Posted
39 minutes ago, Ash35 said:

The Sydney and Brisbane losses will cost us playing finals.

We won't make it this year.

and melbourne too ;)

Posted
3 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

are you saying we lose to Collingwood ... :D 

Buckleys farewell, the pies will get up for that.

Nah, just kidding, you got me, I forgot the pies game, so that's 5 more wins, you are definitely playing finals.

Posted
1 minute ago, Deemented Are Go! said:

He's got a loooong leg..

Plus a mid-wicket, mid-on, 3 slips and a gully - yep he's a complete joke FFS. Mind you I can't find any Ch 7 common taters that I like, which is why I always turn the sound down and listen to the on-line radio (I use live pause to sync them up so I'm usually 5 -10 seconds behind everyone else)

Posted
4 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

are you saying we lose to Collingwood ... :D 

buckleys last game as coach ... they will push us hard 

for me its 50/50

Posted
1 minute ago, markc said:

and melbourne too ;)

Nope, you guys are made of stern stuff these days, no easy beats. Realistically you are better than us, and we played horribly that day and weren't really in it. The Sydney and Brisbane games were games we should have won cos we were in very very winnable positions in both.

Posted
10 minutes ago, Ash35 said:

Yep, should have clarified, I'm Essendon

Despite tonights result, our losses to Sydney and Brisbane will cost us playing finals.

Unlike Melbourne. I see you guys making it which is a tremendous effort considering the injury hurdles you guys have faced this year. You should win at least 4 more games [Port at MCG, Saints, Brisbane and NM], which gets you in the 8.

What's your business here...?imagejpeg

Posted (edited)
41 minutes ago, Ash35 said:

Both players in their 2nd season, hopefully both have long careers ahead and both clubs have great players.

I wouldn't judge Parish on 3 quarters of football.

The same way I wouldn't judge Oliver on his Friday effort against the Swans 2 weeks ago.

The game where Oliver had 24 disposals and 6 tackles? Yeh I agree, that's crap by his standards. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay
Posted
Just now, Deemented Are Go! said:

What's your business here...?

Diversity. Usually get decent footy chat here. Bomberblitz gets stupid sometimes.

I come and go. 

My ex wife and two daughters are Melbourne Members.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Ash35 said:

Nope, you guys are made of stern stuff these days, no easy beats. Realistically you are better than us, and we played horribly that day and weren't really in it. The Sydney and Brisbane games were games we should have won cos we were in very very winnable positions in both.

how are ya going mate ? been a while , still haven't converted you to the Dees ..

Posted
2 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

The game where Oliver had 24 disposals and 6 tackles? Yeh I agree, that's crap by his standards. 

Stats numbers stats - big deal

He didn't influence that game

Posted
4 minutes ago, Ash35 said:

Diversity. Usually get decent footy chat here. Bomberblitz gets stupid sometimes.

I come and go. 

Can't argue with that 

Posted
1 minute ago, markc said:

how are ya going mate ? been a while , still haven't converted you to the Dees ..

Going ok

Live in Cranbourne East these days, about a 2 min drive to Casey Fields, so I get to watch Casey pretty regularly.

Last few years have been tough following the Dons, but no conversion to the Dees yet.

Posted
1 hour ago, JTR said:

"I reckon they are going to become a lot of peoples second team this lot" - Bruce

He had to be joking - seriously???

Posted

Outside of the Demons, I don't care who wins or loses. But it's great watching 'contenders' get exposed week after week. We seem to have matured and turned the corner in close finishes, and have gained greater confidence in our plan. Now fix the injury count and there aren't too many areas of vulnerability that can be exploited to ultimately overcome our game-style.

Posted

Fingers crossed the Dockers win. Meth Coke won't win a final in Victoria, Dockers won't make one to begin with, Dockers win and both WA teams effectively ruled out of finals (plus the Mrs and her family are one eyed Dockers fans; anything for a peaceful life)

Posted
39 minutes ago, Ash35 said:

I come and go. 

Ash sorry to hear you refer to your wife as ex. Hope you are going ok. Keep posting here, most would enjoy your contribution.

Posted
2 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

Parish had a massive 12 disposals to 3/4 time. Wish we took him over Oliver! Bwahahahaha!

Were you watching the game or just looking at the stats?

He was playing back pocket/half back for a lot of the game. Clearly not his ideal position but developing some flexibility in his game.

Oliver is a good pick, but the same sort of statement could be made about Weideman and any number of interchangeable players  , where the gap is much greater.

Posted

Thats St Kilda third or fourth flogging for the year, and they have barely had an injury all season.

We are twice the team that they are. 

Posted

I missed Bruce's comment but if he seriously said Essendon will become people's second team he obviously underestimates how much the competition hates them. 

It doesn't matter if I find out my soul mate is a mad hatter Essendon fan, I will never support them above being slightly less hated than Collingwood. 

Posted
8 hours ago, Pates said:

Fox Footy are seriously the kiss of death. Every time they analyse a team and say "oh they are definitely up there and here's why" that team hits a brick wall. Watch them jump right off and call them pretenders who believe their own hype and have a bad culture. 

Also the Sun Herald has a "kiss of death". A serious 4 page spread on the Saints yesterday. They did the same to us before the Sydney match.

Posted
9 hours ago, Ash35 said:

Going ok

Live in Cranbourne East these days, about a 2 min drive to Casey Fields, so I get to watch Casey pretty regularly.

Last few years have been tough following the Dons, but no conversion to the Dees yet.

Feel free to jump on the wagon mate. You have actually been here more through the crap than half the Melbourne supporters have been.

Posted
15 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

It's at Etihad, but certainly still a chance.

Thanks Clint, I realised my mistake when I was putting my multis on, I still think if their mids can get the upper hand they are in with a shot. 

Posted
4 hours ago, Pates said:

I missed Bruce's comment but if he seriously said Essendon will become people's second team he obviously underestimates how much the competition hates them. 

It doesn't matter if I find out my soul mate is a mad hatter Essendon fan, I will never support them above being slightly less hated than Collingwood. 

Also missed the comment, must have been said whilst flicking channels and getting NRL scores but just like the title of this thread , everything NON MFC is just that!

NO WAY IN HELL!!!!!

Posted (edited)

It's sad that a great caller of sport, who is battling a serious illness, may end up being remembered for the sycophantic, fawning and poor commentary that he is now delivering. 

Bruce was so much better previously and one can only think that the illness is to blame for the drop in his once great standard. 

He is a genuine nice guy and maybe like footballers should have retired when he was still playing/calling reasonably well. 

I wish him well in his battle and appreciate all the great work he has done in the past and personally I will recall the best of him and not this year's football commentary. 

All that said, he is still better than some of the inaccurate, biased, AFL bum kissing, umpire protected commentary,  that is served up by  some of the other so called, football commentators and callers  .

Edited by Redleg
  • Like 13