Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, daisycutter said:

which is why we need a good fwd/2nd-ruck - to give max a chopout and if max injured to take over 1st ruck

in time that might be bradtke or it could be weids. in the short term is there a suitable big man out there who could reasonably hold down a fwd position so we could at least offer game time

"in the short term is there a suitable big man out there who could reasonably hold down a fwd position so we could at least offer game time."   

And leave out Hogan, or McDonald???  Or are we again going to go with too many talls with a third (Weideman, Bull, Pedo?)

Posted
2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Heard from who? First I've heard of this..

Can’t tell you who but Sydney are clearing up cap space to bring in a big fish 

Posted
4 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

Why not?

Posted (edited)
44 minutes ago, monoccular said:

"in the short term is there a suitable big man out there who could reasonably hold down a fwd position so we could at least offer game time."   

And leave out Hogan, or McDonald???  Or are we again going to go with too many talls with a third (Weideman, Bull, Pedo?)

nothing terribly wrong with 3 talls if they are effective. both hoges and tmac are very mobile and aerobic and can cover a lot of ground. 20+% of the time one of them will be resting on the bench anyway

but it does solve the problem of attracting a good big man to help out max without him ending up at casey for most of the year, which would be a turnoff for someone wanting game time

so if you go looking for a quick backup ruch for max go looking for a fwd/ruck type

Edited by daisycutter
Posted
4 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

nothing terribly wrong with 3 talls if they are effective. both hoges and tmac are very mobile and aerobic and can cover a lot of ground. 20+% of the time one of them will be resting on the bench anyway

They may be mobile but they are both poor pressure players. Tom is overzealous and gets out of position, then doesn't have great lateral mobility and tackling skills. Jesse is slowly getting better but is not a natural tackler either. 

No one can be certain but with new rules to ease congestion my guess is that a CHF and FF go up in a value but otherwise the game will either keep the current preference for speed and mobility with forwards if not go even more towards it.

Posted
11 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

They may be mobile but they are both poor pressure players. Tom is overzealous and gets out of position, then doesn't have great lateral mobility and tackling skills. Jesse is slowly getting better but is not a natural tackler either. 

No one can be certain but with new rules to ease congestion my guess is that a CHF and FF go up in a value but otherwise the game will either keep the current preference for speed and mobility with forwards if not go even more towards it.

i also edited my prev post to add some detail that this option was for if we wanted to attract a decent backup ruckman for max and we needed to offer good prospects of game time to attract him

as you don't like 3 talls in the fwd line what future do you see for weids?

Posted
1 hour ago, Bates Mate said:

I Like Mitch Wallis, really versatile good skills.

would be an upgrade on the ANB/Bugg type 

He would be terrific, but I reckon clubs closer to the bottom of the ladder (Carlton, St. Kilda, Essendon) might throw him a lengthier and more expensive contract than we might be willing to offer.  

Posted
3 hours ago, BAMF said:

Many are saying he is 'cooked'.

He hasn't played at his best for a number of years and this year looks terrible. I think they have finally admitted he is injured and have stopped playing him.

yeah, i think he's been playing injured. i doubt he's 'cooked' at 27yrs old.

a lot of people last year said kieren jack was 'cooked' , but he's come good this year (maybe not his best but still good) and he's 31yrs old

maybe hannebery needs checking over by the richmond doctor before considering him ?

Posted
1 hour ago, Demons11 said:

Someone was claiming Jeremy McGovern to Swans is a done deal. 

Can't tell you my source..........

Oh alright. It was a post on here somewhere. Only source I rely on. 

I believe the poster's source was very reliable. Someone's Great Grandmother's Aunts, Sisters, Grandchild's, daughters daughters next door neighbours milkmans sisters in laws cousin twice removed on their father's side. No scrap that. Mother's side. Can't remember the rest. But it's much closer than the normal rumours on here. 

Posted
19 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

i also edited my prev post to add some detail that this option was for if we wanted to attract a decent backup ruckman for max and we needed to offer good prospects of game time to attract him

as you don't like 3 talls in the fwd line what future do you see for weids?

Until the end of 2019 injury cover for Hogan/Tommy Mc and possibly for Gawn (I think a combination of Weideman and McDonald would be surprisingly effective as a ruck duo) as well as the occasional game where 3 talls is worth the risk.

Then see where the rule changes and Sam's development, possibly even Hogan's contract is at by the end of 2019 and make a decision then about his future. I can understand at some stage Weideman might get frustrated but I actually think he's had plenty of AFL footy so far for a young tall. Casey should play VFL finals as well which can be a nice intermediate step between VFL and AFL.

Posted
16 hours ago, KingDingAling said:

Not massive on Gaff, but he can do what 95% of our list appear incapable of doing, and that is hitting a target. Gaff definitely fits a need. I was leaning towards not trading for him, and ideally we wouldn't, but as the weeks go by, it wouldn't be the worst thing we could do. Thankfully we cannot trade 2 future firsts in a row, so I am confident we cannot stuff up our future (trading future first round picks away for blokes with ACL histories) anymore than we already have. If we do get Gaff and have to trade for him then I suspect it will be because we move on players - which I am 110% fine with (so long as we don't move on Brayshaw).

Gaff had a disposal efficiency of 63"% at the weekend, hitting targets consistently?

Posted
17 hours ago, DV8 said:

Would it be a waste of time, to have a talk to Zac Jones?

Think he signed a new contract last year. 

Posted (edited)

Gaffs at 75% DE for the season which is very good. His 66% DE on the weekend brought his season average down a little however only a simpleton would judge his DE on one game.

Edited by Ethan Tremblay
Posted
17 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Until the end of 2019 injury cover for Hogan/Tommy Mc and possibly for Gawn (I think a combination of Weideman and McDonald would be surprisingly effective as a ruck duo) as well as the occasional game where 3 talls is worth the risk.

Then see where the rule changes and Sam's development, possibly even Hogan's contract is at by the end of 2019 and make a decision then about his future. I can understand at some stage Weideman might get frustrated but I actually think he's had plenty of AFL footy so far for a young tall. Casey should play VFL finals as well which can be a nice intermediate step between VFL and AFL.

if the afl do change the rules to reduce congestion, then this should be good for outside players and runners given the extra space. it may also mean more positional play and hence more one-on-one contests and marking. maybe a benefit for tall kp players. but who knows, the coaches certainly will continue to do whatever they think will help them to win, no matter what

Posted (edited)
32 minutes ago, It's Time said:

I believe the poster's source was very reliable. Someone's Great Grandmother's Aunts, Sisters, Grandchild's, daughters daughters next door neighbours milkmans sisters in laws cousin twice removed on their father's side. No scrap that. Mother's side. Can't remember the rest. But it's much closer than the normal rumours on here. 

That joke has been done to death on DL 

Edited by Redleg

Posted

Hopefully we go nowhere near Hanners.  He looks shot! 

I very much doubt he has been injured and played for 15 rounds. 

Posted
8 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

Gaff had a disposal efficiency of 63"% at the weekend, hitting targets consistently?

and brayshaw had 7 clangers (highest on the day) and 0  1%ers

it's easy to cherry pick stats to suit any argument

Posted
1 minute ago, daisycutter said:

and brayshaw had 7 clangers (highest on the day) and 0  1%ers

it's easy to cherry pick stats to suit any argument

only 42% of people are aware of this though,

so, you know....

Posted
7 hours ago, praha said:

We have HEAPS to trade. I think Tyson + JKH would land Jones.

I don’t and I would bet Horse agrees.

Posted
6 hours ago, DV8 said:

I agree.  We need players who can play,,,  hard, and with speed.

We do not need speed on its lonesome.

Fairly obvious really. 

We had players with just speed before....

But yes. Speed and precise ball use will win finals