Posted

Can’t wait for the “coach speak” from Goodwin today!!

Posted

“We are .........blah blah .......journey as a footy club ........ structures ...... know our training standards ........”

Posted

Lots of mental issues with this group.....

Leak too many goals & would get smashed against top teams....

These are the questions which Goodwin needs to answer....

Another missed opportunity & as much as the past dosent matter for Goody it continues to raise its ugly head!

Posted

“It’s all about behaviours” 

Based on today the behaviours suck!!

Posted
23 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

From his presser. “ This was a little bump along the way. “ FMD!

Delusional !!!no wonder our players drink their own bathwater! we are a too cozy footy club that lacks serious balls, smarts and credibility!!

Posted
25 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

From his presser. “ This was a little bump along the way. “ FMD!

If he somehow manages to get us to beat a good side, I would agree with him. But this is not a bump along the way, more like a bump out of the finals. 

Posted

Hahaha little bump along the way!  Bumped up the rear end and shafted well and truly.  Wake up Goodwin, supporters now want something more than a little bump along the way.  We are on the cusp of what happened last year, cannot be tolerated anymore.  FIX IT!!!!!!

Posted (edited)
15 minutes ago, Nasher said:

His main point in the post match today was that we failed to run defensively. That we’re capable of doing it (ref: the 5 in a row) but it’s not ingrained yet. There was no double speak in there at all.

Pretty sure Roos said this when he first took over in 2014, which is why Daniel Cross was brought over.

But cool to know Goodwin is saying that it's still not ingrained in our players 4 years later...

On a serious note, that kind of a response is an absolute cop out. How obvious is it to see that if you play a super aggressive zone as a defensive unit, you're going to need to be an extremely skilled side through the midfield and forward line?

We are the third easiest team to score against once the ball is inside 50. We just let St Kilda of 2018 kick a score of 119 against us.

Do something Goodwin.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Nasher said:

It’s what makes it galling, for sure, when you know they’re capable. I think ‘effort’ is a non-binary thing though. The players probably don’t even realise that they’re not working hard enough in the heat of the moment. That’s where good leadership is critical.

I remember Gary Ablett Jr making a comment once that in his first few seasons he always thought he was working his arse off until he one day found another gear and realised he hadn’t been. Obviously there are a number of players yet to find that gear. We can only hope they do.

In my old-man midweek sporting competitions, I can tell when I'm just cruising through a game, or when I've made a conscious choice to run hard and play properly. Surely these blokes can do that by now - it's astonishing. 

Posted

It’s not actually Goodys fault - it’s mine

ive been to the Cats, Tigers, Pies losses. Thought I’d go along to hear the song today.

Left when the Saints went 20 pts up in the last with 4 mind to play, our guys decide then it’s time to try to win it and kick 3 late goals and nearly pinch it.

Ive learned my lesson, won’t be going again this year. I can’t take the umpiring anymore either.

Posted

I think Goody should grow a beard !

Posted
10 minutes ago, John Demonic said:

Cmon mate, we're not pushing him onto the bread line just yet

Goody.jpg

nah I'm talkin about the success of the unshaven filth coach !

Posted

Questions that should have been asked at the presser:

if there was a lack of defensive effort, why did you not change this up during the game?  You know,  the quarter and half time breaks might be good for that, right?

what was your message to Petty after the match?  Did you apologise for selecting him before he was ready?

when did you decide to start your best forward on the wing, and push the other key forward so far from goal he needs a myki card?  

Did you learn anything when you put Hogan deep forward and he kicked 3 goals?

if inside 50s are such a problem, why don’t you fix it?

Posted
25 minutes ago, buck_nekkid said:

Questions that should have been asked at the presser:

if there was a lack of defensive effort, why did you not change this up during the game?  You know,  the quarter and half time breaks might be good for that, right?

what was your message to Petty after the match?  Did you apologise for selecting him before he was ready?

when did you decide to start your best forward on the wing, and push the other key forward so far from goal he needs a myki card?  

Did you learn anything when you put Hogan deep forward and he kicked 3 goals?

if inside 50s are such a problem, why don’t you fix it?

Maybe someone who has media contacts could slip this into the media.

All relevant and pertinent questions.

IIRC, Buckley and Hardwick came under sustained pressure in recent times. I don't see that currently for Goodwin.

Granted he's been at it 18 months but he was gifted a big head start by Roos.

• 1 year later...
Posted
On 7/1/2018 at 6:17 PM, stevethemanjordan said:

Pretty sure Roos said this when he first took over in 2014, which is why Daniel Cross was brought over.

But cool to know Goodwin is saying that it's still not ingrained in our players 4 years later...

On a serious note, that kind of a response is an absolute cop out. How obvious is it to see that if you play a super aggressive zone as a defensive unit, you're going to need to be an extremely skilled side through the midfield and forward line?

We are the third easiest team to score against once the ball is inside 50. We just let St Kilda of 2018 kick a score of 119 against us.

Do something Goodwin.

Bump