Sam MaClure- "Hibberd to Melbourne, 4 year deal"

amazing what happens when you cant.....well...not really...not yet..lol.

Thoughts   from EFC ?  just curious

Just now, beelzebub said:

amazing what happens when you cant.....well...not really...not yet..lol.

Thoughts   from EFC ?  just curious

What?

Just now, olisik said:

What?

dont quite understand what youre asking ?   what ?

Not surprising, really.  I think we always had him in the bag, the challenge now is how we get him without Essendrug demanding three first round picks and Max Gawn as part of the trade.

1 minute ago, chook fowler said:

Don't know much about him. Can anybody explain his plusses and minuses?

From what I've seen, and others can correct me or add more to it, he is a very good running defender who is a beautiful kick of the footy and more than holds his own in a one on one situation.  At 27 he is hitting his prime and he will be an excellent addition to our half back line, potentially releasing the likes of Hunt and Salem to play more through the wings and midfield.

Just now, Wiseblood said:

From what I've seen, and others can correct me or add more to it, he is a very good running defender who is a beautiful kick of the footy and more than holds his own in a one on one situation.  At 27 he is hitting his prime and he will be an excellent addition to our half back line, potentially releasing the likes of Hunt and Salem to play more through the wings and midfield.

Thanks Wiseblood

Edited by chook fowler

• Author
3 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

Not surprising, really.  I think we always had him in the bag, the challenge now is how we get him without Essendrug demanding three first round picks and Max Gawn as part of the trade.

Delisted free agent, give them nothing

1 minute ago, Wiseblood said:

And unlike his mate Milkshake, he can actually provide a service in the first year of his deal.

3 minutes ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said:

That would be in a perfect world, Rod.  I'd be all for it, but I doubt it will happen.

I want him for nothing. 

Essendon has dug their own grave and they can GGF. 

• Author
Just now, Wiseblood said:

That would be in a perfect world, Rod.  I'd be all for it, but I doubt it will happen.

Why?

offer them a third round pick, if not, DFA. Worst that can happen is he has a delayed start to preseason with us and he may have to train on his own for a bit longer.

Play hard with these cheating sods and rip them off

Pro: powerful running (but not super quick), long kicking midsized defender, strong in the air and solid one on one

Cons: Probably struggles with his weight at the best of times, will be interesting to see if he's in shape. 27 in Jan. At 186cm he probably doesn't solve our 3rd tall issues

Im all for heating a rusted pike and ramming it up anyone purporting to be of Windy Hill importance !!

If for nothing else but to bring them back to earth.. you stuffed up....time to pay. And we move on...essendon being of no importance etc

10 minutes ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said:

That would make up for some of the pain of the last decade

I would love to get him as a dfa....

The experience will help and the zone system suits him. 

We might be able to use Hibberd, Wagner and Melksham as 3 mid sized decent in the air defenders and do away with the 3rd tall. Add Jetta, Hunt, T Mc and Frost and that could be a solid back 7. Or if we want to play another tall and/or Vince down back it means decent competition for defensive spots which has obviously been a weakness this year.

If true, thanks for choosing to play for us Micheal. I hope like hell you are prepared to come across as a DFA, because that will make your new team stronger.

How much store should we put in a Sam Maclure quote? Not slagging him off, just genuinely unsure.

• Author
Just now, TRIGON said:

How much store should we put in a Sam Maclure quote? Not slagging him off, just genuinely unsure.

Not huge unfortunately, a bit above one from Range Rover though

23 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Pro: powerful running (but not super quick), long kicking midsized defender, strong in the air and solid one on one

Cons: Probably struggles with his weight at the best of times, will be interesting to see if he's in shape. 27 in Jan. At 186cm he probably doesn't solve our 3rd tall issues

Looks good on the clip - shows he can mark, kick long, likes a goal, tackles and can break lines. Not a bad package.

37 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

Can Sam McLure organise Hurley, Rance, Pestia and O'meara as well please?

though you might like that  I would think it all way above the capabilities of Sam I am  !! :rolleyes: