View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Separated at Birth

44 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

Nah think us 2 are closer

What do think @Six6Six

Brunswick Street on your way to the Rose Street Market Saty?

50 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

What do think @Six6Six

I think you shouldn't get out and about in your PJ's 

aka six6six

On 1/26/2018 at 2:26 PM, Satyriconhome said:

What do think @Six6Six

Such a great photo, Satyr. But it looks like you've been tied up with some rope. If nothing else, if anyone wants to label all Melbourne supporters as conservative, Range Rover driver-types, we can just show this photo of you as Exhibit A.

32 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Such a great photo, Satyr. But it looks like you've been tied up with some rope. If nothing else, if anyone wants to label all Melbourne supporters as conservative, Range Rover driver-types, we can just show this photo of you as Exhibit A.

wonder who saty's posh mate is? someone he met in the army?

34 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Agreed!

And on that irksome topic of 'typical' conservative Melbourne supporters; I (mis?)spent my youth in the punk/skinhead scene where generally sport is not a highly rated pursuit or interest. Yet I discovered heaps of fellow Dees fans, closeted or not, who despite their anachronistic anti-establishment tendencies love the Red and Blue! 

As a kid in 1980's/90's outer-eastern suburbia surrounded by fans of successful clubs (Hawthorn, Essendon, Geelong, etc) at school, it was naturally rebellious, even masochistic, to choose the MFC. To back the unfashionable perennial underdog - losers, even. I reckon that ideal is appealing to all sorts of types from all walks of life. And lends itself nicely to the misfit, anti-social approach of the punk scene I and other lifelong Dees fans immersed themselves into in our youth (you know who you are).

It goes to show the cliche of elitist, private school, Range Rover-driving, Grange-swilling, Portsea-polo-attenting, yuppy Dees supporters may have some truth, but is far from the reality. 

Edited by Deemented Are Go!

25 minutes ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

Agreed!

And on that irksome topic of 'typical' conservative Melbourne supporters; I (mis?)spent my youth in the punk/skinhead scene where generally sport is not a highly rated pursuit or interest. Yet I discovered heaps of fellow Dees fans, closeted or not, who despite their anachronistic anti-establishment tendencies love the Red and Blue! 

As a kid in 1980's/90's outer-eastern suburbia surrounded by fans of successful clubs (Hawthorn, Essendon, Geelong, etc) at school, it was naturally rebellious, even masochistic, to choose the MFC. To back the unfashionable perennial underdog - losers, even. I reckon that ideal is appealing to all sorts of types from all walks of life. And lends itself nicely to the misfit, anti-social approach of the punk scene I and other lifelong Dees fans immersed themselves into in our youth (you know who you are).

It goes to show the cliche of elitist, private school, Range Rover-driving, Grange-swilling, Portsea-polo-attenting, yuppy Dees supporters may have some truth, but is far from the reality. 

you could add ......blazer wearing, northern stand, cheese platter.......

Stereotypes only matter if you let them bother you. 

I barrack for Melbourne. I was also born in Melton South (not exactly a den of the privileged) and I went to state schools all my life. I fell in love with the Dees because of blokes like Balls Grinter, Steve O'Dwyer, Big Jimma and Allen Jakovich (though he came later). The whole blueblood thing has never appealed to me.

I am interested @Deemented Are Go! about the number of Geelong supporters in that neck of the woods. I noticed myself that they are about when I lived in Ringwood (occasional bumper stickers). Geographically didn't make much sense but I guess winning does help. Not so much Essendon.

But you were right about the Dawks. Come 2010 when I lived there, they were everywhere.

Edited by Colin B. Flaubert

18 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

I've actually toned down as I aged, in late 60's thanks to slavishly copying Noel Redding and his hairstyle and my lack of height, I was often mistaken for a fluorescent dandelion, until I saw sense, threw my peace and love outfits away and joined the military

I see a resemblance here.....Brother & sister??

caroline-wozniacki_ap-m.jpg?w=759d9ab95fcd5e6efff7147f1dea7a3091c?width=1

5 hours ago, Colin B. Flaubert said:

Stereotypes only matter if you let them bother you. 

I barrack for Melbourne. I was also born in Melton South (not exactly a den of the privileged) and I went to state schools all my life. I fell in love with the Dees because of blokes like Balls Grinter, Steve O'Dwyer, Big Jimma and Allen Jakovich (though he came later). The whole blueblood thing has never appealed to me.

I am interested @Deemented Are Go! about the number of Geelong supporters in that neck of the woods. I noticed myself that they are about when I lived in Ringwood (occasional bumper stickers). Geographically didn't make much sense but I guess winning does help. Not so much Essendon.

But you were right about the Dawks. Come 2010 when I lived there, they were everywhere.

Yeah I just remember heaps of Geelong supporting families in my primary school days. I played a game of little league at Waverley, Melbourne v Hawthorn 1989 , round 19.  The majority of kids on my team (Croydon North FC) were Geelong and Hawthorn. We had to wear the MFC strip much to my delight and their horror. 

We won the little league game (I kicked 0.2 from the forward pocket) , but Melbourne lost to Hawthorn in the seniors. I’ll never forget we sat as a team to watch the last quarter and I was outright bullied by the other kids  as the game slipped away. I lost my taste for little league but strengthened my resolve as a Dees tragic: me against them kinda stuff.

Kids are brutal! 

On 28/01/2018 at 2:57 PM, Deemented Are Go! said:

Yeah I just remember heaps of Geelong supporting families in my primary school days. I played a game of little league at Waverley, Melbourne v Hawthorn 1989 , round 19.  The majority of kids on my team (Croydon North FC) were Geelong and Hawthorn. We had to wear the MFC strip much to my delight and their horror. 

We won the little league game (I kicked 0.2 from the forward pocket) , but Melbourne lost to Hawthorn in the seniors. I’ll never forget we sat as a team to watch the last quarter and I was outright bullied by the other kids  as the game slipped away. I lost my taste for little league but strengthened my resolve as a Dees tragic: me against them kinda stuff.

Kids are brutal! 

This brings me back to when are great Jimmy Stynes was just a raw Irish lad and still learning our rules and at that s*#$ hole Wavely park. When the great one went over the mark.

Coming home on the train it was packed with the red and blue.  One guy started to sing our great club song and i kid you not we all joined in, even though we lost we came together to try and lessen the pain.

As the train pulled into Flinders street station there was this girl who was a dawk supporter and as my boyfriend at the and i were making away off the train she shoved that stupid dawks scarf into my face, i said if you don't stop it you know where that thing will end up, she tried it again and my boyfriend grabbed so i couldn't shove it in it's rightful place.

I hate them of all the teams in the AFL bunch of BLEEPS!

So yer i feel your pain.

3 minutes ago, don't make me angry said:

IMG_20180114_180623.jpg

Good to see you've had the bite problems fixed