homsar 431 Posted September 18, 2018 Posted September 18, 2018 Has anyone been to one of these before? I am going over to Perth so might as well soak it all up and be around some fellow supporters. I have yet to come across anyone sitting in the same section as me (126) for the game, so not expecting to be around many friendlies... Quote
gmac 27 Posted September 18, 2018 Posted September 18, 2018 never been to such a function before but could not think of a better way to settle the pre match nerves than being surrounded by fellow demons. I am travelling to Perth solo so need some new friends on game day. I will be in attendance. Quote
homsar 431 Posted September 18, 2018 Author Posted September 18, 2018 8 minutes ago, gmac said: never been to such a function before but could not think of a better way to settle the pre match nerves than being surrounded by fellow demons. I am travelling to Perth solo so need some new friends on game day. I will be in attendance. Yep, I agree. Just bought tickets. Hope the bar is well staffed. Quote
DubDee 26,674 Posted September 18, 2018 Posted September 18, 2018 this can go in the supporter stereotypes thread ? Quote
Matty 33 Posted September 18, 2018 Posted September 18, 2018 3 hours ago, gmac said: never been to such a function before but could not think of a better way to settle the pre match nerves than being surrounded by fellow demons. I am travelling to Perth solo so need some new friends on game day. I will be in attendance. I’m in the exact same boat! Quote
MadAsHell 4,217 Posted September 18, 2018 Posted September 18, 2018 Heading along to this function with my folks. To early for pre-match beers. Maybe pre-match vodka & orange juice??? Quote
danielE288 781 Posted September 18, 2018 Posted September 18, 2018 Yeah I got a ticket. Will load up on party pies and sausage rolls have a coffee and maybe a 1130am beer. Quote
homsar 431 Posted September 18, 2018 Author Posted September 18, 2018 Too early for beers? Keep your watch on Melbourne time and you’ll be right. 1 Quote
Ethan Tremblay 31,388 Posted September 18, 2018 Posted September 18, 2018 (edited) You’ll be in Perth, 11am is late for a beer here. Edited September 18, 2018 by Ethan Tremblay 1 Quote
Biffen 12,949 Posted September 18, 2018 Posted September 18, 2018 2 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said: You’ll be in Perth, 11am is late for a beer here. kippers on toast and a tawny port please Eth. After my jog. Quote
Ethan Tremblay 31,388 Posted September 18, 2018 Posted September 18, 2018 (edited) 9 minutes ago, Biffen said: kippers on toast and a tawny port please Eth. After my jog. My Opa’s breakfast was pickled herring and schnapps, do you have German heritage? It would also explain the poo jogging. Edited September 18, 2018 by Ethan Tremblay 1 Quote
Biffen 12,949 Posted September 18, 2018 Posted September 18, 2018 20 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said: My Opa’s breakfast was pickled herring and schnapps, do you have German heritage? It would also explain the poo jogging. Saxon toast. Cheers. Quote
Yze_13 310 Posted September 18, 2018 Posted September 18, 2018 I’ll be there! My plane lands at 9.30 so timing works out really well. Quote
Guest Posted September 18, 2018 Posted September 18, 2018 Brunch. Got it. Not quite breakfast, not quite lunch. Quote
McQueen 17,867 Posted September 18, 2018 Posted September 18, 2018 Went to one years ago at subi when Neeld was coaching. Had McLardy, Neil Craig and Josh Mahoney speaking and taking questions. Terrible event. Expect this to be okay but for $55 I can have 5 or more pints elsewhere. 1 Quote
Pennant St Dee 13,452 Posted September 18, 2018 Posted September 18, 2018 Agree with McQueen. For Dees heading to the ground for the first time the Camfield is a huge pub right next to the ground but expect big queues to get in and big queues to get served. Inside the ground a couple of good bars on level 5 namely, The Northern Terrace bar near block 519 or The Gage Roads Bar near block 503 Quote
DemonWA 3,941 Posted September 18, 2018 Posted September 18, 2018 Went to the old 'dinner with the dees' nights that western demons used to hold. Were good, would go to the brunch if i was still around in WA Quote
Range Rover to the snow 146 Posted September 19, 2018 Posted September 19, 2018 Booked. Get in at 9.30 on Saturday so this will work well... Quote
BenJamin on Deesy St 805 Posted September 19, 2018 Posted September 19, 2018 Why the hell not (will deal with the acute credit card pain of this trip in a - hopefully - euphoric state next month) Quote
BenJamin on Deesy St 805 Posted September 22, 2018 Posted September 22, 2018 Big shout out to the Western Demons and the MFC for organising this event on the banks of the Swan River at relatively short notice - was undoubtedly the highlight of the day, indeed trip, for us. We loved hearing from Todd Viney, brought a tear to my eye, and some nice memories from ‘87. He bleeds red and blue. All Dees’ fans were in a buoyant mood. We met some lovely people, really dedicated to the cause, had a kick of the footy on the grass, won some cash in some moneyboard game. Things were looking good. Walking together to the stadium - towards a sea of blue and yellow - was daunting but uplifting too. Pity about the [censored] game, our tired and inept performance and those rabid and deafening Eagles’ fans in the cauldron. Having to endure more than two hours of their relentless din of whinge and entitlement, as well as the incessant arrogance and gloating in the rows behind us (at one stage, I was told by an elderly gentleman I was a “[censored] idiot” for daring to suggest that Nicholls was not wearing a Melbourne jersey - this was when free kick count was 12-5 in Eagles’ favour) was torture, pure and simple. And then to cap it off, after the siren, listening/watching them chant “MCG, MCG, MCG” and then sing (in every conceivable key imaginable) and dance to Daddy Cool’s Eagle Rock for what seemed like an eternity . . . [censored], now I’m whinging. Was hoping to ride a wave of euphoria back to Melb, but instead got dumped unceremoniously (and with a three grand credit card bill) in Perth. It’s just [censored]. 4 Quote
Adam The God 30,730 Posted September 22, 2018 Posted September 22, 2018 On 9/18/2018 at 11:40 PM, McQueen said: Went to one years ago at subi when Neeld was coaching. Had McLardy, Neil Craig and Josh Mahoney speaking and taking questions. Terrible event. Expect this to be okay but for $55 I can have 5 or more pints elsewhere. On 9/19/2018 at 12:03 AM, Pennant St Dee said: Agree with McQueen. For Dees heading to the ground for the first time the Camfield is a huge pub right next to the ground but expect big queues to get in and big queues to get served. Inside the ground a couple of good bars on level 5 namely, The Northern Terrace bar near block 519 or The Gage Roads Bar near block 503 I don't know how you guys put up with it. I'd say no less than 10 people have either told us to go home, smirked at us, laughed directly in our faces or told us how good the Eagles are. Half of that occurred in the airport prior to the game and then in the airport post game. I know there's an inferiority complex thing going on, but it's been the least hospitable place I've ever been to and that includes multiple trips to Adelaide and over here for a Freo match. One of you said it the other day, but everyone seems to hate Victorians. I know neither of you are Victorians, but walking around with Melbourne gear on must surely see you cop it a bit. Hats off for taking it for so long. 2 Quote
Adam The God 30,730 Posted September 22, 2018 Posted September 22, 2018 Just now, Ben E said: Big shout out to the Western Demons and the MFC for organising this event on the banks of the Swan River at relatively short notice - was undoubtedly the highlight of the day, indeed trip, for us. We loved hearing from Todd Viney, brought a tear to my eye, and some nice memories from ‘87. He bleeds red and blue. All Dees’ fans were in a buoyant mood. We met some lovely people, really dedicated to the cause, had a kick of the footy on the grass, won some cash in some moneyboard game. Things were looking good. Walking together to the stadium - towards a sea of blue and yellow - was daunting but uplifting too. Pity about the [censored] game, our tired and inept performance and those rabid and deafening Eagles’ fans in the cauldron. Having to endure more than two hours of their relentless din of whinge and entitlement, as well as the incessant arrogance and gloating in the rows behind us (at one stage, I was told by an elderly gentleman I was a “[censored] idiot” for daring to suggest that Nicholls was not wearing a Melbourne jersey - this was when free kick count was 12-5 in Eagles’ favour) was torture, pure and simple. And then to cap it off, after the siren, listening/watching them chant “MCG, MCG, MCG” and then sing (in every conceivable key imaginable) and dance to Daddy Cool’s Eagle Rock for what seemed like an eternity . . . [censored], now I’m whinging. Was hoping to ride a wave of euphoria back to Melb, but instead got dumped unceremoniously (and with a three grand credit card bill) in Perth. It’s just [censored]. How was the bogan music? Cringe. Anyway, hoping for a brexit-style annexation of WA and the rest of the country. ? 2 Quote
McQueen 17,867 Posted September 23, 2018 Posted September 23, 2018 11 hours ago, A F said: I don't know how you guys put up with it. I'd say no less than 10 people have either told us to go home, smirked at us, laughed directly in our faces or told us how good the Eagles are. Half of that occurred in the airport prior to the game and then in the airport post game. I know there's an inferiority complex thing going on, but it's been the least hospitable place I've ever been to and that includes multiple trips to Adelaide and over here for a Freo match. One of you said it the other day, but everyone seems to hate Victorians. I know neither of you are Victorians, but walking around with Melbourne gear on must surely see you cop it a bit. Hats off for taking it for so long. I am Victorian mate. I moved here in the late 90’s and have improved the gene pool with a couple of kids. 2 Quote