View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

MATCH PREVIEW AND TEAM SELECTION - ROUND 20

I've just returned home to Canberra, after visiting 'sunny' Hobart last weekend.  For those who are interested, the weather forecast is on a par with what we had to endure in Tassie ........... max of 11 degrees, 70% chance of a few showers, mosttly in the morning, 30 to 45 kpm winds from the North West (Manuka Oval runs pretty much North / South).  It's currently windy and raining steadily. Brrrr!r

46 minutes ago, Deeoldfart said:

I've just returned home to Canberra, after visiting 'sunny' Hobart last weekend.  For those who are interested, the weather forecast is on a par with what we had to endure in Tassie ........... max of 11 degrees, 70% chance of a few showers, mosttly in the morning, 30 to 45 kpm winds from the North West (Manuka Oval runs pretty much North / South).  It's currently windy and raining steadily. Brrrr!r

wind is forecast as wnw which (if goals north/south) mean the breeze will be more cross ground but favouring the southern end. sounds like it will be difficult to score

1 hour ago, daisycutter said:

wind is forecast as wnw which (if goals north/south) mean the breeze will be more cross ground but favouring the southern end. sounds like it will be difficult to score

If only we could play under a roof in perfect conditions every 2nd week like Essendrug.

And they are praised for their high scoring , fast flowing brand of footy.  They will crumble on the MCG in September (if they make it).

Just in case MFC supporters needed another reason for winning against the Great Wankers Side.

Tom $cully has 'unfinished business' with GWS Giants ahead of Melbourne Demons clash

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/afl/tom-scully-has-unfinished-business-with-gws-giants-ahead-of-melbourne-demons-clash-20170803-gxotln.html 

I really hate these pricks and this one [censored] in particular.  Beyond setting up our spot in the top 8, I really hope we smash GWS today for the benefit of $cully.  

May the boos be long and loud.  

Never forget.

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter

8 hours ago, daisycutter said:

Yes, and the ground is very exposed, with little wind protection provided by grandstands.

9 hours ago, daisycutter said:

Since the oval points slightly east of north,  a WNW wind will be very much across the ground.  I'd almost hope it was down the ground and that we had learnt how to deal with it after last week.

Edited by sue

32 minutes ago, sue said:

Since the oval points slightly east of north,  a WNW wind will be very much across the ground.  I'd almost hope it was down the ground and that we had learnt how to deal with it after last week.

The problem really is i don't think we learnt ANYTHING about playing in wind last week :unsure:

6 hours ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

Just in case MFC supporters needed another reason for winning against the Great Wankers Side.

Tom $cully has 'unfinished business' with GWS Giants ahead of Melbourne Demons clash

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/afl/tom-scully-has-unfinished-business-with-gws-giants-ahead-of-melbourne-demons-clash-20170803-gxotln.html 

I really hate these pricks and this one [censored] in particular.  Beyond setting up our spot in the top 8, I really hope we smash GWS today for the benefit of $cully.  

Never forget.

Get him Jack . 

I think our midfield matches up with theirs well - they probably have more skill whereas ours has more grunt. I reckon they will struggle up forward without Patton, Cameron and Green. Watts owes the team big time after his last 2 miserable performances- I predict he will have a good game this week in the absence of Hogan. Mummy was 50/50 this week so may be playing a bit injured so all good for Maxxy to dominate. Reckon we will win.

47 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

I think our midfield matches up with theirs well - they probably have more skill whereas ours has more grunt. I reckon they will struggle up forward without Patton, Cameron and Green. Watts owes the team big time after his last 2 miserable performances- I predict he will have a good game this week in the absence of Hogan. Mummy was 50/50 this week so may be playing a bit injured so all good for Maxxy to dominate. Reckon we will win.

As they say, a team of champions doesn't necessarily make a champion team, and we have seen in recent weeks how disjointed and unorganised they look sometimes and they'll probably be even worse now with most of their forward line out.

If we bring our Adelaide/Bulldogs style game, then we'll be well on the way.

In other news....  I am at my wits end with <popular consumer electronics company>. 

Bought a new bells & whistles TV back in November, which was great for a few weeks before it had to be replaced. It's replacement lasted a few months before having to be replaced and the one after that, yep you guessed it, had to be replaced - 30 minutes after it came out of the box!  

Telly #4 is being delivered at some time today.  Hopefully within the next 3 hours so I don't miss the game.

7 hours ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

Never forget.

In fairness its not him who is saying anything. Its media looking for something to write about.

Having said that I hope Viney smashes him legally into the turf.

7 hours ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

Never forget.

More like its us that has "unfinished business" with Tom.....sickem Jack.

1 hour ago, JTR said:

In other news....  I am at my wits end with <popular consumer electronics company>. 

Bought a new bells & whistles TV back in November, which was great for a few weeks before it had to be replaced. It's replacement lasted a few months before having to be replaced and the one after that, yep you guessed it, had to be replaced - 30 minutes after it came out of the box!  

Telly #4 is being delivered at some time today.  Hopefully within the next 3 hours so I don't miss the game.

Name and shame

What's a QLED? It is an Oled misspelt?

Looks like you've got yourself a good telly there.

You would have thought. This is #4 though, as mentioned so not counting my chickens yet...  :/

Anyway, enough of this thread hijacking.

Have all the people on the way up arrived safely? And how's the weather?