Posted
16 hours ago, CBDees said:

Grew up as an Essendon supporter (assumption based on his father's team) so I could image that he might consider there first.

5 hours ago, CBDees said:

It's worked in Collingwood's favour many times. Certainly it has been a long time since people chose to go to Collingwood to secure a Premiership! 

Our ex-Jeremy thought he would get one there sooner ?

2 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

St Kilda will most likely want a player like Oliver, Brayshaw or Petracca in return as part of a trade.

Offer them Garland, but blur the writing a bit so they, in their confusion, think it was Garlett. 

Posted (edited)
7 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Serious consideration...

Salem must be a little shaky with his form/injuries and bad report from last week

Trade month is gonna be great this year if we make September. 

Players will love to play at The G when it is full of Red and Blue Demons

the Northern side of the G was chockers last sunday

Salem is as shaky as The MCG. Really you need to think before you make some of your statements. The best user of the ball in the club and you think because of a couple of suspensions and a poor game he may be traded.  Toby Greene must be absolutely gone then. 

Edited by Redleg

Posted
38 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Salem is as shaky as The MCG. Really you need to think before you make some of your statements. The best user of the ball in the club and you think because of a couple of suspensions and a poor game he may be traded.  Toby Greene must be absolutely gone then. 

I have never doubted he has excellent skills at all. 

But have we had good value out of him since 2014? I don't think we have

i am looking at the past 3 years, not just the last few games. 

He is certainly not an "untouchable" if the right deal is offered, but i wouldn't trade him unless an excellent player was available. 

Posted
58 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

I have never doubted he has excellent skills at all. 

But have we had good value out of him since 2014? I don't think we have

i am looking at the past 3 years, not just the last few games. 

He is certainly not an "untouchable" if the right deal is offered, but i wouldn't trade him unless an excellent player was available. 

We probably haven't got great value from him so far, but I think Goodwin, Viney, Taylor and Mahoney will back the talented players in and we need more good users of the ball not less. 

Posted

Zero hope of prising out one of the Saints best young talents.

I'm not sure what the relevance of him being out of contract is: he's not a FA and we ain't going to get him to nominate for the draft, that almost never happens. It would have to happen by the same method as a contracted player: with agreement from the Saints. Which brings me back to my first point: zero chance of prising him out of the Saints.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Nasher said:

I'm not sure what the relevance of him being out of contract is: he's not a FA and we ain't going to get him to nominate for the draft, that almost never happens. It would have to happen by the same method as a contracted player: with agreement from the Saints. Which brings me back to my first point: zero chance of prising him out of the Saints.

Being out of contract gives leverage to get to your desired club.

Threaten to go to anyone, or sit out the game, sook, spit dummy, carry on.

Luke Ball?

Posted
Just now, faultydet said:

Being out of contract gives leverage to get to your desired club.

Threaten to go to anyone, or sit out the game, sook, spit dummy, carry on.

Luke Ball?

I did say almost never happens. Remote enough chance not to waste my breath. 

Posted
Just now, Nasher said:

I did say almost never happens. Remote enough chance not to waste my breath. 

Dont be grumpy Nash.

The reason it almost never happens is the players use the leverage to almost always get to their desired club

Posted
10 minutes ago, Redleg said:

We probably haven't got great value from him so far, but I think Goodwin, Viney, Taylor and Mahoney will back the talented players in and we need more good users of the ball not less. 

I agree with you. Kid just needs a good run at it, has had a horrible injury run, he is very important to our future I think and one of the very few who can hit a target by foot consistently. Let's hope his injury curse goes away.

Posted
21 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Fair enough, as he has talent on his side but he hasn't done himself a lot of favours lately  

wrong time of the year to be on the outer

Posted

HUN are running a story tonight that he is on the verge on re-signing with the Saints.  I don't think this one is going to happen, not that I really thought he would leave in the first place.

Posted
8 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

It does explain why Judd, Franklin and Pendlebury were all so keen to come to Melbourne.

We got Harmes. All evens out in the end.

Posted

He is staying at the saints. I wonder if they will still have the rumoured 1.2m for Kelly after inking Billings.

Posted
25 minutes ago, Adzman said:

He is staying at the saints. I wonder if they will still have the rumoured 1.2m for Kelly after inking Billings.

Kelly will be a Blue.

Posted
1 hour ago, Nasher said:

Well I didn't think it was a realistic shot anyway but when someone that talented remains unsigned I would've thought it was worth the discussion. Much like West coast and Freo indicating interest in Hogan last year and us with Lever this year. It would seem to be a moot point now with reports he'll be signing on soon.

The relevance of someone out of contract is that it may indicate a desire to leave their club and they would have more power to do so. Contracted player like Gibbs last year can be retained, while an out of contract player that nominates another club usually gets there. But again, all moot. May as well end thread.

Posted (edited)
17 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Kelly will be a Blue.

Why do Gws players like the blues so much? Surely it can't all be about SOS. Perhaps it's just the sheer number of former team mates now... 

Is it just blues you have inside info on? Seem to recall reading you're friends with someone on the inner sanctum their. 

Hopefully Chook in Perth will return soon, would love some potential info on where we're at with Lever or other trade targets.

Edited by Nascent
Posted
13 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Kelly will be a Blue.

I honestly don’t understand why he would choose Carlton over us. We are a good two years ahead of them.. 

I very much want Kelly at the Dees. Would have him over Lever in a heartbeat 

Posted
Just now, fndee said:

I honestly don’t understand why he would choose Carlton over us. We are a good two years ahead of them.. 

I very much want Kelly at the Dees. Would have him over Lever in a heartbeat 

Think you will find it is dollars over his footy career and well paid work after it ends.

Posted

If Kelly brings Carlton as much success as Judd did I'll be furious. 

Oh, wait...

Posted
1 hour ago, Redleg said:

Kelly will be a Blue.

Proven players will not go to a bottom club, Carlton continually stagnate. Kelly will want some kind of success it hard to see Carlton having success in the near future. Essendon or us would be a better chance