MT64 1,148 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 (edited) Watching Adelaide V GWS and the crows kicked across the ground which the "nuff nuff's" commentating called the "fat side of the ground". Someone please help me understand this and while your at it, "a goalkeeper" WTF. Brayshaw one of the "nuff nuff's". I'm shaking my head in disbelief. Edited August 11, 2018 by MT64 Quote
Demon Disciple 12,538 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 6 minutes ago, DubDee said: Carn the lions!!!! why are pies fans booing? Did something happen or just their usual boo everything? It was announced over the PA that Centrelink will be closed this Monday. 3 4 Quote
Gorgoroth 13,220 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 Lions killing themselves in this qtr. Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,681 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 4 minutes ago, MT64 said: Watching Adelaide V GWS and the crows kicked across the ground which the "nuff nuff's" commentating called the "fat side of the ground". Someone please help me understand this and while your at it, "a goalkeeper" WTF. Brayshaw one of the "nuff nuff's". I'm shaking my head in disbelief. Fat side, has less players over there as all down the line, no idea where the term comes from 1 Quote
Mickey 4,777 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 3 minutes ago, MT64 said: Watching Adelaide V GWS and the crows kicked across the ground which the "nuff nuff's" commentating called the "fat side of the ground". Someone please help me understand this and while your at it, "a goalkeeper" WTF. Brayshaw one of the "nuff nuff's". I'm shaking my head in disbelief. Fat side is the side of the ground with the most space to lead in to. For example, if you are on the right hand flank, then the left hand half of the forward 50 is the fat side. Been used as a term in footy for yonks. 1 1 Quote
Cards13 9,117 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 How “good” is the “atmosphere” in Canberra? 3 1 2 Quote
MT64 1,148 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 1 minute ago, Cards13 said: How “good” is the “atmosphere” in Canberra? Biggest crowd I have seen there. Must be warm. Haha Quote
Chook 15,070 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 GWS have a totally undeserved "They're unbeatable" reputation about them. They are eminently beatable, especially when they're away. Quote
Demon Disciple 12,538 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 1 minute ago, Cards13 said: How “good” is the “atmosphere” in Canberra? Wouldn't surprise me if they are blasting a faux crowd blaring out of the speakers. Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,681 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 GWS trail Crows at a home game, wow at half time, a top 8 team, they are certainties against us.... ??? PS, if you think I am ridiculing you, I am Quote
Cards13 9,117 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 1 minute ago, MT64 said: Biggest crowd I have seen there. Must be warm. Haha It does look like a decent crowd but not reals into it. Quote
bobby1554 1,275 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 Collingwood have kicked 5 goals in a half at an indoor stadium. Flag contenders? I think not. Quote
dl4e 5,851 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 Still think the lions may overcome the filth. Quote
Mickey 4,777 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 2 minutes ago, Cards13 said: It does look like a decent crowd but not reals into it. Living in canberra, in got invited to the game with a whole bunch of 'rugby' people. I happily declined, and am now sitting in front of the heater watching it on the TV, as opposed to freezing my ass off explaining the game 2 2 Quote
SaberFang 7,151 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 8 minutes ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said: Yeah, really far fetched beating an average Sydney, WCE missing 2 or 3 best players and GWS at home. Unbelievable how little it takes for so many to be satisfied.... by you theory, we are no chance in the finals, as we can’t beat top 8 teams. I never said we can't beat any of the next 3 matches, I said it's laughable to expect wins against all 3 and the Eagles to choke against the Lions. Nice work completely misconstruing my entire point. 12 minutes ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said: Play with yourself at the prospect of making the 8 mate, I am only interested in one result Only person who seems to be playing with themselves is you, considering how high on your own opinion you are. We'll see how chirpy you are if we lose tomorrow to those "average" Swans. Or to the Eagles, who are "suffering" so badly without those key players that they've won every game without them. ? Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,681 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 Hey Saberfang, WCE vs Lions was irrelevant if Port won, get a clue Quote
Cards13 9,117 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 2 minutes ago, Mickey said: Living in canberra, in got invited to the game with a whole bunch of 'rugby' people. I happily declined, and am now sitting in front of the heater watching it on the TV, as opposed to freezing my ass off explaining the game Mickey a number of years ago some mates and I did the drive up for a Tahs v Brumbies game. Few from Melbs and a few from Syd. Very funny weekend in a small, very cold town. 1 Quote
Guest Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 Just now, SaberFang said: Only person who seems to be playing with themselves is you, We are on the internet discussing men kicking around the skin of a dead animal filled with air. We are all playing with ourselves. Quote
John Demonic 5,988 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 (edited) 7 minutes ago, SaberFang said: I never said we can't beat any of the next 3 matches, I said it's laughable to expect wins against all 3 and the Eagles to choke against the Lions. Nice work completely misconstruing my entire point. Only person who seems to be playing with themselves is you, considering how high on your own opinion you are. We'll see how chirpy you are if we lose tomorrow to those "average" Swans. Or to the Eagles, who are "suffering" so badly without those key players that they've won every game without them. ? The only fiddling you should be doing right now is with the ladder predictor. If Port had beaten WCE, then a win over SYD & WCE next week would have us 2nd with the win over GWS in r23 . No need for a Brisbane win. Edited August 11, 2018 by johndemonic 2 Quote
Mickey 4,777 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 2 minutes ago, Cards13 said: Mickey a number of years ago some mates and I did the drive up for a Tahs v Brumbies game. Few from Melbs and a few from Syd. Very funny weekend in a small, very cold town. Honestly, it's still a fairly small, very cold town. Great place to live if you're a not into big cities and don't mind the cold though. Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 Well the Lions are still in this and have had a red hot crack so far. Let's see how long they can hang in there. Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,681 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 1 minute ago, johndemonic said: The only fiddling you should be doing right now is with the ladder predictor. If Port had beaten WCE, then a win over SYD & WCE next week would have us 2nd. No need for a Brisbane win. Doesn’t matter how much you say it, it is too complicated for some Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,778 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 10 minutes ago, Cards13 said: It does look like a decent crowd but not reals into it. agree... when I first started watching I assumed it was at the Sydney showgrounds and I thought .. wow that is the biggest home and away crowd I have ever seen for the Giants. Took me a while to realise it was Manuka. The Canberra market will probably save the Giants and I expect is responsible for half their members. As the great man once said.... "And well may he say God save the Giants because nothing will save the Gold Coast Suns !" 2 Quote
Dockett 32 1,239 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 3 minutes ago, SaberFang said: I never said we can't beat any of the next 3 matches, I said it's laughable to expect wins against all 3 and the Eagles to choke against the Lions. Nice work completely misconstruing my entire point. Only person who seems to be playing with themselves is you, considering how high on your own opinion you are. We'll see how chirpy you are if we lose tomorrow to those "average" Swans. Or to the Eagles, who are "suffering" so badly without those key players that they've won every game without them. ? Tomorrow’s game arguably of similar importance as the last round last year. We get three weeks to see who on the list can do it at the business end of the season. Moment of truth for the club and our list. 2 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,778 Posted August 11, 2018 Posted August 11, 2018 and the Lions hit the front !!! Could we get the impossible double tonight !???????? 1 Quote