Posted
2 hours ago, don't make me angry said:

Richmond lost about 4 games by less then a goal, last year the team was not ready, I believe we are ready, but doing this camp has no bearing on our mental strength, if it had we would have played finals,  because we went to that camp last year, many games we could have lost by more, but we never gave up, the trick is not letting the other team get to big of a lead or starting games better.

Richmond in season 2017, lost a total of 7 games from 26 games played.

Melbourne lost 10 games, from 23 played.

Richmond finished with a healthy percentage of 118.29%

Melbourne fished with a percentage of 105.22%

One camp does not change mental strength much, just as one Pre-Season does not build an AFL player into elite AFL level aerobic fitness.

Its one step towards that end.  Doing nothing results in nothing.

Doing as you've always done when not achieving, is most likely going to result in the same.

This club has to learn to change its mindset.   If it ever wants to achieve the biggest prize, its says it wants to fight for.

Playing safe is not going to cut it. 

Blaming the umps, blaming the weather, blaming some curse, is not going to help achieve anything, apart from more disappointments

Posted
11 minutes ago, sue said:

For an injury like that you are right.  But what about having no sleep fo 48 hours and other tortures designed for soldiers? 

Funny that a lot of the players thought differently about the effect on fitness.   And a fat lot of good it did for toughening up the team mentally in 2017.  So you'd have to have strong arguments for doing something similar again.  Perhaps the arguments weren't good enough. 

This is exactly what we (Mfc) need, to sort out who will stand up under adversity;  you know one who left last year would not cope with that scenario, and these camps sort out the tough players we can rely on most. 

And they aid in teaching some young ones where they need to get to.

Its an exploration deep into athletes psyches to see how deep their commitment level is, and where it falls away.

It is this sort of venture that will help us find the leaders we need to look to, Who Will in time, help us change our cosy culture into one more like the Hawks battle hardened culture, & the Swans,  new Cats modern day culture.

Posted
34 minutes ago, DV8 said:

Not every Club/team has a need to improve their hardness. All clubs will have their better points and all will have their sore points.

Ours traditionally have been being too nice, too generous with the opposition, & being reluctant to trade with heavy hits & meanness on-field.

We like it when the game is played around the wings as a traditional strength, with outside runners.  It looks great around the Mcg wings, when we've carried the footy, in bygone era's.

But the name of the game is winning Premierships.  Something that is a decided weakness in our past half century.

I'm not seeing things that much differently on most of those points DV.  But we'll agree to disagree on the benefits or otherwise of said camp.  Certainly not against the right type of camp though and I'm pretty sure the players wouldn't be either.  The press chooses to overlook  this important point however.

Where we have differed from most other clubs in the last half century also is the inability to produce/attract champion players and keep them during their prime.  Other clubs, with maybe the Bulldogs the exception, have usually attracted/produced a sprinkling of them which can often be the difference during home & away and finals also.

Posted (edited)
8 minutes ago, Rusty Nails said:

I'm not seeing things that much differently on most of those points DV.  But we'll agree to disagree on the benefits or otherwise of said camp.  Certainly not against the right type of camp though and I'm pretty sure the players wouldn't be either.  The press chooses to overlook  this important point however.

So why then do the Special forces put their men through these trials, & the SOGies as well. They are the elite of their Skills, they have to be, the standouts.

So we here are worried about a couple of little injuries, and some sleepless nights during the course?  really?

Or are we worried that some players may decide to leave the club, because its all too tough?

Do we want to be the Big Winners, or do we want to be the best AFL host team, as we've been for so many decades?

A lot of players got rich from us,. that would not have cut the September mustard, in most Grand Finals.

8 minutes ago, Rusty Nails said:

Where we have differed from most other clubs in the last half century also is the inability to produce/attract champion players and keep them during their prime.  Other clubs, with maybe the Bulldogs the exception, have usually attracted/produced a sprinkling of them which can often be the difference during home & away and finals also.

Our problem hasn't been to top up a talented list;  its been to get them playing to win flags. To remain disciplined to that cause. To not party during the week.

To be single minded with the ultimate prize in focus.

And because of this,  lacking the desire needed to develop our recruits into men, real stars, instead of spectacular players fond of the camera.

This is where our players have developed into, doing the spectacular, instead of doing the winning.

Our young recruits all want to do that spectacular thing, instead of busting their arzes all game, every game.

This is our collective failure.  And this is the bathwater experience, & this is what we continue to achieve. 

'The spectacles' of the competition.

Edited by DV8
Posted
5 minutes ago, DV8 said:

So why then do the Special forces put their men through these trials, & the SOGies as well. They are the elite of their Skills, they have to be, the standouts.

So we here are worried about a couple of little injuries, and some sleepless nights during the course?  really?

Or are we worried that some players may decide to leave the club, because its all too tough?

Do we want to be the Big Winners, or do we want to be the best AFL host team, as we've been for so many decades?

A lot of players got rich from us,. that would not have cut the September mustard, in most Grand Finals.

No, the players weren't concerned about lack of sleep or a couple of little injuries..

I know it doesn't suit your narrative but the issue was lack of qualified MFC support staff at the camp to look after injured players.

My understanding is everything was left in the hands of the people running the camp...not how you look after your major asset I would have thought.

The 1st camp was not well organised and players lost trust. We move on.

Lets hope everyone learned from this, players, coaches, administrators...the proof will be in the seasons ahead.

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, rjay said:

No, the players weren't concerned about lack of sleep or a couple of little injuries..

I know it doesn't suit your narrative but the issue was lack of qualified MFC support staff at the camp to look after injured players.

My understanding is everything was left in the hands of the people running the camp...not how you look after your major asset I would have thought.

The 1st camp was not well organised and players lost trust. We move on.

Lets hope everyone learned from this, players, coaches, administrators...the proof will be in the seasons ahead.

Well if that is the case, the point remains. We still need to be doing these type training camps more than most, needing this sort of training regime.

We would be dragging the bottom of the AFL ladder in terms of being one of the AFL's harder clubs.

So this sort of camp is just what the Doctor ordered, for our Mfc ailments.   We should be doing this camp, every end of Pre-Season.

Edited by DV8
Posted

So, according to Caro there were reports that 14 players individually contacted  the union (AFLPA).

But we were told that not 1 essendon player contacted the club doctor, the AFLPA, ASADA , their wives, girlfriends, player managers, parents and other family members  etc about a 'black ops' secret drug programme involving tens of thousands of injections offsite, waiver forms and including exotic substances like calves blood etc.

Yeah, it makes sense. Sure it does,

Posted
54 minutes ago, DV8 said:

Well if that is the case, the point remains. We still need to be doing these type training camps more than most, needing this sort of training regime.

We would be dragging the bottom of the AFL ladder in terms of being one of the AFL's harder clubs.

So this sort of camp is just what the Doctor ordered, for our Mfc ailments.   We should be doing this camp, every end of Pre-Season.

I wouldn't think so...

I think we have one of the hardest lists in the AFL now, I don't think any club would find us to be bruise free with the likes of Viney, Oliver, Vince, Lewis, Jetta, Hibberd, Petracca, Harmes, Lever and more on the list.

No, I think you are way off the mark.

Posted
2 hours ago, DV8 said:

One camp does not change mental strength much, just as one Pre-Season does not build an AFL player into elite AFL level aerobic fitness.

Doing as you've always done when not achieving, is most likely going to result in the same.

This club has to learn to change its mindset.   If it ever wants to achieve the biggest prize, its says it wants to fight for.

Blaming the umps, blaming the weather, blaming some curse, is not going to help achieve anything, apart from more disappointments

The camp was 2 days not needed, and is about 1% of pre season training, you have mfcss which makes you jump at Shadows, so if we miss finals you are going to put it down to 2 days, a camp for soldiers, not footballers comparing play AFL to going to war is insulting to war veterans.

Posted

Caro is like an ant you squash one and there is another around the corner. You just can't get rid of them. Just put up with the BS.

Posted
13 hours ago, DV8 said:

Didn't Richmond change their mindset by Mindfulness and Meditation, they have been considered as a club that lacks Mental toughness in the past so wouldn't you think that they would have been clamouring for this type of program?

High Altitude and other programs are probably good for some but not all, the Richmond players embraced their Mindfulness program and it did them no harm, you don't always need to belt players over the head with a brick to prove how tough they are.

Posted
5 hours ago, Dante said:

Didn't Richmond change their mindset by Mindfulness and Meditation, they have been considered as a club that lacks Mental toughness in the past so wouldn't you think that they would have been clamouring for this type of program?

High Altitude and other programs are probably good for some but not all, the Richmond players embraced their Mindfulness program and it did them no harm, you don't always need to belt players over the head with a brick to prove how tough they are.

Not really.

They (tigers) are more mentally tough on the the physical stuff, dishing it out, & receiving it as well (physically & mentally).

We probably are stronger on the 'focus side' traditionally, compared to the Tiges.

Both clubs were weak mentally, but for differing reasons.

Richmond the club has never been hesitant to break our the physicality, traditionally, and their club, players & supporters, all relish that.

This area is our biggest hurdle to get over. Bringing the physicality, the physical intensity is our biggest hurdle, and we are easily satisfied with our efforts. Too easily satisfied. 

Insatiable is NOT a word I would use about the Mfc.

The camps allow the club to develop leaders in all areas & to lead in tall the ways our clubs has been lacking in.  This is what the camps are all about leadership/responsibility, under the worst pressure.

Posted
12 minutes ago, DemonAndrew said:

Couch went hard on this tonight on fox footy

Seems that, regardless of whether it was flippant or not, Goodwin did indeed offer his resignation

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/simon-goodwin-flippantly-offered-resignation-as-melbourne-coach-after-preseason-camp-was-canned/news-story/ad3596ab3ffd626df318806e281d0b6b

I knew this would come back

the Head Coach was usurped by a large group of his players, those same players who choked a Finals Berth at the last hurdle, but, who refused to do what Craig Bellamy and the Mighty Melbourne Storm do every year....

How would you feel?

These unnamed 14 had better play the best season of footy they have ever played.... otherwise the club will get ripped apart come August/September

Posted
58 minutes ago, DemonAndrew said:

Couch went hard on this tonight on fox footy

Seems that, regardless of whether it was flippant or not, Goodwin did indeed offer his resignation

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/simon-goodwin-flippantly-offered-resignation-as-melbourne-coach-after-preseason-camp-was-canned/news-story/ad3596ab3ffd626df318806e281d0b6b

Offering his resignation and making a flippant comment about resigning are two very different things.

Posted
13 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Offering his resignation and making a flippant comment about resigning are two very different things.

Only if we have a good season....

Posted

The chemistry between Caro and Hutchy on Footy Classified is absolutely electric...  are they an item?

Posted
2 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

The chemistry between Caro and Hutchy on Footy Classified is absolutely electric...  are they an item?

Stop it!!

Posted

It's Caro raking over the coals to heat the turds she has laid on us over the years. 

She loved re-hashing the "tanking" issue and now she has this dead, ashen story to niggle with.

She can be a fine journalist but when she's short of new material (she is out of the loop now) is equally happy to

dish the dirt. 

Posted
9 minutes ago, doug williams said:

It's Caro raking over the coals to heat the turds she has laid on us over the years. 

She loved re-hashing the "tanking" issue and now she has this dead, ashen story to niggle with.

She can be a fine journalist but when she's short of new material (she is out of the loop now) is equally happy to

dish the dirt. 

I actually think the crux of the article was more about the change in player attitudes and behaviour 

Posted
On ‎19‎/‎03‎/‎2018 at 12:49 PM, DV8 said:

Not really.

They (tigers) are more mentally tough on the the physical stuff, dishing it out, & receiving it as well (physically & mentally).

We probably are stronger on the 'focus side' traditionally, compared to the Tiges.

Both clubs were weak mentally, but for differing reasons.

Richmond the club has never been hesitant to break our the physicality, traditionally, and their club, players & supporters, all relish that.

This area is our biggest hurdle to get over. Bringing the physicality, the physical intensity is our biggest hurdle, and we are easily satisfied with our efforts. Too easily satisfied. 

Insatiable is NOT a word I would use about the Mfc.

The camps allow the club to develop leaders in all areas & to lead in tall the ways our clubs has been lacking in.  This is what the camps are all about leadership/responsibility, under the worst pressure.

Jesus mate.....    Have you ever been on one of these camps?

The main aim is to break you down and then rebuild you to a point where you usefull for a cause ie battle

I have been on a few and all I got out of it was crook as a dog and praying for it to end.   I am no tougher than I was

It was a debarkle last year.   3 players reported in the first couple of games, not the leadership we wanted at that stage but were they tough?

I don't care what the media says about us......We will get done this year and we will win some gutsy ones so even is the competition.   When we do lose it will have nothing to do with a camp not held months ago.