Christian Petracca's toe injury (in full training)

On 13/02/2016 at 06:01, Baghdad Bob said:

Hey Dazzle, this is why Saty is the best poster on the site.  We get information nobody else provides. Just rumble over the stuff you don't like.

BTW, no issue with the way you've responded recently to Saty.  First class.

Bit unfair picking me out considering i haven't said anything or complained once about Saty training report at all this summer. And good on him for getting info, some like to speak to the players and some just simply like to watch training and focus on our game plans and player movement. Each to their own but i think. I am not sure about best poster though... and im sure saty won't take offence to that

I also enjoy the likes of Pro Dees and Deespence training reports and many others who make an effort considering i live in the country and can't get down myself. 

Speaking of training did anyone get word on when intra club is on? I really hope its on a saturday so i can road trip it down.

On 13/02/2016 at 06:32, dazzledavey36 said:

Bit unfair picking me out considering i haven't said anything or complained once about Saty training report at all this summer. And good on him for getting info, some like to speak to the players and some just simply like to watch training and focus on our game plans and player movement. Each to their own but i think. I am not sure about best poster though... and im sure saty won't take offence to that

I also enjoy the likes of Pro Dees and Deespence training reports and many others who make an effort considering i live in the country and can't get down myself. 

Speaking of training did anyone get word on when intra club is on? I really hope its on a saturday so i can road trip it down.

Hey Dazzle, it was a compliment mate, not having a crack at you at all, just a conversation.  Just took the opportunity to point out the enormous benefit we get from Saty.  Pro is a passionate Demon, backs himself and goes hard and early but I like the inside stuff, the stuff that matters to me.  I like that Turls played well yesterday but I don't really care. He's not the future and if he is we're crud.  I care that Petracca is back into full training in two weeks all going well.

I reckon at this stage of the season we all know who's going well.  Gawn, Kent etc etc.  We all know that to improve on last year we need Salem, Kent, Gawn, AVB, Brayshaw, Tyson and Hogan to all go well but it's really nice to know that injured players are coming back because we need all our good players on the track.

I want a fit list and then we'll see how we go.  That's my first priority. Saty is the only one that provides it.  Thanks Saty.

Doesn't mean I'm not interested and really appreciate the efforts of all training track observers. 

Has he broke down again all I'm reading is BB and Daz bitching .

On 13/02/2016 at 03:40, Satyriconhome said:

I spoke to him yesterday, told me 2 weeks away from rejoining rest of squad, the rehab staff have a program mapped out for him

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't believe he was joining in full training even before Xmas/the toe.

Good to get the positive news, and let's all hope for Round 1, but he's missed a lot of actual football training, to the point that he hasn't done any at all since this time last year.

On 13/02/2016 at 03:40, Satyriconhome said:

I spoke to him yesterday, told me 2 weeks away from rejoining rest of squad, the rehab staff have a program mapped out for him

sounds like he'll miss the first two rounds of the H&A ?

..... a month of full training to get up to fitness,  I think his match fitness regime will start in the 3rd NAB cup game,  then 2 more at Casey at least,  before he gets a lookin?

• 3 weeks later...

AFL site reporting that Trac joined in full training this morning.  From what I'v read about him he will be an outstanding addition forward set-up.  (Even more) exciting times just around the corner!

Almost had a [censored] heart attack seeing this thread bumped to the top alongside the Brayshaw injury thread.

Any chance he sneaks in a NAB game? or round 1 more likely?

Sorry SF!

On 02/03/2016 at 02:52, Deeoldfart said:

AFL site reporting that Trac joined in full training this morning.  From what I'v read about him he will be an outstanding addition forward set-up.  Exciting times just around the corner!

Jones said in a recent interview that it is unlikely that Trac will play round 1 :(

He has to earn his spot, 12 months out of the game, a silly injury I reckon round 6-7 we will see him.  We will see Jack Trengove in our senior line up before him

Hopefully gets a run in NAB three.

Then... who knows?!

On 02/03/2016 at 03:04, drdrake said:

He has to earn his spot, 12 months out of the game, a silly injury I reckon round 6-7 we will see him.  We will see Jack Trengove in our senior line up before him

Rubbish

if the kid is ready in 4 weeks 

chuck him in there

he will swim i betcha

AFL site reporting that Trac joined in full training this morning.  From what I'v read about him he will be an outstanding addition forward set-up.  (Even more) exciting times just around the corner!

Arrived late at training this morning (although they trained until after 12.30) and had a chat to the guy who wrote the AFL report. Trac was very lively at training and (until reading that report), I almost would have had him as a smokey for next Sunday. He was moving very well and was one of the last to leave the track. With two NAB Challenge matches and one VFL match scheduled before Round One, he could surprise everybody!

If he manages to get a NAB game in and stays injury free before round 1 I can't imagine why he wouldn't be in there. If he doesn't play NAB then sure he should have a run at Casey for a week or two but the kids a gun and if he shows he fits into the best 22 for round 1 then why shouldn't he be in there?

Since you've mentioned JT, will we be seeing any of him in the NAB Challenge?

On 02/03/2016 at 03:41, Pates said:

If he manages to get a NAB game in and stays injury free before round 1 I can't imagine why he wouldn't be in there. If he doesn't play NAB then sure he should have a run at Casey for a week or two but the kids a gun and if he shows he fits into the best 22 for round 1 then why shouldn't he be in there?

Since you've mentioned JT, will we be seeing any of him in the NAB Challenge?

I spoke to Trenners today as he was running the boundary. He smiled when I mentioned Round One but somehow I suspect that he may come back through the VFL. But who knows for sure?

On 02/03/2016 at 03:20, Sir Why You Little said:

Rubbish

chuck him in there

he will swim i betcha

If it was just the toe 'SWYL' I would agree with you, and yes he would swim.

...but coming off the knee it's going to be more about the k's under the belt he would have expected to have that he now doesn't.

I think they will proceed with caution so they're not going to chuck him in there.

Looking forward to seeing him though.

On 02/03/2016 at 03:51, CBDees said:

I spoke to Trenners today as he was running the boundary. He smiled when I mentioned Round One but somehow I suspect that he may come back through the VFL. But who knows for sure?

If he doesn't play any NAB he should certainly come through VFL, in some respects I feel he's behind Petracca in that sense as he has missed so much footy. Great to hear him smiling at the prospect of round 1, really hope he gets there!

For the record - no, he didn't. 

He was pulled out of one of the main 'match sim' drills and worked with Daniel Cross on the sideline instead: a tackling/evasion drill, then taking marks over Cross who was wearing the pads. (During which he reeled in a huge, one-handed hanger, and he finished with a massive leap which wiped out himself and his bag-man. They both got up laughing, and one of the other staff joked, "Now that's a test.") He then returned to the main group. 

But if he wasn't in full training today, surely must be soon. Did the vast majority of the session and looked fantastic.    

Petracca reminds me of Allen Jakovich.  I am sure 'Ill get howled down for that comparison, but Im sticking with it god damn it,.

Petracca when he has trained has looked fantastic, i have absolutely no doubts he's in our best 22 so i'd be a little surprised if he came through the VFL

Trengove i expect no risks, i reckon round 6 is a good aim, i'd want to see a few good VFL hitouts and him force his way into the side.

I have no idea when Trengove will be back but I am tipping that the first week Trac plays VFL he will be on fire and in the seniors the next week. I suggest he will have very little problem "earning his spot".

On 02/03/2016 at 04:32, Petraccattack said:

Petracca reminds me of Allen Jakovich.  I am sure 'Ill get howled down for that comparison, but Im sticking with it god damn it,.

I won't go as far as comparing him to Jakovich ( the good bits of Jakovich not the bad bits ! ) but I think the comparison that they both have/had "X factor" is going to prove right. 

On 02/03/2016 at 03:20, Sir Why You Little said:

Rubbish

chuck him in there

he will swim i betcha

I thought we were pasted this sink or swim attitude.  Both him and Trengove need at least 4 matches at lower levels, and if they both start at the same time round 1 VFL or last scratch match VFL, Trengove will earn his spot before him.  Jack Trengove is a gun and if fit and in form will demand a spot.  This kid is a great unknown, good junior but we have seen a number of high pick good juniors.  I hope he comes out and gets best on a couple of weeks in a row in the VFL and demands a spot, but I think it will be Trengove demanding a spot first