckley’s?

Years 1-2 (2012-13) - afterglow of taking over a good list from a good coach. Played a prelim in those years and made finals the other.

Years 3-6 (2014-2017) Actually learns how to coach but fails to make finals for 4 years in a row in the process.

Year 7 - Now coaches well and makes a grand final.

Posted

Give me an example of a successful coach who didn’t give trite, repetitive platitudes when the team was playing like crap? Actually put up a clip. What were Clarkson or Hardwick saying to the media in the years their teams were struggling? Can anyone remember a pale Neale Daniher sitting in front of the press in one of those down years after a woeful loss, mumbling “we’re tryin’ to build a spine”? Hindsight tells us Daniher was a very capable coach.

Coaches in press conferences are on a hiding to nothing. I put it out there that there’s absolutely nothing Goodwin could say that will please everyone. Someone actually said in the post match thread that he wanted to see the coach “irrational” - that’s the last thing I want to see and will know he’s cooked as soon as he is. His message has been steady and consistent. It’s hard to hear when we’re so angry and disappointed, but nothing Goodwin has said is wrong or suggests incompetence.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Mazer Rackham said:

Goody doesn't have the luxury of a president who has a poster of him on the back of the dunny door

A generous contract extension indicates he might.

Posted

I understand that Goodwin is on a hiding to nothing in a press conference after such a loss but to suggest that there were any positives to be taken out of this performance is insulting to the membership. We have kicked 13 goals in 2 games and the disconnect with the forward line was the worst yet. I don’t know what he could say but it is hopeless trying to sugarcoat it. We are headed for a wooden spoon FFS.

Posted

What the F is he meant to say at these meaningless, ritualistic press conferences? If you win the platitudes and questions are the same, ditto if you lose.They mean absolutely nothing. WHO CARES?

Posted
19 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

I understand that Goodwin is on a hiding to nothing in a press conference after such a loss but to suggest that there were any positives to be taken out of this performance is insulting to the membership. 

How were you feeling after the first quarter, where we were leading? Were there really no positives? Not one single thing worked well at any stage?

I think the last line I’ve quoted sums up where my view differs from most. I don’t take anything the coach says personally. Unless he looks down the camera and addresses me by name, I can’t be insulted by what he says. It’s not his job to soothe upset fans, as grown adults we need to be able to do that ourselves.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Nasher said:

How were you feeling after the first quarter, where we were leading? Were there really no positives? Not one single thing worked well at any stage?

I think the last line I’ve quoted sums up where my view differs from most. I don’t take anything the coach says personally. Unless he looks down the camera and addresses me by name, I can’t be insulted by what he says. It’s not his job to soothe upset fans, as grown adults we need to be able to do that ourselves.

I guess my point is that this is  not just an off day, it points to structural and systemic problems and nothing I have heard gives me confidence that the Club understands this. I am not against Goodwin but I think he needs much more experienced people people around him than are there currently. Rooke and Chaplin, in particular, are very inexperienced and McCartney is a decisive character. I wish I had your measured and rational nature but there it is.

Posted
13 hours ago, DV8 said:

Yeah really funny why don’t you combine it with an add of Tony, representing the life savers community, letting people drown. Then release it the week we have life savers drown heroically trying to save people’s lives.

You’re a piece of work.

Posted (edited)

All of the teams we’ve played so far except essendon beat us last year. We beat the swans this year.  Number of wins same as last year from these opponents just in a different order!

Edited by President Dee Trump
Posted
1 minute ago, President Dee Trump said:

All of the teams we’ve played so far except essendon beat us last year. We beat the swans this year.  Number of wins as as last year from these opponents just in a different order!

Well, we've got Hawks (1-1) Suns (2-0) Eagles (1-1) Giants (1-0) and Crows (2-0) coming up, so I guess realistically we should expect to be 5 wins 6 losses at the halfway mark of the season. Sounds good to me.

Then we get all our injured players back and stomp home to sneak into the top 4 with 9 wins from the remaining 12 rounds, helped by the even ladder.

Remember, we're still only two wins out of the 8, and three out of the top 4! Woo hoo!

Posted (edited)
14 hours ago, Rusty Nails said:

Goody's living in Disneyland.

Statistically our worst team performance for the year.

It was rusty, in effort and intensity at the contest. Better than the Swans game over the 100 minutes.   But worse statistically because of the Tigers own intensity, pace, run & skills..

Your right that our stats are shitenhausen,  because our skills are hidden by lack of confidence and the pressure were feeling.

But we beggars of 2019...  have to start from a low base to build our play back up again, after being trashed by our opponents,  and the AFL.

Edited by DV8
Posted
1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

I guess my point is that this is  not just an off day, it points to structural and systemic problems and nothing I have heard gives me confidence that the Club understands this. I am not against Goodwin but I think he needs much more experienced people people around him than are there currently. Rooke and Chaplin, in particular, are very inexperienced and McCartney is a decisive character. I wish I had your measured and rational nature but there it is.

Chook, we had similar issues in the first 4 rounds last year before we worked into form and won 6 in a row heading into the bye, where we had a poor loss to Collingwood where we played ok, had a bad loss to St Kilda and then we're in red hot form v WCE, GWS and then Geelomg and Hawthron in the finals. 

Last year when we were winning Goodwin had a similar message that we were working to improve and still not playing the way we want.

Goodwin has been consistent throughout and I have confidence our Footy Department will get us playing well at the pointy end of the season but it will be a matter of being able to tick over some ugly wins and get to playing our way sooner rather than later.

The way we are playing there is alot to fix and with Hawks and WCE in the next couple of weeks there is a good chance we will be 1 - 7 which would practically mean Finals are out of the picture, which is pretty much the case already. 

Posted
48 minutes ago, chookrat said:

Chook, we had similar issues in the first 4 rounds last year before we worked into form and won 6 in a row heading into the bye, where we had a poor loss to Collingwood where we played ok, had a bad loss to St Kilda and then we're in red hot form v WCE, GWS and then Geelomg and Hawthron in the finals. 

Last year when we were winning Goodwin had a similar message that we were working to improve and still not playing the way we want.

Goodwin has been consistent throughout and I have confidence our Footy Department will get us playing well at the pointy end of the season but it will be a matter of being able to tick over some ugly wins and get to playing our way sooner rather than later.

The way we are playing there is alot to fix and with Hawks and WCE in the next couple of weeks there is a good chance we will be 1 - 7 which would practically mean Finals are out of the picture, which is pretty much the case already. 

I can see what you’re saying but 2 goals after quarter time and the way we just handed over the ball to their backline is hard to gloss over. I guess I’m a glass half empty type of guy.