Posted

Frost to hold  Brown, T.Mc or Dunne to Petrie, Max is ok but will need to lift a knotch against Goldstein but I reckon he will be ok. Viney Vince NJones and  Tyson will have to be totally on and I don't give a stuff who smashes Harvey as long as somebody gets it done, Jetta a reasonable option.

But we need last years 'hard arse ' Hogan to function as he can , same for Garlett , so we don't do the worrying, they do.

Posted
10 minutes ago, TheoX said:

Out: Matt Jones, Labumhead

In: Dunn, ANB

Seriously? There were far worse players than Matty Jones

Posted

I am far too disgusted to get stuck into all the posts but I just want to say one thing - could every person who has ever called me out on my criticism of Garland please step up and apologise. I have been calling for this pretender to be removed from the 22 for 2-3 years. Could you imagine a worse game of football than wha tyou saw from him today, the only thing more staggering is our so-called 'elite' coaching panel that decided to put the worst player on the ground on the best player on the ground and leave it like that all day

Posted

In: ANB, Stretch, Dunn

Out: Kent, Brayshaw, Bugg.

ANB in as we have to reward good form and by the sounds, he demonstrated it in the VFL with 36 touches.Stretch to provide run, and Dunn as we need an extra tall defender.

Kent for the reciprocal reason as selecting ANB. This is exactly the knock on him - he becomes an invisible man. Standards need to be upheld and he was a passenger today.

Brayshaw is not ready. Roos is right in that he should have played VFL in hindsight. I could be persuaded that perhaps now that he's in he can find touch in the seniors, but while actual match fit players are in the twos, I think he should go. I also don't want to start playing selection ping-pong with one of our key commodities though, as it could be confidence eroding. Plenty to think about here. 

Bugg just the next poor player with no credits left. Would be happy to listen to reasons why others, such as Harmes, might go first (I thought Harmes was OK today) but I just reckon Tommy is next.

Posted
Just now, Curry & Beer said:

I am far too disgusted to get stuck into all the posts but I just want to say one thing - could every person who has ever called me out on my criticism of Garland please step up and apologise. I have been calling for this pretender to be removed from the 22 for 2-3 years. Could you imagine a worse game of football than wha tyou saw from him today, the only thing more staggering is our so-called 'elite' coaching panel that decided to put the worst player on the ground on the best player on the ground and leave it like that all day

No.  Our midfield should be the ones to cop the whack today.  They allowed Essendon to waltz the ball into their forward line with ease all day.  The entire defence was poor because of it.  Shows how short sighted you are to single one man out.

I'll agree as well that it wasn't one of his better days, but seriously, take a wider view.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Curry & Beer said:

You drink a lot while you watch the footy? It's the only explanation I can think of C&B because not only was Garland one of many that rotated onto Daniher throughout the entire game, you rate his game harsher than that of Kent or Hogan or Bugg for that matter? We played poorly as a team but Garland would not be the first person I would pointing my finger at. He is your whipping boy, we get it, but using this game as vindication is way off the mark

Posted

Roos said that only 6 players at the most earned the respect of the coaching group, and that it will be a detailed and hard review. He also had some leeway for the younger players who seemed tired (p..s poor ex use if you ask me). 

I reckon Kent, Harmes and Brayshaw are in the spotlight. For whatever reason, the rest are probably safe unfortunately. Hogan will probably miss with an ankle but he needs to be reviewed very harshly for being petulant and lazy. 

Posted

Daniher towers over Garland, and his reach and leap is incredible. I'm not sure the player who is the right match-up for him is even on our list. OMac might be it, but not yet. 

Posted
4 minutes ago, MrReims said:

You drink a lot while you watch the footy? It's the only explanation I can think of C&B because not only was Garland one of many that rotated onto Daniher throughout the entire game, you rate his game harsher than that of Kent or Hogan or Bugg for that matter? We played poorly as a team but Garland would not be the first person I would pointing my finger at. He is your whipping boy, we get it, but using this game as vindication is way off the mark

Garland is a 10-year defender whose only task today was to stop Daniher from marking the football. That's it -  ONE job. He was comprehensively pantsed AGAIN. He failed to be anywhere near the drop of the ball, to read what was gong on, to put any body on his direct opponent and most of all, to GET A FRIGGING FIST TO THE BALL TO SPOIL THE MARK. Youve been on an AFL list for 10 frigging years and we have to watch your opponent just mark with ease all frigging day long. I cant believe I ahev to actually point this ut but naming a few players that were even more shizen than Garland does not excuse him

Posted
Just now, Nasher said:

Daniher towers over Garland, and his reach and leap is incredible. I'm not sure the player who is the right match-up for him is even on our list. OMac might be it, but not yet. 

I thought Frost might have gotten a look in for that role, but the coaching group clearly want him to play forward so throwing him down back for a game is something they obviously didn't think was worthwhile.

Posted
1 minute ago, WhyAlwaysMe said:

What does Roos usually do in a situation like this ?

OUT Jones Bail

IN Toumpas Grimes 

Don't forget Terlich.

Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, WhyAlwaysMe said:

What does Roos usually do in a situation like this ?

OUT Jones Bail

IN Toumpas Grimes 

May just be me, but this post confuses me a tad. 

Are you saying we should have kept Toumpas?

Edited by Maple Demon
Expanding on original post

Posted
1 hour ago, Garbo said:

Could pick almost anyone in the team but for mine

Out: Hogan (ankle/ rest), Brayshaw (needs a run or 2 in vfl first), Oliver (rest)

in: no idea 

Out: Hogan (attitude adjustment)

Posted
1 minute ago, Maple Demon said:

May just be me, but this post confuses me a tad. 

Humour. I chuckled!

Posted
40 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

I thought Frost might have gotten a look in for that role, but the coaching group clearly want him to play forward so throwing him down back for a game is something they obviously didn't think was worthwhile.

Maybe the coaching group would like to rethink it? They may also like to think about the 200cm Brown next week and an appropriate size match up.

Posted
10 minutes ago, Oneday said:

Will any change make any difference?

Nope. We're never going to win another game ever again. We are stuck in this moment forever.

Posted

You could almost pick a name out of a hat for the outs.

Lumumba, Harmes and Kent come out. Dunn, ANB and Stretch come in. We'll probably get belted next week regardless so give another two promising youngsters a run.

Our back six was totally inept today. Wouldn't mind seeing any of them dropped.

i don't like dropping Kent but efforts like today need to have ramifications.