Trade Jack Watts or not?  

477 members have voted

Posted
2 minutes ago, Biffen said:

Well done Goodwin-you proved you can make the hard decisions.

Now get a flag or pack your bags.

How about we just try to make finals first mate

Posted
1 hour ago, Junior said:

I don't understand why anyone at the club had to make public statements about Jack leaving, well before any deal had been done.  They should have repeated over and over "Jack is a contracted player", and then kept all the real conversations behind closed doors.

What happens now if he ends up staying cos a deal doesn't get over the line?  The club has basically announced that we don't want him at the club.  That sort of talk can even further damage the bloke, and further hurt his chances of bouncing back and finding some fresh motivation in 2018.  All that might be OK, except for the fact that we are still paying him a fortune, and that he can still be a top 5 player for the club.

They are amateurs that is why. Pro Mahoney flogs talk up the Hibberd deal, but the only reason we got Hibberd where we did was the WADA ban - Essendon could not hold him, if they did he could have taken them to court (Essendon didn't need that and knew it). We overpaid for Melksham and didn't factor in a WADA ban (like the amateurs we are). We overpaid for Lever something shocking (could have held out and got Lever for this years first and second rounder - look at Essendon holding out with Stringer (different leagues). We have too many impatient negotiators in charge, and the football landscape know it. We are as predictable as Dodoro - but in the opposite manner (Dodoro will hold out for the right deal, we will rush into the wrong deal). Just different levels.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

How about we just try to make finals first mate

Not even good enough.

Posted

Ok, here we go, my position in full.

Jack Watts doesn't quite fill any specific role in a team structure and there are particular elements of his game which are not up to scratch.  That's fine if you are an extraordinary talent who can turn games, but Watts is not that much more skilled than other players.

I've really thought about it and have wavered in both directions, but I'm settled now. I fully support the club's decision to move him on as it is simply not serving much purpose to keep him. When he is removed from his line about mid-level of our best 22, everyone below moves up a slot and the total loss is really very small considering the players not currently getting regular games.

If nothing else, Watts leaving will likely push Pederson's career out past the 100 game line, which seems fair given that Pederson has performed much better. It will also open up space for Weideman to develop in roles targeted to his strengths. 

I think, in the end, it is a case of Watts value being inflated by the two very different roles he plays at the club, which is to say, player... and mascot.

As for the 'mishandling', I think a certain amount of acrimony was made necessary in order to give crazy Demon supporters a chance to work through their feelings in a few hundred pages of comments in online forums! :blink:

Posted (edited)
5 hours ago, Leoncelli_36 said:

Brendan McCartney has had a big hand in ridding the club of Watts. It's not Goodwin or Viney that have put a line through him. Macca was the person driving it. Has a track record of doing it too. 

This kind of post is just pure speculation and doesn't add anything except BS and hysteria.

If you think it is one person has evaluated Watts and then convinved Viney and Goodwin you really have no idea of how a footy department or list management works.

Edited by jnrmac

Posted

I cant remember more "Hysteria" about a player since Juice Newton got his marching orders from Supercoach Mark Neeld! 

Coincidentally Juice was BOG in the Ovens & Murray GF kicking a lazy 8 

Now wait a minute could we...........................???

^_^

Posted
1 hour ago, Sir Why You Little said:

32 years in the media Fault

i think stories are being with held

just a hunch

it’s too cold and calculated

So the media have a scoop about a media magnet player but they're not reporting it.

That sounds exactly like something the media would do.

the only way I can see that happening is if Watts is screwing both Rupert Murdoch and Bill Shorten.

Posted
39 minutes ago, Biffen said:

Well done Goodwin-you proved you can make the hard decisions.

Now get a flag or pack your bags.

1. you can guarantee one of those two things will happen anyway, eventually

2. goodwin knows this, and knows your option 2 is the more likely

3. the reason he's doing all this is so he can fulfil option 1

Posted
1 minute ago, Mazer Rackham said:

1. you can guarantee one of those two things will happen anyway, eventually

2. goodwin knows this, and knows your option 2 is the more likely

3. the reason he's doing all this is so he can fulfil option 1

If it came down to a kick after the siren from 40 out -we just traded the guy who I'd like to take that kick.

Posted
33 minutes ago, KingDingAling said:

They are amateurs that is why. Pro Mahoney flogs talk up the Hibberd deal, but the only reason we got Hibberd where we did was the WADA ban - Essendon could not hold him, if they did he could have taken them to court (Essendon didn't need that and knew it). We overpaid for Melksham and didn't factor in a WADA ban (like the amateurs we are). We overpaid for Lever something shocking (could have held out and got Lever for this years first and second rounder - look at Essendon holding out with Stringer (different leagues). We have too many impatient negotiators in charge, and the football landscape know it. We are as predictable as Dodoro - but in the opposite manner (Dodoro will hold out for the right deal, we will rush into the wrong deal). Just different levels.

Let's face it. We're hopeless, have always been hopeless,  always will be hopeless, people pick on us, our kids are no hopers, our job sucks, our horses always lose, we never even pick up a division 4 in tattslotto, we're going to get sacked tomorrow, and the sky is falling.

On the bright side, a giant comet may strike the earth and finish us all off before we win another wooden spoon.

• Haha 6
Posted
5 minutes ago, Biffen said:

If it came down to a kick after the siren from 40 out -we just traded the guy who I'd like to take that kick.

Its OK we have Jayden Hunt. He can do it from 70m on the flank.....

Posted
5 minutes ago, Biffen said:

and we just traded a guy that would squib contests and not sit under a high ball...

Posted
20 minutes ago, picket fence said:

I cant remember more "Hysteria" about a player since Juice Newton got his marching orders from Supercoach Mark Neeld! 

Coincidentally Juice was BOG in the Ovens & Murray GF kicking a lazy 8 

Now wait a minute could we...........................???

^_^

the only hysteria over juice newton was all coming from you, picket :(

Posted
11 minutes ago, Biffen said:

4 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

and we just traded a guy that would squib contests and not sit under a high ball...

OK, I'm seeing a way through this that will satisfy all parties.

We keep Jack on the list as a specialist kicker, like in gridiron.

We park him on the bench, and when we get a game where it's a kick after the siren to win, we pull the kicker and ON COMES JACK to save the day!

Win-win-win.

Posted

Maybe the revelation of Tom McDonald forward has packed Jacks bags. Competes in the air, leads to right areas, has proven to be a straight set shot, gut running up the field, courageous. Makes you wonder...

Posted
2 minutes ago, SFebey said:

Maybe the revelation of Tom McDonald forward has packed Jacks bags. Competes in the air, leads to right areas, has proven to be a straight set shot, gut running up the field, courageous. Makes you wonder...

Fair call

Posted
Just now, jumbo returns said:

Fair call

It's a massive call from Goodwin if this is the case, makes you wonder though, putting a lot of faith in a recognised backman to do it full time.

Posted
2 hours ago, pinkshark said:

Hope this is not the case as that would be the second time we have been bent over by an overachieving multiple premiership country coach (didn't he and that [censored] idiot neeld both coach Grovedale, Greensborough, Geeelong west, Geelong East, Gariwerd, Gnanjup, Goulbourn Valley or Gonadsville or something like that, starting with a G?)

Barwon Heads and Ocean Grove respectively, good sir.

Posted

agreed. T.Mac is just a very good marking tries so hard. He kicked accurately for goal last season but I don't quite trust him yet. Years of butchering it in the backline will do that to you :) 

Posted
25 minutes ago, Biffen said:

Except to earn that kick he may have to back into a pack and risk life & limb to take the mark. Probably a bit much for JW

Posted
1 minute ago, SFebey said:

It's a massive call from Goodwin if this is the case, makes you wonder though, putting a lot of faith in a recognised backman to do it full time.

Exactly. It is a huge call and it is being called..

there is merit in it. But i can see Biffs call to

one thing JW does is kick well

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, SFebey said:

Very different players, Tom filled more of our tradition CHF/FF role in the absence of Jessie. Jack is more a link man, being able to spot targets and excecute good field kicking. Though I will agree that the revelation of TMac as a forward may have been part of a catalyst for this. Too many talls to fit up front and we’ve still got Weids waiting in the wings. 

Edited by Pates
Posted
21 minutes ago, SFebey said:

It really isn't a massive call. Watts plays a third tall role. TMac will play second KPP, rotating forward with Hogan. If anything TMac's form up forward allowed us to go after Lever.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

agreed. T.Mac is just a very good marking tries so hard. He kicked accurately for goal last season but I don't quite trust him yet. Years of butchering it in the backline will do that to you :) 

It's funny how under severe pressure the impulse kicking skills are tested and turnovers occur. But Tom (played juniors as a forwrd) has a very good set shot routine and kicking action. I'm expecting this to continue.