Am on the Northern Rivers - given how bloody cold it is here today with a Southern Ocean-esque freezing Souwesterly, the dees should feel right at home! Freezing!

PS - be grateful it's on telly in Melb - it's not on the Coffs broadcast! ?

Edited by timbo

Up here for the game, fine day,top of 22 not too hot, a little breezy, good conditions for the game.

31 minutes ago, timbo said:

Am on the Northern Rivers - given how bloody cold it is here today with a Southern Ocean-esque freezing Souwesterly, the dees should feel right at home! Freezing!

PS - be grateful it's on telly in Melb - it's not on the Coffs broadcast! ?

No Free to air in Melbourne ... MFC very firmly behind the paywall of Mr Murdoch

Three in a row,

Go Dees!

Why isn't this game in Cairns ?? I'm in Port Douglas now and I would go to watch them in a heartbeat if it were in Cairns. As it is, I'll be watching it with FND at the Central Hotel in Port Douglas as the coconut palms sway in a gentle tropical zephyr. 

This is our day people !! 

I live in East Brisbane about 400  metres from the Gabba.  It was very windy here yesterday although fine and sunny. Looks pretty much the same today although a tad cooler. Wind at this stage not as strong as yesterday. The Gabba surface should be just about perfect for the game.

The Victorian based fans will be easy to spot. They will be the ones in short sleeved shirts with sunscreen on their faces. Us acclimatised and transplanted wannabe banana benders will be wearing jackets! Brrrrrr!

Beautiful day here in Brisvegas stiff W breeze should keep the dew off the ground. Around 21' C . Forecast. 

IMG_20180512_084720.jpg

Edited by shorty
Spelling

Heading up from the GC to take my 3 year old to her first game!!! 

Is there anywhere to park close to the game or is the train/bus really the only way into the gabba? 

Eight mile plains busway is the best, drops you right outside ,plenty safe parking. Heaps of buses.

5 minutes ago, shorty said:

Eight mile plains busway is the best, drops you right outside ,plenty safe parking. Heaps of buses.

Too easy. 

Thanks mate 

Which end is best to sit at?

8 minutes ago, GCDee said:

Which end is best to sit at?

General Admission , we always sit at the eastern end. Don't really know why, might be colder beer!

1 hour ago, Diamond_Jim said:

No Free to air in Melbourne ... MFC very firmly behind the paywall of Mr Murdoch

Just us? 

so you think they shd pay $1.6bn for to rights and then show it for free?  Thanks Karl Marx ....

30 minutes ago, pineapple dee said:

Why isn't this game in Cairns ?? I'm in Port Douglas now and I would go to watch them in a heartbeat if it were in Cairns. As it is, I'll be watching it with FND at the Central Hotel in Port Douglas as the coconut palms sway in a gentle tropical zephyr. 

This is our day people !! 

Crap wish I had your confidence Pineapple. To me this is definition of classic Melbourne DANGER GAME!!!  We are the better team on paper, are favourites to win, should win and pretty much everyone on here expects to win. What could possibly go wrong....

See you at the Central.

14 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Just us? 

so you think they shd pay $1.6bn for to rights and then show it for free?  Thanks Karl Marx ....

why not Collingwood supporters get most of their games for free.

It's just another way in which the powerful clubs become more so and have done so for the last twenty years.

This is a must win game.  I don't believe we play finals without beating a Gold Coast team without Tom Lynch.  Nor would an aspiring finals team deserve to be finalists with a loss today.

Most importantly, we'll be 4/4 with 14 rounds to go.  We'd need to win a minimum of 8 matches from the 14 (preferably 9) to play finals with two games against Adelaide scheduled, a game at Kardinia Park, games against Sydney and the Giants (the latter will have plenty of players back by round 23), and a game against West Coast in Perth, but this time with Naitanui and Kennedy.

There will basically be no wriggle room to make finals with a loss today.

I think we'll win and win well, but a loss will most likely mean 'season over'.

4 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

why not Collingwood supporters get most of their games for free.

It's just another way in which the powerful clubs become more so and have done so for the last twenty years.

Difference is, they know we Melbourne supporters can afford Foxtel if we chose to get it, filth supporters... well, they probably steal IQ boxes and try and insert them in their ears.

37 minutes ago, shorty said:

General Admission , we always sit at the eastern end. Don't really know why, might be colder beer!

Great thanks again 

Second week in a row that I've woken up on gameday without a dose of pre-match nerves.  The formula worked well last week, so I'll stick with it and say we'll win comfortably.  More seriously, that's exactly what we must do if we have finals aspirations.  Anything less and we are no more than pretenders.  Just do it Dees!

Hopefully a good solid win building on what was a very reasonable performance last week albeit the scoreline flattered us with the Saints appalling set shot kicking.

Looking forward to Brayshaw delivering a solid game on the back of his BOG last week. Would like to see the Weid get more of it in the first half than in previous weeks.

Another game we can not take lightly. Suns arent as bad as people think. They have some real talent, its just whether they actually can gel together.

A must win game and another next week and we are right back in the fold for top 8.