Posted
3 minutes ago, The Chazz said:

You're acting as though we have other options and are not exploring them.

We can only deal with what we've got.  We don't have a first rounder, and if that's what GC want for May, we're doing what we can to get one in to do the deal.  We don't have a huge amount of bargaining power, and it's not as though we can just pull a pick out of our [censored] to make a deal happen.

Mahoney has said unequivocally  ... “No Hogan trade, no May to Melbourne.”

Posted
41 minutes ago, EnterTheDragon said:

Doesn’t sound too promising for the Dees does it ...

(From AFL.com.au)

"He’d (May) be happy to come to Melbourne (city) if something was found," Gold Coast list manager Craig Cameron told AFL.com.au.

"It’s up to the clubs now that are pursuing him to come up with something. At this this stage they haven’t."

"If they come to us with something around Steven then it might be tied into that, that’s a fair way off as I said." 

May simply trying to make sure GCS get value from trading him. Not onlike when Chip went to Hawthorn. 

Posted
10 minutes ago, EnterTheDragon said:

I read that he is quite aware that the Hogan/Freo link has most likely fallen through (at least for this trade period). 

Demons not a focus now for the Suns re May.

How is it that absolutely no one else (including probably Craig Cameron who said the words) actually get that read out of the comments made. 

The talk that the Hogan trade has fallen through was last Friday afternoon. Since then it has been reported that Hogan, Freo and Melbourne have been in conversations. Everyone still thinks something will get done with these players.  But apparently thats not enough for you!

Posted
6 minutes ago, Tony Tea said:

Any chance the Dees will get pick 5, and then instead of giving it to the Suns, trade it up to a higher pick? Say, 1, 2, 3 or 4, similar to what we did with (I think) Oliver and Weid?

No chance. We are using it for May mate. 100%

Posted
4 minutes ago, EnterTheDragon said:

The real question is why are you still waiting for them when they so clearly and adamantly pulled out of negotiations for Hogan last week?.

Yes and after clearly and adamantly pulling out of negotiations, they met with Hogan...

Posted
1 minute ago, Dr.D said:

No chance. We are using it for May mate. 100%

Agree, Melbourne is trying to strengthen it's list for a crack at the flag, I'd be surprised that pick will remain ours for more than a few hours!

Posted
1 minute ago, Ouch! said:

The talk that the Hogan trade has fallen through was last Friday afternoon. Since then it has been reported that Hogan, Freo and Melbourne have been in conversations. 

Source? Actual quotes from Mahoney or Bell? Or just another desperate rumour from some sheep dags reporter.

Freo may well have met with Hogan again over the weekend. Who knows what they discussed? Strategy to bring him over in 2019? Could mean anything!

Posted
2 minutes ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said:

Yes and after clearly and adamantly pulling out of negotiations, they met with Hogan...

“Don’t worry Jess ... here’s our strategy for bringing you over next year if the Dees don’t capitulate now. This year or next mate but we’re doing it our way so you have a stronger team to play with in the long term..”

Posted
2 minutes ago, EnterTheDragon said:

Source? Actual quotes from Mahoney or Bell? Or just another desperate rumour from some sheep dags reporter.

Freo may well have met with Hogan again over the weekend. Who knows what they discussed? Strategy to bring him over in 2019? Could mean anything!

If Bell ? has flown to Melbourne it will be to negotiate the Hogan Trade. I hope Mahoney stays strong on our requirements 

Posted
5 minutes ago, EnterTheDragon said:

“Don’t worry Jess ... here’s our strategy for bringing you over next year if the Dees don’t capitulate now. This year or next mate but we’re doing it our way so you have a stronger team to play with in the long term..”

In the meantime, we will spoon feed some information to the media about your contract, make you and your manager look greedy, he can then accuse us effectively of being liars, all is good mate.......

Posted
4 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

If Bell ? has flown to Melbourne it will be to negotiate the Hogan Trade. I hope Mahoney stays strong on our requirements 

Fremantle is transacting a number of deals. Most/all footy dept heads will be in Melbourne tomorrow.

Posted
1 minute ago, EnterTheDragon said:

I know I might not be living in the real world but I would hope Jesse has a bit more respect for our club than that.

I don't know him but I don't think he would play that game and throw s.... in the face of the people who have stuck by him through some tough times.

...but you might know him well and this is the expected outcome.

Posted
1 minute ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said:

In the meantime, we will spoon feed some information to the media about your contract, make you and your manager look greedy, he can then accuse us effectively of being liars, all is good mate.......

Hogan’s manager’s $8mil/8year Furphy has worked wonders on some. 

RGRS hook, line and sinker.

Posted

Anyone who has participated in negotiation knows that once the bargaining process is well advanced or moving to a critical point there is enormous psychological pressure to get the deal done. Previous bargaining strategies are altered and what you are prepared to offer or accept changes.   No-one wants to walk away without a resolution, knowing that at sometime down the track the differences need to be resolved. 

I expect this is the case here.

Which is another reason why I think the parties will get the Hogan deal done. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, EnterTheDragon said:

Very mature Sue.

Thought you put me on ignore? ?

No, my remark about ExitTheDragon was a suggestion not planned action on my part.  But interesting that you assume my little joke was directed at you and not the general fugazi.

Posted
19 minutes ago, EnterTheDragon said:

Mahoney has said unequivocally  ... “No Hogan trade, no May to Melbourne.”

That's because we don't have another first round to use for May, and of all players on our list (that we could be happy to move on), Hogan is our best chance to get this done.

This is my point - moving Hogan might net us Pick 5.  That doesn't mean May is worth Pick 5, but that's what we will have to spend because we don't have any other option.  So if we want him, that's what we pay.

It's not that difficult to understand.

Posted
15 minutes ago, EnterTheDragon said:

You're right... it could mean as much as your assumption that everything is dead in the water and nothing else will get done with that trade.

.... I feel somewhat better now thx!